We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice !!”

Smith's Colonial Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smith's Colonial Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
new york
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So nice !!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My son was visiing his girl friend at camp and needed a place to stay . I called around and the people at the smith colonial were the nicest ! My son loved the motel said it was clean and updated . Highly recommend staying there !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suelpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
11
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were heading back to Long Island from Niagara Falls. There was a big snowstorm and the roads were really bad so we decided to spend one more night upstate. We ate lunch at the Circle E Diner and this place was recommended to us. It was exactly what we needed. Nothing fancy but clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Hancock is a lovely town. It was my first time there and I really enjoyed it. The man who runs this place with his family (I don't remember his name) was very nice, friendly and helpful. I would recommend the Smith's Colonial Motel to anyone staying in Hancock, NY

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

I would suggest that if you are flyfishing any part of the UpperDelaware River system this is the place to stay. Very clean, inexpensive, quiet and close to the rivers. Better accommodation than in Roscoe or Deposit. One drawback is that restaurants in Hancock Don't come close to those in Roscoe.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little-Tupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I really was surprised at how much I liked this place. We needed a place to stay while we attended a wedding nearby. The hosts couldn't have been nicer and the room was old timey but actually everything was new and fresh and very clean with flat screen and wireless and little fridge. We stayed in room 11 which had a lovely view of meadow and river. I would stay there again and just relax and do some river things or hiking. The road is nearby so it was a little noisy that Saturday night with cars going by but I didn't mind and slept very well. Thank you Trudy!

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaNewYorkNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed here for a night after leaving another local Inn which was dirty, badly maintained and expensive; What a great move!

This is a small roadside motel very close to Hancock NY and various camps. New owners who are very pleasant and helpful. Perfect place for a visit to the area. Comfortable bed, knotty pine interior, adequate bathroom, good functioning A/C, Flat screen TV and a refrigerator. Really nice sunny room with a great view of the river out the back.
Everything is immaculate, 7 minutes to town; they even have a phone in the room for local calls and excellent wireless internet (which is not a given in these parts)

Perfect for what it is and all you really need

Room Tip: All rooms in a line with same exposure; I doubt there is a bad room in the place. Some have one bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medlaw_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at Smith's from June 25th to 27th 2012 and this was my first stay. We were a group of 12 who came from Long Island to flyfish on the Delaware River. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with excellent views of the Delaware Valley. The rooms, although somewhat retro were clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable. The mini fridges in the rooms are a big plus. The shower flow was strong with plenty of hot water. The owners are very accomodating. When we needed extra towels they were promptly given with a smile. One negative was a slight musty smell when we first came into the room. We ran the AC on the "fan"setting and this took care of the problem. For a treat be sure to visit the excellent ice cream stand called Cow Licks just a few minutes away.

Room Tip: Room 18 is larger than the rest and faces the river rather than the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickF59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. Room was spacious, super clean, and comfortable, with a view of the river valley. Refrigerator and microwave in room. Ice machine outside. Good cell phone coverage (Verizon), which is rare in this valley. Will stay there, again, if we are in this area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70Terp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
130 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Wayne
Hotel Wayne
#1 of 3 in Honesdale
125 reviews
24.7 mi away
Wayne Inn
Wayne Inn
#3 of 3 in Honesdale
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Inn at Starlight Lake
The Inn at Starlight Lake
#2 of 2 in Starlight
135 reviews
18.9 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
7.6 mi away
The Lakewood Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smith's Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smith's Colonial Motel

Property: Smith's Colonial Motel
Address: 23085 State Highway 97, Hancock, NY 13783-2201
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hancock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Smith`s Colonial Hotel Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing