We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cowfish

Cowfish
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I recently went to Cowfish with a large group, and they were incredibly accommodating. We had a prix fixe menu with limited choices, but they were all fantastic! Everyone enjoyed their meal. The service was attentive and polite, and handled our large group with ease. The atmosphere and location on the water added to this enjoyable meal. It was a little chilly that night, so we didn't get to go outside, but I imagine enjoying a drink or two at the outdoor bar. I would recommend Cowfish to anyone, and especially someone looking for a great place to host a larger get together.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKauffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    61
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“another great meal and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have been back 3 times since restaurant week. What a great find. I once again ordered the Oysters Hamptons - a must. Entrée I ordered the flounder which cam with cole slaw and French fires. Fish was fresh, fresh fresh and the cole slaw was amazing (clean fresh taste). Was not disappointed by the French fires but at this price point, I would not expect fries as a side. I think the amazing chef can find a more suitable side to accompany the cole slaw.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great unpretentious option in the Hamptons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My party of 6 (plus one 2 year-old) ate here over Memorial Weekend. We started off with cocktails outside on the gorgeous lawn near the docks, and the toddler had fun there and on the pirate ship playground. We then had dinner inside, downstairs. Good was wonderful, especially the scallops! The skillet bread was also a nice start but do NOT get it if you're trying to exhibit self control, it's way too addictive. Service was not great, had to ask for water 4 times, but I'll attribute that to it being the first busy weekend of the season. Overall had a great dining experience and would definitely return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perfumejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
910 reviews
614 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 925 helpful votes
“Great Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Cowfish is just off Old Montauk Highway on the water. They have outdoor seating which is good on the warmer nights. Unfortunately I went wuth frirnds on

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food and lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Was recommended to this restaurant by our hotel as it was only a short walk away.

Lovely food and lovely views of the bay/water.

Service was amazing and if ever back in the Hamptons will go back to Cowfish.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cowfish also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Cowfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing