We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine and Just as Advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The property is very well-maintained and the co-owner, Eileen, couldn't have been more helpful or more kind. Efficiently run, not far from the ocean and quiet. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyrayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Eileen and her husband ( the owners) are great. They both went out of their way to accomodate our needs. Eileen was able to book us the last minute which was great because both my husband and I wanted to swim and play tennis. My husband was interested in taking a tennis lesson from Kevin who had given him a lesson last year. When we arrived Eileen told us that Kevin ( tennis pro and owner) would give my husband a tennis lesson the following day.
Both the cottages and guest rooms are very clean and comfortable. Last year we stayed in one of the cottages with our dog. This year we stayed in one of the guest rooms.

This is a great place to stay and unwind. We are planning to book again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was our first trip to Bowens, and after researching many options we decided on Bowens. GREAT CHOICE! The cottage was immaculate, the staff and owners made us feel right at home. The cottage was decorated with a "homey" theme in mind. The air conditioning was excellent, especially with the 100 plus readings N.Y had last week. We traveled with our dog Marley and he was right at home as well. We plan on revisiting again next summer. The only change I would make is to get a cottage with a screened in porch, as the mosquitos are awful everywhere this time of year. No fault of Bowens..blame it on mother nature. BTW the pool is so clean, and the water a perfect temperature. We were very pleased on the whole.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginny319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This place is a great find. The cottages are really nice. Ours had a small screened porch for eating , a hammock an outside BBQ . There is also a wonderful pool and several tennis courts. Everything is very clean-- the pots utensils and all other kitchen equipment were spotless.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Emitaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Eileen, the owner, was so kind and generous. We booked this as a weekend getaway and brought our dogs. Upon arrival, she had dog bones for our dogs. The cottage we rented was very cute. It had everything we needed for the weekend. It is conveniently located right by a stop and shop for anything you need.

The place was so quiet and relaxing. We had such a great weekend. The owner had given us maps and directions all over the hiking trails and beaches but we ended up just hanging out, cell phones off and completely kicking back and relaxing!

There is not one negative thing I can say about the place. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shortie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Great Place! 3rd trip there and love it everytime. Relaxing, clean, friendly, beautiful grounds, easy to get to and close to all. Eileen and staff are very welcoming and always willing to help plan your day or offer suggestions. Pet friendly cottages so we can take our dogs too! Gracie (Chocolate Lab) and Lucy (Jack Russell) had so much fun they snored in the backseat of the car all the way back home! Can't wait to plan our next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was our fifth stay at Bowen's by the Bays. It gets better with each visit! This time we brought our dog, who was welcomed with open arms, and delighted by the open spaces that make their park-like setting so relaxing! Eileen and Kevin Bowen are amazing people, and their staff are just like family! Can't wait for our next visit! Thank you for your gracious hospitality!

Room Tip: No matter where you stay at Bowens, you are in for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApronMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
68 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#5 of 12 in Hampton Bays
47 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range: £151 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing