We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay. Dog lovers heaven. Run them on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay. Dog lovers heaven. Run them on the beach!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Bowen's is a group of little cottages and some rooms, with very clean and well-kept grounds and cottages. We took our two little two dogs, and ran them on Ponquogue beach every morning and every night--and that alone was killer great, especially if a glass of wine in your hand. For families with small kids, you get 2 bedrooms, full kitchen, living room, AC, cable, full bathroom, porch and BBQ and hammock. They also have a very clean pool and play/climbing area. Use this as your base to hit the beach (12 minutes and 3 miles), grab some coffee along the way, and then at night hit Rumba or even better Cowfish (my next review). The couple that run this place are very helpful and nice and totally cool with everything. We liked it a lot and greatly appreciated them providing cottages that are dog friendly (and if you think that you might be able to tell that dogs have stayed there, it is so clean, you can't). And if you need supplies, the Macy's and a spermarket is right nearby and a great diner, and the town is walkable. No starving or running out of supplies. All in all, a big thumbs up as it worked out for us really, really well.

Room Tip: They're all pretty good. Some are further away from the road, in the back. I might stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhnewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    25
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
102
57
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Village, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

A friend told us about the great experience she'd had at Bowen's while traveling with her dog, so we booked it. It turned out to be exactly what we wanted- from the beautiful hummingbird sized yellow finches flitting among the flowers to the clean, cozy cottages and soothing atmosphere, we'd gladly pick it again. Bowen's central location is another advantage- we love the beach, but when we felt like a change of pace it was easy to visit towns on both the south and north fork. After a busy day out and about, you enter a world of nature, peace and tranquility as soon as you pull into their driveway.
Jean M.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 277Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed in a cottage with our dog. Bowen's is very cool about dogs - you are allowed to leave the dog in your room even unattended provided your pet does not cause a ruckus/mess. It is near the train and highway but I didn't really hear noise from either. The pool is lovely, the cottage clean and well furnished. The grounds were especially pretty with lots of flowers, hammocks and a little waterfall. There was a decent restaurant/bar we could walk to and the owners were friendly without being nosy... they had lots of recommendations/suggestions. A nice tennis court right on the property, free to guests, and plenty of free balls to use. Beach is a short drive away - we biked to avoid the parking fee. Downtown area of Hampton Bays with little shops/restaurants about half a mile away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband and I and our son who's 3 and our daughter who's 2 months old and 2 of our dogs stayed here for 4 nights. We stayed in a little cottage that had 2 bedrooms. it was very cute and clean and had a nice screened porch that the dogs loved. It had a great play area and nice clean pool as well on the premises. It is also conveniently located across the street from Stop and Shop to stock up.

The reason why I only gave them 3 stars cause they are located very very close to the LIRR which rumbles through the night honking their horns shaking the house and waking up my 3 year old at 3AM every night screaming. During the day it isn't so bad but at night when waken up by it, it seems like an earthquake is happening (not fun, very scary!!). They defiantly need to invest their money into building a big fence to sound proof this. The stay was pretty expensive too if we ever want to vacation in the Hampton area again I rather rent a house it will probably be a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiM427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were fortunate to get a relatively last minute reservation for a week's stay in order to come visit our new grandson. We really enjoyed our stay at Bowen's. Our room was very quaint and made us feel like we were guests in someone's home. The amenities were perfect - our 3-1/2 year old grandson enjoyed the play area, the putting green, and the swimming pool - and the location was very desirable. We hope to stay there again on future visits.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank haynes1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Bowen's. Growing up in the area, and having no family still there to stay with, we had to pick a place. Bowen's is great - a home away from home. We had the 2 bedroom cottage and it was just perfect for our family of 4. Playground, pond, pool, putting green, grounds were a great setting to stay within the Hamptons. About 7-10 minutes from the beaches! Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordana74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Had to make a sudden reservation and I fell upon Bowen's by the Bay. I needed to bring my dog and they are pet friendly. Close to everything and the cottages were adorable and clean as a whistle. Had a BBQ and a hammack outside and a screened in porch which was nice to sit in the morning.
The owners are very nice and the grounds are beautiful. Small enough yet not crowded property.
I would recommend this place even if you don't have a pet. They have regular rooms which are just as nice and clean.

Room Tip: Nice grounds and pool. Schuffle board, Tennis court and also can have a lesson or two if you need b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Property: Bowen's by the Bays
Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing