We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hancock House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our first stay at the Hancock House Hotel. We stayed for 3 nights during a parents weekend for our child at a camp closeby. We had to book more than a year in advance. After staying at the hotel, we now know why it is booked up. We had a second floor room with a balcony which was very spacious and quiet. The included breakfast was more than adequate. You order from one side of the menu, pancakes, French toast, eggs, etc. unless there is a buffet, which is only for busy times. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel. Comfy beds, lenty of parking, good bar in the hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room with balcony overlooking the street. Great to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slimed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    35
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We have a 2nd home in Hancock, Nee York. We are always looking for good places to eat. Tonight's meal at the Hancock House was absolutely delicious! Go when their new chef Chase is cooking. You will love their specials. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deposit, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I enjoy a good prime rib and love French Onion soup. Rarely do we find a place where BOTH are great. The Hancock House Dining Room is a place where the Friday nite Prime Rib is AWESOME. My husband sent his "compliment" to the Chef Chase. We asked for end cuts, if possible, and ordered them Medium (pink). To our delight, the end cuts were delivered exactly as ordered and the seasonings that are used on the prime rib are outstanding. Service was courteous and prompt and the French Onion Soup is something very special! We have been there the last two Friday nites and are having a family dinner there this Friday nite, complete with birthday cake for my grandson's 13th! Bona Petite!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was our second stay at the Hancock House Hotel. We had a third floor king room with a balcony which was very spacious and quiet. The included breakfast was more than adequate. You order from one side of the menu, pancakes, French toast, eggs, etc. The staff was again friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel over many others in the area as it is conveniently located just off Rte. 17 and is clean and updated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResQLt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Going up for visiting day at camp and this was the only hotel in the area that had a room available. (the camp was still 20 minutes away in Pa.) the hotel was very clean in the lobby, in our room there was plenty of dust on the blinds and a huge dust string on the ceiling in the bathroom. the bed was squeaky, the bedspread was very old, outdated. The restaurant is much to be desired. the person seating the patrons didn't even know what kind of beer was on tap and didn't even make an effort to find out, the waitress didn't know the address of the hotel, the food was just ok. the artichoke spinach dip was all spinach, the chips were stale. DOn't get excited about the free breakfast. if you get there after 8 there might not be any yogurt left, they don't put anymore out because they have to save what they have in the back for the next day. the eggs were not good. The biscuits were very good. Its convenient thats about it.
On a positive note, Rosie at the front desk was a doll, went out of her way to make all the guest feel welcome. you would think she was the owner the way she wanted to please people.
bottom line is if I had to stay there again i would.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have been coming here for the past 2 years cause my daughter goes to camp in Lake Como - we were promised a room with a balcony n when we checked in not only did we not have a room with a balcony that we called a week in advance to verify but they claim they couldn't find that we paid and it was charged to our credit card / for $200 to stay in this dump - absurd and will will notify the camp to take Hancock House off their list of hotels to stay in - so I hope u are happy that your hotel is penny wise and pound foolish

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vichannahjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

not expecting much is this small depressed community in the west Catskills but this hotel is cheery, clean, big rooms and a very accomodating staff with a nice free breakfast. my only dislike was the poor lighting in the rooms. someone decided to save money with low wattage lights and it makes it hard to do anything that requres a decent light.

Room Tip: balconys over the street seem ice altho i didn't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
22.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Inn at Starlight Lake
The Inn at Starlight Lake
#2 of 2 in Starlight
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
20.6 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Lakewood Lodge & Restaurant
24.7 mi away
Super 8 Sidney NY
Super 8 Sidney NY
#1 of 1 in Sidney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
23.5 mi away
James Manning House
James Manning House
#1 of 4 in Honesdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock House Hotel

Property: Hancock House Hotel
Address: 137 E Front St, Hancock, NY 13783-1280
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bass' Hancock House is located in downtown Hancock, New York, just a short walk from the headwaters of The Delaware River and the best trout fishing in America. Your hosts are Lynn and Russell Bass, lifetime residents. You will find 32 tastefully designed and maintained rooms and suites decorated in the Mission Style. The Hancock House strives to anticipate your every need from the overstuffed pillows you'll find on your bed to the exceptional service you'll receive throughout the hotel. Honest Eddie's Tap Room and The Maple Room Restaurant are located on the main floor. You can enjoy breakfast lunch and dinner without leaving the hotel. You will find the prices more than reasonable. As a matter of fact, you'll receive a full complimentary breakfast at The Maple Room Restaurant each day you stay with us! Just ask the desk clerk when you check in. Feel free to visit the individual web pages of Honest Eddie's and The Maple Room and click on the menu button to view the sumptuous offerings. There is ample parking for all guests and visitors in our private, well lighted parking lot. There is also municipal parking facilities directly across the street. If you've forgotten to pack any toiletries just ask at the front desk. We can generally provide you with complimentary items. The Maple Room is also available for large parties, meetings, weddings and other formal functions. The Maple Room seats up to 150 people and has modern A/V equipment & expert consultation available. Contact our banquet manager for more information. Make sure to "Like" us on Facebook for an update on our special events and discounts! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing