We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Hamptons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean View Terrace Motel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Best of the Hamptons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were staying at another place in the Hamptons and decided to look around for a somewhat better place. We found it at the Ocean View Terrace. Not only it was better but it was more moderately priced and a lot cleaner which counts for a lot! Their pool was closed in late September, but their inviting loungers down by their private beach made the stay at the Ocean View Terrace memorable. The young lady at the office, Angela, was the nicest and most informative desk clerk. Would highly recommend a stay at the Ocean View if you have to be at or visiting the Hamptons.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool and facing water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalliroi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    24
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
29
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the Ocean View Terrace for 3 nights in August. The room we had was an efficiency unit which was perfect for cooking breakfast etc. Had all the pots & pans, utensils for the limited cooking we did. It also had a small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. The beds were comfortable and the unit was very clean. Penny and the other staff gave us many great suggestions on things to do during our stay. The hotel is situated close to many beaches, restaurants, and attractions but you will need a car. One notable beach we spent the day at was called Cooper's Beach. This beach is one of the most gorgeous beaches I have been to. The parking is a little pricey ($40) but worth even cent. Just the drive there is unbelievable. The "summer" homes along Gin Lane are something to behold. We drove out to Montauk one day as well. The highway is very busy though. Do take time along the way to stop at "Yesterdays Treasures"...unbelievable!
The highway in front of the motel can be a little noisey in the mornings... but not a deal breaker.
Overall an affordable, clean, friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 105 is an efficiency unit. Has view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adderboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were there for 4 days and 3 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had a one bedroom suite 119 which is facing the swimming pool and the bay. I feel its a little expensive since the rooms are extremely small. There's a jacuzzi in the bathroom but the kitchen and living room is the size of the bathroom. There were 5 of us. Two todllers and three adults. We use the king size bed in the bedroom for two adults and two toddlers. The single pull out couch in the living room was very uncomfortable and when you pull it out, it take most of the room of the living room. It wasn't a comfortable setting. It almost feel like it should've been a studio but they added a wall between the bedroom and the living room. Swimming pool has bugs and the children's play area is full of bugs and spiders....it doesn't look like it has been cleaned for a long time. The frig was not plugged in until we arrived and took a long time to cool off. We had to keep baby's milk we bought from home cold. It was odd since we were told that we can not check in earlier than 11 because they have to clean the room so it would be odd for them to unplug the frig eventhough someone was staying there. I did enjoy the outside deck. It has a nice view of the pool and the bay. You can see the at night. Its nice and peaceful at night. There's mini breakfast with coffee and muffins in the morning. We made breakfast and dinners during our stay. Do bring your own paper towels as they don't supply them. Make sure you get a room that has view of the swimming pool and the bay. There are a long stretch of rooms with limited view.

The owner, Penny, was very helpful and even let us use her bay front beach. There's a swing and some benches to relax but the beach is full of rocks so you can't really do much there with the kids. We enjoyed the beach nearby (2 minutes driving) with the toddlers (2 and 3 years old). It has literally no waves and a nice restaurant on site. The kids had a blast. We took couple trips to Montauk but there was a lot of traffice even on weekdays. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you want to go to Montauk (took us 2 hours to get back one day)

One thing I would like to point out is to make sure that you are firm about your reservation. If you have an emergency or want to cancel your reservation, you must do so before 14 days or else you will loose it all. It was not very clear on the website and it will only come up when you are ready to book the reservation. You will loose your money if you want to leave one day early too.

We had a wonderful stay and would recommend the place for family with kids since it has a nice beach without waves nearby. I do miss staying at our favortie motel in Montauk since its more spacious.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms facing the pool and the bay for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocobebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have been going to the Hamptons for many years including visits from Montauk to Hampton Bays, Sag Harbor, and Greenport.

We just returned from a "fantastic" vacation experience at the beautiful Ocean View Terrace Motel in Hampton Bays. We had a lovely efficiency unit that included a kitchen area with a toaster, microwave, stove, coffee maker and most importantly, a refrigerator. We also had a very comfortable queen size bed. The unit was airconditioned and had wifi and daily maid service.

Beakutiful property and a clean, nice size pool. The weather was as good as it gets--warm days and comfortable nights. Great dinner dining spots close by

The owners, Penny and Jag met all our needs with a "smile" and they are a wonderful couple.

Who could ask for anything more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great vacation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

.

Room Tip: Check with Penny on their web site to see wide choice of accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We chose to vacation on Long Island, where we actually live, so our 18 year old could drive out and meet us after getting a few days off from her summer lifeguard job. The Hampton Bays may only be a hour away from our RVC home, but it is a very different and beautiful Long Island. The beaches, notably Cooper and Poxquogue are beautiful, peaceful and provided our family with days of relaxation in the sun and surf. They are within minutes of the hotel as plenty of restaurants. The restaurants are plentiful and the food, especially the seafood, is delicious. Penny, the owner of Ocean View Terrace Motel, is so friendly and nice and makes you feel like a visiting relative to her home. She provides helpful suggestions and even offered to lend us beach chairs and an umbrella. We stayed in Room 112 which is a 2 bedroom suite. Our master bedroom was comfortable and opened to a balcony. Our teenager children had a comfortable room with twin beds The living area was comfortable and the mini kitchen was ideal for our needs. The rooms are comfortable and very clean and we enjoyed a four night stay. The pool is also clean and relaxing and wonderful to return to after a day at the beach. We normally stay in Hiltons by saving points. Ocean View is not a hotel but an old fashioned family friendly motel that gives us normal "folk" an opportunity to vacation in the Hamptons.

Room Tip: My husband doesn't like noise and was bothered by the cars going by on the road in Room 112. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LISoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I just got back from my holidays and gotta write a review for the Ocean View. Penny, thanks for the warm reception and for looking after me.
The property is indeed well located, lovely view of the bay, nice pool, which is not busy at all, I for one also opted for the beach. I just read a recent review and someone mention the rooms are small? Really, where??? At least my room 109 was specious enough there were 2 queen beds and still a lot of room to move around. It's not a luxurious hotel, but for the picture you can see that, but it's clean and I felt safe. For the gentleman that mention moths and bugs...really? What do expect when you are in a place by the sea with so much green around like the Hamptons?
I did not see any bugs, but I kept my door closed.
The hotel is about 4 miles from the village and it is so convenient, on saturday I took a taxi to the village as I wanted to drink and it's US$ 25...money well spent...
I will for sure return to the Hamptons and if staying in Southampton I will no doubt chose the Ocean View Terrace.... it's a enjoyable stay and I did stay 7 nights there.
Again, thanks Penny .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manderson171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Just finished a wonderful stay at the hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean with views either on the large garden or over onto to the beautiful bay. This hotel was a pleasure to have stayed in, a relaxing break from the big city. Definitely a must-go, and when we come again Ocean View Terrace is where we're booking :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauraxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
3.1 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
2.2 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
4.2 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Terrace Motel

Property: Ocean View Terrace Motel
Address: 285 E Montauk Hwy, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-1607
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Terrace Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Shinnecock Bay, our location is just minutes from Southampton Village. We have spacious grounds with picnic tables and barbecue grills, a playground of swings and slides and a sandbox by our private beach for the children. Our accommodations feature air-conditioning and heating, wall to wall carpeting, private bath with all amenities including hair dryer, refrigerator, in room coffee, flat screen cable TV and free wifi. Our deluxe efficiencies are fully equipped. Our suites have full kitchens. Some suites have a Jacuzzi and/or fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Terrace Hotel Hampton Bays
Ocean View Terrace Motel Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing