We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a clean beautiful place.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Branch Angler & Resort
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a clean beautiful place.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just spent the weekend in one of the new cabins by the fully stocked pond. What a beautiful place, had dinner and breakfast at River Run great food and amazing beauty This place will not disappoint- wonderful cabins, great location, warm and friendly staff. A grand slam homerun. If you love fishing, nature, hiking, swimming or just plain relaxing this is the palce for you.

Room Tip: I would go for the newer cabins even though they are not on the river but on the pond. They are real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynCapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about the staff at this fantastic outdoorsman resort. Every aspect of our stay was great. The cabin was very clean, well maintained and beautifully situated on the banks of Delaware's West Branch. The fly shop can compete with any in the US in terms of selection and service. We worked with a number of different guides during our stay and they were all knowledgeable and professional. The River Run restaurant is exceptional. If you're looking for massages and pedicures, this isn't the place. If you're looking for great fun, friendly folks, great food, good fishing, and great relaxation without any [--] then this is nirvana!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braindeadmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, VA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Idlyic location on the banks of the West Branch of the Delaware River with 2 miles of private flyfishing water for wild browns, rainbows and brooks. They have cabins for every budget and group size, plus a lodge with an excellent restaurant and pool. They also have a wonderful fly shop on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnowAvoiderSalem_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We've stayed at the West Branch resort three times, and every time we leave we can't wait to get back. The cabins are cozy and immaculately clean, with full kitchen convenience. Beautiful views as well. If you want fishing- world class, challenging fishing- it' s right outside your door on 2 miles of private water. Quiet and relaxing for couples, but pool, playground, hiking and trout pond for the kids.
The friendliest staff you'd ever want to meet as well.
The River Run Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner; good food and atmosphere . The area is pretty rural, though - no running out for a quick bite to eat or to a grocery store, so bring some supplies.

Room Tip: The Riverview cabins are right on the water's edge; great porch to sit anytime of teh day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jilliam3224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The West Branch Angler & Resort is an amazing find in Catskill country (Sullivan County). We stumbled across the place two years ago when in search for clean accommodations near the French Woods Performing Arts summer camp. It is really hard to find good lodging in the area. If you are there for parents weekend it's about 20 minutes north of the camp, but well worth the drive. It's nestled in a particularly beautiful section of the Catskill mountains and there is one row of cabins that sit along the Delaware River itself. Last year we had a cabin on the riverbank and it was really nice. This year, we were just as happy in a non-river view as we met Hurricane Irene during our stay.

If you are there for other reasons, it is famous for fly-fishing and the hike trails which are indeed spectacular.

You could eat off the floor in the cabins, they are so clean, and the cleaning lady leaves a hand-decorated envelope for thank-yous and tips. The cabins all have air-conditioning, TV/DVD, telephone, free WiFi, full kitchen with oven/stove and microwave and beautifully clean linens. I am not the camping type, so I was particularly impressed that a log cabin could be so clean, have hi-tech amenities and be bug-free. Tip: it's a good idea to bring bug-candles if you choose to sit outside on your deck. Each cabin also has a BBQ pit.

There's a great open field and this year I noticed several people playing with their dogs in the field, so I guess there are some pet-friendly cabins. The cabins a very spacious although the beds are on the small side. They have Temprapedic mattresses and very clean cozy bedding, so you definitely get a great sleep. Ceiling fans are also in all rooms. Living room and dining area makes it very cozy.

There is a full size outdoor swimming pool, and also a nice restaurant. The food is great - basic American fare with reasonable prices, and the bar has a decent pub-atmoshpere. Free breakfast is served daily - nothing to write home about but it saves a penny. Wafflemaker, cereal, oatmeal and egg-muffins. Of course you can cook your own in the cabin.

We had a 1-BR which was configured as 1 Full-size, 2 twins/singles and 1 sleep sofa. So technically you could sleep up to 6 people. I'd call that a bit of a squeeze, but it's a good way to share the nightly cost which is on the high side.

The staff is superior. Very friendly and go out of their way to assist. They do have a system for late checkins (leaving the key on a hook etc, but I recommend you get there before nightfall if it's your first time - pretty dark, windy, mountainous region.

I am only sorry that I do not have reason to stay here more often - it's a true gem. It's next door to Deposit which is on the way to Binghampton, so if you're going to those areas this is a must stop.

Room Tip: You have to pay 1 night deposit in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Londonjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to West Branch Angler & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Branch Angler & Resort

Property: West Branch Angler & Resort
Address: 150 Faulkner Rd, Hancock, NY 13783-2131
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hancock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hancock
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing