We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger at the bar, or romantic table...both work well!”
Review of Squiretown Restaurnt & Bar - CLOSED

Squiretown Restaurnt & Bar
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Squiretown Road
Transit: The LIRR Hampton Bays station is a minute's walk from Squiretown, directly across the street.
Description: Welcome to Squiretown Restaurant + Bar, a modern American bistro. We offer raw bar, beautiful salads, a wide array of appetizers, delicious sandwiches, steaks, fresh fish and pasta dishes. Our relaxing 50 seat dining room offers great ambience and service, while the 16 seat bar entertains guests with a wide selection of beers, plenty of space, and refreshing cocktails. Wines from around the world are offered, with many under $40. Everyone is welcome at Squiretown, where you can feel comfortable while enjoying great food with friends, family, business associates, or a date!
Ossining
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Burger at the bar, or romantic table...both work well!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We've been eating here for 4 years now during spring through fall. Consistently good reliable food and service (especially with waiter Tim!), in a pleasant unpretentious atmosphere. Be careful not to come during very busy evenings, as they have sometimes been obviously overwhelmed and understaffed...but this is a rare disappointment for which redemption had been attained.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hidden gem”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was visiting the Hamptons last weekend and my wife and I were looking for a nice place to eat. We checked out some of the review sites and decided to try out Squiretown. It's a little rough on the outside but polished on the inside. My wife and I were able to walk in on a weekend night with out a reservation and be seated promptly. The staff was attentive and the food was simply amazing. The quality of the food was excellent. Don't forget to try dessert, the Elvis Woulda was phenomenal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quogue, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“solid food, good price, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The beet box rules. If you want a nice meal - and reasonably priced for the hamptons - check out Squiretown. The beet box rocks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This Place Just Gets Better and Better”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I had the pleasure of dining at Squiretown last week. It was a Monday night and the restaurant was slow. A few locals at the bar and two other tables.
Nickie and Megan were holding the fort down and chatting with the guests.

Megan by the way makes a really great chocolate martini.......very special indeed.

Nickie presented us with the daily specials and to say the least, they did not disappoint. We shared an appetizer as we knew the main course would be filling. Fresh fish and duck were the two specials........exceptional in every aspect.

Excellent service, cuisine, ambiance and price point......what else can one ask for?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good potential but the jury's still out”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I've eaten twice at the bar in recent months and found the food to be good to very good, and the atmosphere convivial. Last Saturday it was the perfect place to watch the Preakness while eating soft shell crabs. (What else would you eat while watching a horse race held in Baltimore?) The sautéed crabs were very good and the price of the dish -- $31. -- would not have been unreasonable for two normal sized crabs. However, one of the crabs was the size of a silver dollar. If that's the chef's standard practice -- to skimp by presuming inattentive or uncaring customers -- Squiretown's run will be short-lived.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squiretown Restaurnt & Bar also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing