We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Excellent Breakfast”
Review of The Hampton Maid

The Hampton Maid
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hampton Bays, New York
2 reviews
“Charming Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Mini staycation...decided to stay after eating breakfast here for years..Room was beautiful Pool was quiet and perfect place to unwind and relax!! Grounds are amazing!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“really dissapointed”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I used to go here as a kid all the time, definitely not what i remember. No one was at the hostess counter so we sat our selves after almost 10 minutes. The server was unfriendly, uninterested and dismissive. The both orders of French toast were soggy, mushy and had no flavor barely could get it on the fork. $5.00 juice that was ALL ice. We quickly ate and got out of there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank almafe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast...Worth the Wait”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The space is really nice...especially the outdoor patio. The food was delicious and they were child-friendly. The service was fantastic from beginning to end. They were really busy so we had about a 20 min wait. One of staff brought my 2yo daughter a piece of cinnamon toast to hold her over while we waited. They also have a little play area set up, so ideal for people with small children who are waiting to be seated. We would definitely go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Quogue, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast till 1:00”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hampton Maid is only open for breakfast & closed in the winter. Always a long line to get in. Views of the bay across the hwy. Cottages are also on the property for a week or week-end stay. Breakfast is pricey but could do better with the food for what you get. Small portions, friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiej526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Best Omelet Ever at The Hampton Maid!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We took our car in for servicing one morning and walked to a well-known restaurant in Hampton Bays for breakfast while the car was being worked on. The Hampton Maid, established in 1959, offers lodging, a great little gift ship and a restaurant that only serves breakfast (www.hamptonmaid.com). When you serve breakfast that is this good, you only need to be open for one meal every day!

The staff was very friendly and the service was excellent. Looking around the room, it was apparent that the restaurant was enjoyed by lodging guests, locals reading the latest Dan’s Paper or the morning’s New York Times, and people meeting for business. Our waitress delivered a carafe of coffee to the table while we considered the menu and the specials that she described for us. My boyfriend chose Eggs Benedict and I ordered their featured omelet and we decided to share a side dish of corned beef hash. The food was prepared and served to us quickly; beautifully plated and presented on warmed plates. Ron’s dish was very good and the beef hash was home made and delicious. The omelet, however, was truly outstanding – without question the very best omelet either of us had ever tasted. The omelet itself was the lightest and fluffiest I’ve ever had and they flavored it with very thin julienne slices of ham, Brie, and a locally grown Honey Crisp apple. It was not only visually colorful and appealing, but the combination of sweet and savory flavors was a delightful surprise. This omelet was so good that we stopped to pass along our kudos and compliments to the chef and his team.

When we’re back in the Hamptons next summer, we’ll definitely return to The Hampton Maid for another fabulous omelet, hunt for Honey Crisp apples and try to recreate that delicious omelet all year long until we’re back to enjoy the very best once again at The Hampton Maid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hampton Maid also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Mattituck, North Fork
 

Been to The Hampton Maid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing