We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in the Hamptons with dog and baby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“First time in the Hamptons with dog and baby.”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had been thinking about visiting the Hamptons for some time now and finally bit the bullet and made a reservation about 2 months ago. I emailed Eileen and she was very prompt with a reply, along with various dates that fit my requirements. I "booked" the room and sent in my deposit check and once she received it, she sent me a confirmation email.

There aren't many places in the area that takes dogs and Bowen's had the best reviews. Not cheap by any standards, but then again, they do offer a niche product.

We had the Columbine cottage, which is a one bedroom closest to the office, and closest to the highway. I'm not sure where the LIRR tracks are, but there are definitely times when we can hear the trains honking their horns (and why do they do that in the middle of the night?!) Living so close to the highway proved to be quite noisy one night as well -- my husband and I must've woken up at least 4 times during the night due to loud noises either coming from the highway or through the driveway. There was even one time when it sounded like someone threw something at our door?

Aside from the noise issues, the cottage is very quaint. We have never been to a B&B so cannot compare. There was a full kitchen, which came in handy when I wanted to fix some food for my son. The microwave was broken and a call to the "front desk" corrected this pretty quickly. The bedroom was a bit small; it fit a full sized bed and a mini crib that my son slept in. There are a/c units in both the bedroom and the livingroom. The furniture is slightly dated and mismatched and there was a lot of wood paneling everywhere but this is also what I pictured most B&Bs to look like. The bathroom only had a standing shower, and since I knew this beforehand, I brought a small inflatable tub for my son to use.

Bowen's is right across the street from a Stop & Shop and a McDonald's, which was quite convenient for some necessities as well as a quick breakfast.

The main strip that is a few minutes drive from Bowen's is quite small and there isn't much to see there, but this was expected from a small town. I have heard that Hampton Bay is the "poor people's Hamptons" and it is reflected by the types of people and houses in the area.

We did drive out towards Mattituck (for Harbes Farm) and East Hampton and it made a world of difference.

Aside from the noise issues, we wouldn't mind coming back to Bowen's.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    27
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
104
59
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed in one of the pet friendly cottages, but you would never know it. Very clean and seems on the new side, nice enclosed porch and plenty of room outside to sit and enjoy the lovely grounds. The cottage that we stayed in is close to the highway, which I thought would be distracting but turned out not to be an issue at all. Eileen was very helpful with any questions I had with the area. Pool looked lovely but didn't have a chance to use it. One area restaurant that was very good is Cowfish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was a very quaint and and family friendly place. The Bowen's are very hospitable and offer an wonderful setting for a summer stay. We will be returning for many years to come and we think all will be very comfortable here.

Room Tip: Just ask the Bowen's and let them know what your needs are and they will fit you into a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

I got relaxed walking through the grounds looking at all the flowers and trees,loved sitting by the pond. Great sunning by the pool, and playing tennis. So much stuff and still a feeling of country. Short walk to town. Owners live on premise witch is nice they take care of the place.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Lovely setting, clean, cozy, pool, tennis, can get a room or a bungalow. Owners are
wonderful and the prices are very reasonable for the area. Also well located to all areas
of the Hamptons. Have to call a few months in advance to be booked in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Bowen’s by the Bay
Eileen provided us with a spacious immaculate room & en suite including a terrace overlooking a park-like garden. Our host was very helpful, recommending a nearby restaurant for a wonderful dinner.
After staying in many glamorous B&B’s over seven weeks travelling south along the New England coast, Bowen’s was an unexpectedly lovely place to stay at half the price!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is the 6th year in a row we have visited Bowens. It is perfect for us. The cottage is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. My dog and two cats get their own treat from Eileen and Kevin and my husband and I get a very nice bag with snacks and bottled water.It is great to sit by the pool and read, or to sit by the pond and watch the fish. They are close to great restaurants and the beach. We hope to visit ever year as long as we are able. Eileen and Kevin and their staff go to great lengths to make your stay enjoyable. Edie M

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardenergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
151 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
510 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
4.7 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Property: Bowen's by the Bays
Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing