We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfortable, relaxing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband & I wanted to get away for a few days of relaxation....to celebrate our recent marriage. We were thrilled to find Bowen's by the Bays, a beautiful place where we could escape from our hectic lives & even include our Golden Retriever, Casey. Not only were the accommodations perfect for us, but the owners made us feel so at home. From the initial phone call to place the reservations, to reluctantly leaving and saying good-bye, we had a great feeling we had chosen the ideal vacation spot for us. We'll definitely make a return visit next summer.....and many more visits to come.

Room Tip: The cottages are nicely furnished, clean and VERY comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked, so no n...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Bowen's by the Bays
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We felt welcomed since the initial contact with Bowen's. The owners are very friendly and the site is beautifully landscaped with a pool and tennis court and pretty gardens. We stayed in one of cute cottages with a nice porch and our own little garden, close to our parking space. The way the cottage faced gave us plenty of privacy, which was perfect as we had our Labrador Retriever with us. The bedroom, bath, kitchen and living room were clean and comfortable. We recommend the location of the hotel also as being central to that area of Long Island.

Room Tip: There is a little motel also as part of the property which is around toward the back of the property...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalGailsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is my 7th year at Bowens by the Bays. Until this year, I rented a one room cottage for my Golden Retriever, Abigail and me. Abigail passed away last fall, and I now have a new 1 year old Golden, Isabelle. It was always peaceful and I only had my dog with me, and the time spent at Bowens was so very relaxing. With a new puppy in tow, I thought that this year might be time to change things up. At Eileen’s suggestion, I decided to upgrade to a 2 bedroom cottage and invite my daughter, her husband, and my two grandchildren (ages 1 and 3) for a few days. Since I have been so used to being alone with just my dog, I was not sure what to expect. What the trip enabled me to do was to see Bowens through different eyes. Since it was always just my dog and me, I was unable to notice the absolute “family atmosphere” that the Bowens provides. I think I was either out with my dog, or on the hammock reading. Watching the Bowens work all day is exhausting in and of itself! I witnessed Kevin, stopping guests to make sure everything was ok, and heard his signature phrase, “if you need anything, let us know”. I watched my grandchildren play on the Jungle Gym and the swings. I watched my older grandson stay in the pool almost all day and it was such a nice feeling seeing them that happy. For two nights, we cooked out and sat around and talked. Again, I always knew this was a family place, but this last trip really opened my eyes! I could not imagine going anywhere but Bowens, especially after this trip. The cottages are spotless, service second to none, and I saw quite a few families there, something else I never really noticed before. I was still able to take my dog to the bay and ocean (both scared the puppy), but we had a great time. The only thing I would have changed is that I would have had my entire family stay the whole week. When they left on Thursday night, I missed “family feeling” and some hustle and bustle of two young grandchildren! Bowens really does define a family vacation. Can’t wait till next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babydaze92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Love this place! It's quaint and has something for everyone (tennis, pool, mini golf). Close to shops and short drive to the Hamptons beach (Dune Rd). The owners are really nice and accommodating. We've been back for a few summers now.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The location could not be better for making yourself feel at home in the Hamptons. Very close to all kinds of food and beverage shopping as well as sundries. The staff, every one of them that we came in contact with, were really nice and helpful. The cottage we stayed in was dated and not glamorous BUT could not have been any cleaner or better equipped for making us feel comfortable. The setting is so sweet, so many flowers and shade trees, hammocks at each cottage. We will stay there again, a great choice for that east end getaway.

Room Tip: Cottages are perfect for families with or without pets.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My family and I stayed at Bowen's for a little under a week near the beginning of July and couldn't have been happier. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Because we were there mid week, we basically had the place to ourselves. Even with all there is to do in the Hamptons during the summer, probably the best part of our vacation was relaxing and swimming in the pool at Bowen's. I would highly recommend this place for a stay that won't decimate your budget and provides the peace and relaxation needed in the hustle and bustle of a Hamptons summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Can't express what a great experience my first stay at the Bowen's place was. The personal interaction was great. With wife and two kids, didn't know whether to stay on grounds and experience the tranquility or go out and visit sites. Have to say the nights and days spent on the grounds have much more memories that will last a long time. I'm excited about any trip back to the area and it would absolutely be at the Bowen's!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidq880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
67 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
2.1 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#5 of 12 in Hampton Bays
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
176 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range: £154 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing