We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay, close to everything, pretty grounds, very accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My mother and I checked into our room on Fri and we stayed until Sun. Eileen greeted us and had very willingly let us check in early. She put us in the cowboy room and said we could change if we didn't like the decor. We should have changed the room because we would have preferred a girlie room. That being said the furniture and decorations were tastefully done, thematically, and clean. There was a flat screen tv and refrige in the room. The bathroom looked like it had been redone not too long ago. There were signs about reusing your towels which we would have done but there was not enough room to spread them out to dry. The grounds are lovely with lots of flower gardens. Eileen recommended Rumba Rum Bar which was excellent. Also excellent was the Veal Marsala at Francesca's (menu in the room). There are tennis.courts, shuffle board and other things to do right on the property. Would recommend to couples, families or single travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

My parents have been staying there for years. I myself had stayed there once many years ago and didn't really remember it very clearly, but once there, it all came back to me. The setting is very cute and quite peaceful despite being located right off Montauk Highway and being close to the LIRR.

My husband surprised me with a stay in one of their 2 bedroom cottages. He did this so we could bring our 2 dogs along, as I am usually sad when we leave them behind at home. We stayed there in June and everything was very nice. The cabin was cute and very clean; loved the comfy couch while watching the flat screen TV. Our dogs, Bella and Bubba enjoyed their walks around the property and lounging in the screened in porch while my husband read his paper and enjoyed his morning coffee.

The pool area was very clean with plenty of chairs and the grounds are very well maintained. The owners/managers are so friendly and helpful - you feel like you have been going there for years.

We loved the convenience of the cabin - full kitchen (even though we ate out), it was nice to have the refrigerator and microwave and everything available in the event that we wanted to cook and stay in.

We can't wait to return and plan to follow in my parent's tradition and make this a yearly get-away. We were so satsified, my cousin and friend rented the cabin also to do a mid-week stay there with their dog and they had a wonderful time as well!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed three nights in one of their 2 bedroom cabins. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the cabin was very homey. They had it nicely decorated and a new flat screen tv. Our dog, Weaver, felt right at home too. The LIRR does fly by right behind the property, but that was not an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank royaloakmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was our second stay @ Bowens. We just love it. There is so much to do right on the property, the boys love the pool, and the tennis courts. They love playing board games in the evening, and of course we all love that we can take our dog with us. Its so peaceful, the gardens are so colorful, we walk around the grounds just to admire the gardens and the pond. It just wa wonderful place for spending family time.
We will be back again next summer for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We ( one adult and three teenagers) stayed for three nights in the guestrooms. The room was clean and tastefully, well chosen furnished. There was enough space for four persons
( including the bathroom), because you could open the terracedoor to sit in the beautiful,
quiet garden. The pool was clean with enough chairs and tables to relax. It was fun to
play tennis on the inhouse tenniscourt in the evening with floodlight.The management was friendly and helpful . Our stay at Bowens by the Bays was the best part of our eastcoast roundtrip. We love it and we`´ll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in the motel unit of this property which is situated between the tracks of the Long Island Railroad and Montauk Highway. We asked for a quiet room and were given one of the motel-style rooms--the property also has individual bungalows--and were not disturbed by the trains. The owner-managers are excellent, and always present to attend to guests--and they do consider them guests. Rooms are spacious and well-maintained, have a small refrigerator and a TV; it's a non-smoking property, although smokers are permitted to use outdoor tables and chairs. The rooms have a small cement patio and there are communal tables and chairs on the lawn. The pool is okay for families; shallow end is cordoned off for children. It's too small for lap swimmers. There is a tennis court, too. I found our bed a bit hard and the pillows were not comfortable, but this is a small complaint given the service. The property is across the street from a supermarket and near a diner, so it's perfect for those who don't drive. We biked to the ocean beach, too.

Room Tip: Foxglove is a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkCityStickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

How lucky we were to get accommodations at Bowen's by the Bays for the July 4th celebration weekend! Our stay Was wonderful, the room was meticulous, the people were like family, and the location was the best for getting to both the North Fork wineries and the South Fork beaches and entertainment! We give Bowen's ten stars!!! Thank you for a delightful get-away! **********

Room Tip: There is nothing BUT best rooms at Bowen's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
68 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#5 of 12 in Hampton Bays
47 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range: £149 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing