We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starting to really show it's age!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Starting to really show it's age!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed at this property over 30 days on business trips over the past 12 months. I have discussed my concerns with management on at least 3 separate occasions but I haven't seen any changes or improvements. The hotel was recently sold to new owners and they claim they are going to do a "complete overhaul and renovation" . But in talking to staff this may not happen until later in the year and will take some time. I'm done. I'll wait till they show me something tangible.

So where to,start? There are so many little annoyances that lead to an overall unsatisfactory stay. I'll just list them:

-Elevators are tied up by housekeeping staff with their carts while guests are trying to get out in the morning. This really ticks me off because this is a problem they could fix right away. Additionally the housekeeping staff won't get out to let the guests in when it stops on your floor after you.ve been waiting 5 minutes.

-The hotel is non-smoking for a few years. However the prior smoking floor (6th floor) still smells like cigarettes. Staff warned me not to stay on this floor if it bothered me which it does. This is the floor with larger King rooms with pullout couches by the way.

-The place is ALWAYS busy. It is right off the Long Island Expressway and the parking can sometimes be areal challenge or when you find a space it will be a walk to the hotel. They have one lot that no one uses because it is too far from the hotel.

-There is inadequate front desk staff. Some of the staff are excellent but unless it's mid-day on a weekday one person can't handle,check ins and check outs, phone calls (both in and outside calls)
And everything else under the sun efficiently. As I said this is a 7 story hotel frequently booked to capacity or near capacity, HIRE MORE PEOPLE!!! There is no excuse for waiting 20 minutes on a weekend to check in.

-All sorts of maintenance problems exist at the hotel. In the past year refrigerators were broken, ceilings leaked, one of the two elevators was down for four days on one stay, fire alarms go off in the middle of the night (false alarms of course), Internet went down, tv reception goes off, parking lot wasn't plowed promptly or well during snow storms, walls were showing peeling and wear, not enough convenient outlets for charging devices (also a simple fix), light shades with stains or holes, the outside awning is rusted and corroded. To be fair not everything happens on every stay but over the past year every one of these complaints were things I have experienced.

It really is getting quite problematic in Hauppauge but why should they rush to fix anything if they continue to sell out? I guess if you stay for a night (as many do) you put up with it and move on. But for business travelers who expect better go elsewhere. This review was along time coming and they need to start paying attention instead of telling people they care but then do nothing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smlivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Andre T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear SMLivingingston,

We would like to take a moment to thank you for you informative feedback regarding our hotel. We always appreciate when valued customers like yourself give us the added tools need to make your stay ralaxed and comfortable. I would like to address some of your concerns that you've stated. We are daily working on issues that would prohibit a less than comfortable stay. We are in touch with the necessary service providers to assist us with some of the technical issues you might have experienced. We are looking forward to future upgrades and renovations and we wish you to know that change is in progress. Moving forward, we hope that you will notice the additional staff that we have hired as well as some of our new and latest breakfast items, bedding items and lobby ammenities. Change is taking place and we invite you to come back again and see it in progress... Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    64
    45
    26
    19
See reviews for
67
39
8
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hello, we stayed in that hotel for 2 nights. It is situated in Long Island and it is pretty far from the downtown.
The hotel is quite clean, the stuff is ok also, but the breakfast was really alwul especially for an Europpean. We were very badly surprised when in the morning, we had only different sort of coffee, black american coffee without any taste and not a real coffee and many different pastries, like donuts. We were used to have vegetables and fruits in the morning but in that hotel they had only red apples..
So if you are in the area for a businss trip do not think you will have a nice breakfast and to go to the downtown it takes more than 1h30....this is hotel is really far from everything

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Petya P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the breakfast and location prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see the high scores for Cleanliness, Rooms, and Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hauppauge hotels

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family had a great time in Long-Island, NY at this Holiday Inn Express, this was a great choice for us as we had a family Indian wedding in Long-Island, so we stayed 1 night and it was very refreshing with free breakfast and internet. I loved the work out area at the lower level with sauna and showers too. The kids had a blast too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family2012544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saul C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Family2012544,

Thank you for that wonderful family trip feedback about your experience with us! We truly enjoyed hosting your stay for the Indian family wedding in the local area. Thank you for sharing how you enjoyed all of our key amenities such as our complimentary Wi-Fi internet and Express Start breakfast, to our fitness center, Sauna, and pool area all key to great family trip! We look forward to your next trip to see us all the way from Michigan!

Regards,

Saul Castillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

While the chain advertises super-human mental capacity when staying a night here, this property apparently isn't buying in. When the mattress is as hard as ours was and the large screen TV in the breakfast room loudly features evangelical religious programming, you will not be adequately prepared to solve for quantum physics upon check out. When there is only enough hot shower water to accommodate one of us in the room, it's hard to face the day feeling refreshed. And when our nighttime arrival finds us and other guests arriving at a similar time (all strangers to each other) confronted by an empty registration desk, the concern with security will not contribute to a restful night's sleep.
On the positive side, the hotel is very conveniently located off the LIE, although it is truly a stand alone hotel with no restaurants or any shopping within view. The public area and sleeping quarters were attractive and the room is furnished with a fridge. There is a nice indoor pool and fitness center, but the area around the pool offers VERY limited seating. And the continental breakfast was pretty decent. However, as for the bed, when we went downstairs to ask the less than compassionate clerk for additional blankets to provide some cushioning, we spotted other guests carrying comforters through the lobby. Clearly, genius was going to be in short supply the next morning.
The rate seemed high for H.I. Express on a weekend night. But the strong Trip Advisor rating led me to expect it to be worth it. Instead we experienced just another mediocre non full-service hotel off a busy highway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upthehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aidan R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear upthehudson, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to recieve both positive and negative feedback as it help us to improve our hotel. We are constantly improving our hotel and we have changed quite a few mattresses this year and will continue to change more in the coming year. Agin, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Long Island in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you are staying in this area, this hotel is a good choice.

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights while visiting family in the area. Even though the hotel was fairly crowded (and next to the expressway), our room was very quiet. Room was clean but furnishings are a bit dated and show some slight wear and tear. the 2 queen beds and pillows (choice of soft or firm) were very comfortable. Flat screen TV worked great.

Staff was pleasant and responsive. We contated the front desk and both issues were corrected promptly. Check in and out were simple and easy, no waiting.

The free breakfast was great both mornings (amazing cinnimon buns) and included scrambled eggs, sausage and/or bacon, waffels, pancakes, bagels, yogurt, cereal, juices, etc.

All and all, a good place for a good nights sleep and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aidan R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Clean Dear Donnie G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the cinnamon rolls. We look forward to welcoming you back to Long Island in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you are in Long Island for business or you are here to visit the stony brook university, this hotel is at an excellent location.
I am a IHG gold member and this hotel always gives me a goodie bag to award my status. I absolutely love how they offer free cookies/brownies to all the customers who are checking in.
Quite a quiet atmosphere with an indoor swimming pool and a nice market area, I feel this hotel qualifies to be the perfect sleeping destination after a busy day!
They have amazing muffins at breakfast time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aidan R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Hetal L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the cookies..!! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently whilst visiting our daughter at Stoney Brook university. Rooms were typical holiday inn, a good size with all the basics covered. Room decor was a bit dated as was the bathroom, all a bit tired. Breakfast was free and was really good which is a big bonus when you are on a budget. You were pretty much trapped unless you had a car to get about and for our European friends, there was no bar!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aidan R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Doug F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express is a great breakfast and is a great start to the day. I hope you enjoyed your trip to long island and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauppauge
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge
Address: 2050 Express Dr S, Hauppauge, NY 11788-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hauppauge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*The Hotel gust rooms and public space areas are currently under renovations and we expect to be completed by end of April, 2016* Comfort, convenience & hospitality at its best make Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge hotel the right choice for business or leisure travelers visiting Long Island. Located just off 495 the Long Island Expressway, the hotel's location is central to everything, including NYC, Yankee Stadium, Nassau Coliseum, Nikon Theater at Jones Beach & Shea Stadium / Citi Field. Our property is central to Kennedy Airport (JFK), LaGuardia (LGA) and Long Island MacArthur Airport (ISP). Our spacious accommodations & outstanding amenities make being on the road as comfortable as being at home. The 133 guestrooms & suites are tastefully appointed and fully outfitted to serve every traveler's needs. Amenities include microwaves & refrigerators, free high-speed wireless Internet access, hot breakfast buffet, complimentary 24 hour business center, indoor pool, sauna/fitness center, complimentary hotel shuttle & of course free local phone calls. The hotel's great room with its blazing fireplace is the perfect place for meeting informally with colleagues and catching up with old friends. We have 2 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 48 people per room. Stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Hauppauge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge Hotel Hauppauge
Holiday Inn Hauppauge
Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing