We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not think of staying any other place.”
Review of Capra Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Capra Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would not think of staying any other place.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have been staying at the Capra for 6 years. The rooms are clean with plenty of air conditioning.
Friendly staff. Look forward to going back next summer. Will be the first place I call for reservations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mario r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    23
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
15
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you need a place to stay in Hancock NY, this is a VERY basic motel. The place is clean enough; TV is old fashioned; beds are hard; soap, no shampoos in the bathroom; towels are small and old. Price is cheap. Room comes with 2 tickets to the movie theatre next door. The person at the front desk was glad we got to the hotel when we did because she was leaving to go the movies soon after. Definitely OK good enough if you are not looking for anything special, fancy, or upscale.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sufei10536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed here a few times over the last 25 years. Seems though its hard to get a room here due to the limited hotels in Hancock. You can almost forget a last minute reservation. This isnt the hotels fault just though I let people know this. What I have experice is a nice clean room and nice staff. When ever I can i try to stay there its the best deal in town.

Room Tip: Call way in advance to get a room last minute rooms can be hard to get here in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here several times over the winter. Reasonable and clean and easy access to 17. Best deal in Hancock. Stayed in all three in Hancock but keep coming back here. Nice folks running it
as well. Definitely will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpState New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Convenient, clean, basic and wonderfully reasonable rates. A beautifully gracious couple run the Capra. Check out the Circle E dinner for great food at a great food at a great price. The Bakery for breakfast (baked goods and coffee) can't be beat.

Room Tip: No pool; no restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelFish08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This past Tuesday evening while traveling back from college for the holiday weekend my 19 year old slid on ice just outside of Hancock NY. My son is fine but the car not quite so much! At 11:30PM we needed to get him a place for the night. Using Tripadvisor I called the Capra and spoke with Gene the owner, explaining that he was uninjured but while still mobile he needed a room. Gene was great, offering to stay in the office until he arrived and providing him a nice clean comfortable room after midnight. This is a time where some may take advantage. Not here! He was given a lovely room for only $55! According to my son who knows I write reviews, the room was very clean, comfortable and close to everything in town.
I commend and thank Gene for helping a student in need. I think a trip to the lower Catskills is in our future and I know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed overnight while picking up a bus onto NYC. Clean and easy to get too. I would always recommend as a safe and comfortable motel. Easy access to Catskills and Calicoon area. Was not expensive and lots of places to dine in Hancock. Nice folks in the office! A money machine on property.

Room Tip: Rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank timmypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
128 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Starlight Lake
The Inn at Starlight Lake
#2 of 2 in Starlight
135 reviews
21.1 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Fosterdale Motor Lodge
Fosterdale Motor Lodge
#2 of 3 in Cochecton
26 reviews
24.5 mi away
Super 8 Sidney NY
Super 8 Sidney NY
#1 of 1 in Sidney
231 reviews
24.9 mi away
Fern Hall Inn
Fern Hall Inn
#1 of 2 in Clifford
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capra Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capra Inn Motel

Property: Capra Inn Motel
Address: 521 W Main St, Hancock, NY 13783-1074
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hancock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Spacious Clean Rooms with Bath, A/C, Refrigerator, Microwave, Cable TV, and Internet. Ample Parking. New York / Pennsylvania 'Delaware River' crossing / access. Shuttle Service Available. Convenient to: Fishing, Hiking, Off Road, Golf, Antiques, Restaurants, Yoga, and Capra Cinemas. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capra Hotel Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing