We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best home away from home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hartwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
August Lodge Cooperstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hartwick
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich, New York
1 review
“Best home away from home”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

When you choose the August Lodge, your entire stay will be a pleasure.
The rooms, beds and soft, soft towels are great. Finding a clean, spotless
kitchenette with dishes and utensils was a plus. The staff went all-out to be helpful.
We drove up a well plowed and sanded drive to the breathtaking, winter views at
the Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    25
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
69
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed in 100's of hotels & BBB's. August Lodge gave me a feeling being home and the lodge and it's grounds are meticulously maintained.The beautiful spacious grounds are perfect for baseball teams or family's visiting Cooperstown / baseball hall providing plenty of of room to around and play, as well as bbq's, picnic, tables, and fire pits. The convenience of a kitchenette is perfect for family's. The furnishings, grounds, and spa would be
would make the perfect
venue for country weddings, girls night out get away's, bachelor(ette) overnights, as well as family reunions. During my staying the staff was friendly,accommodating, and more than thoughtful. I am taking away fond appreciative memories of my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was a wonderful getaway spot. I work in the hotel industry and found it refreshing that an independent property was this well put together. I'm sure that the August Lodge is much busier in the summer, but I really enjoyed the fact that we had the entire place to ourselves in late January! The room has all the amenities you could ask for (fridge, stove, microwave, HBO, space, etc). I felt like we were in the middle of nowhere, but we were only a few minutes away from Cooperstown. Plans are already in the works for a return visit in late autumn. Really looking forward to spending a little time here when it is warmer!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a wonderful surprise to find this amazing spot with such comfy accommodations. Couldn't recommend a better place to pass a winter weekend. I am already anticipating a stay in the spring or fall to catch the great views the lodge has to offer. I have never stayed in a place that reflected such a combination of location, comfort and craftsmanship that you can enjoy here. I hated to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We've been to the August Lodge many times and it never disappoints. Last time we were there was in the summer and we have only fond memories. Fond enough that I think we'll go again this winter. The place is like a dream--there is nothing ordinary about it. The rooms have kitchenettes and lovely touches everywhere. The wood trim is turned just so. You can tell that it every touch was done with care and an artist's soul. Nothing like the chains. Even the chair rails are lovely. And the views are spectacular. As always, the staff went out of its way in every way.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiewsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The pros: conveniently located near the Cooperstown Dreams Park; good setting for housing a baseball team--nice area for barbecue out back, mountain views.
The cons: rooms are very basic, noisy, damp, and "rustic", standard motel room decor, parking lot not paved, service is minimal.
The bottom line: We paid almost $300 a night, because it was during peak baseball season. Was not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmm0692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband & I checked into the August Lodge, after dusk. Front desk was friendly & our room was clean & charming. A fire was lit in the lobby fireplace.
Since we arrived at dusk, we didn't realize what a lovely property we would awaken to! There was a light dusting of snow on the grounds of the wooded property. My husband & I bundled up & explored the winter wonderland. Such pretty views can be seen from the lodge!
The front desk help directed us to a beautiful hiking trail. We saw 2 deers in the woods.
Our stay was comfortable & beyond what we had expected.
Next year, we're coming back with our cross country skis!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finns41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartwick
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
873 reviews
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to August Lodge Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Lodge Cooperstown

Property: August Lodge Cooperstown
Address: 259 Seminary Rd, Hartwick Seminary, Hartwick, NY 13807-1149
Region: United States > New York > Hartwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hartwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
August Lodge offers you an authentic country experience in beautiful, spacious, rural surroundings. Relax on your private balcony with panoramic views of the Susquehanna Valley from your mountaintop country retreat. August Lodge is a 25 suite, two story timber frame country Inn, perched atop a wild flower covered meadow. Each over-sized suite is accessed from a two story, full length porch, with, soaring, dramatic, hand-hewn hammer beam trusses centered front and rear. Our suites have an expanded, fully stocked kitchen facility, including a cook top, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, china, stemware, silverware, and sink. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
August Lodge Cooperstown Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing