We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at an exquisite setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Wunsiedel, Germany
2 reviews
“Wonderful time at an exquisite setting”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We are 2 couples travelling from Germany and the Czech Republic to New England. Our first stop was a 3 day vacation at The Bowen´s. Since the airline let us wait for our luggage for 3 days we had to make the best out of it. The owner, Eileen Bowen ,was so terribly helpful in getting the delayed bags to the place-several phonecalls-- and she got up at 3 a.m. to take the bags in. We are so thankful.
The resort is a very nice and unique place to stay: a very quiet, park-like garden, wonderful flowers, sunny and shady places to sit and relax, clean, well equipped cottages. Off the traffic and yet very close to the barrier Island beaches and the wonderful Hampton towns, villages and attractions on the South- and North Fork of Long Island. A perfect location to spend some leisure days. We enjoyed every moment, even 3 days without luggage. Thank you.
Dr. Beer, Dr. Vasek

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    28
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
112
62
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I live in Queens, NY. We decided to go to the Hamptons with the family for Memorial Day weekend. It was two groups. We rented out two 2 bedromm cottages. 1st bedroom has full size bed/w lots of books to read, 2nd bedroom has twin beds. The cottage was very clean and cozy (we loved it). Plenty of towels, pots, plates, all the essentials you need. the supermarket is right across the street. The kids had so much fun on the pool. My husband kept the grill going (the grill does not come w/a cover, we used the aluminum foil pan) . We even took a nap on the hammock. My daughter stayed playing in the sandbox and swing. At night we played monopoly on the porch. My highlight was when we lite a fire with logs to have marshmellows w/chocolate on a stick (i've never done that, it was like camping out doors) The owner Elieen and her husband are very nice!!I Our only regret is that we only stayed 2 days!!. We are definetely coming back next year!. This place is great for families and for couples.

Room Tip: we stayed at lupin cottage #32. All cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyfz711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyside, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We just returned from a two night stay @ Bowens.... It was great. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage..It is not ultra modern but its cozy and has everything we needed. It was very clean and neat. We had an enclosed porch so the mosquito's was not an issue.. The pool is a nice size and the kids ended each day by spending a couple of hours in the pool, they have a tennis court which we used at night. and they had some board games which we played right before bed... The beach is close by... and the best part is we could take our puppy with us. The owners are always around to answer any questions and always friendly........This was our first stay @ Bowens but for sure it wont be our last. And the grounds are so beautifully landscaped, it was nice just walking around to see all of the beautiful flowers

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Just came back from a weekend at Bowen's we were fortunate enough to get last minute due to a cancellation. We loved it. Beautiful grounds, nice rooms, awesome pool and sooooooo relaxing. Eileen is very friendly and helpful. We took our chocolate lab Gracie with us and she was very welcomed and had a great time too! We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Our fourth stay at Bowen's on the Bays was very enjoyable ... we were greeted by Eileen Bowen and recieved our healthy welcome treats including a treat for our dog...this time we stayed the Petunia cottage a 2 bedroom, full bath with a full kitchen and new stove and a new flat screen television. The rooms were clean and the mattresses were very good. Enjoyed the pool and the beautiful flowers and well kept grounds. Who ever said there is no place like home never stayed at Bowens on the Bays. Looking forward to our next stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeClarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The hotel is older, but clean. The beds were old and not very comfortable. The shower was not very strong. They had a nice pool. The play area (jungle gym) is old and not well maintained. It seems like they just put it there so they can say they have a kids play area. The biggest issue was I could not get over how many mosquitos there were at this place. Granted, its been a hot and humid summer, but we went to other areas in Hampton Bays and there were no where near as many mosquitos. I was walking through the kids play area and saw 10 moquitos on my leg.. Needless to say my body came back looking like I went to a jungle, not the Hamptons. Check out the Hampton Maid for something which cost slightly more and looks to be a lot nicer. Given what stuff costs in the Hamtons a $20 savings per night on a $300 room is NOT worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hc1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SI NY
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Just came back from a 2 night getaway with my husband and our dog. We stayed in a 1 bedroom cottage. It was very charming, extremely clean and very well maintained. You would never know a dog ever stayed there. We had a great screened in porch, a hammock beneath the trees right outside our door, a BBQ grill and picnic table. It would have been great for an extended stay because it provided all the comforts of home. The cottages are spread far enough apart that it is very private. The pool was quite nice, and the grounds were beautifully landscaped . The owners are very knowlegable of the area and gave us a great tip on a restaurant that was also dog friendly. It was a great find. And I felt the price was also very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank college11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
64 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#6 of 12 in Hampton Bays
44 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Property: Bowen's by the Bays
Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing