We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true fine Dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe La Strada

Cafe La Strada
Ranked #40 of 70 Restaurants in Hauppauge
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A true fine Dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

This is a diamond of a restaurant, the people are very friendly , the service impeccable ! If you want something not on the menu they will try and make it for you . I had the seafood ravioli with creamy tomato sauce made fresh , my wife had the baked clams and she raved about how good they were . I had also bought along a few friends who had the specials which were plentiful !! Don't let the setting of this fine restaurant in a strip mall setting fool you !! ***** stars Ps. Always ask for the specials of the day !

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fldsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, ME
Level Contributor
361 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A very nice restaurant in a strip mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We were there on a business trip; stayed in a nearby-hotel. Recommended by the hotel, we were hesitant to take their advice, since our experience is that hotels tend to recommend chains and otherwise-mediocre restaurants. But this was nice. Very homey, and while busy, the staff was very nice. The food was good, with a few very reasonable deals on wine. We'll go back again. don't sit in the first room you walk in; go past the bar and sit in that room; it has much better ambiance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al-Sue-Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I was out in Long Island for business and we ended up going here for dinner. What a surprise! Great food!!! Price was a little high. I will be back the next time out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jocsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“HOT hot hot”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We went to dinner at Cafe La Strada last night. Upon entering it felt a little warm but it was very humid yesterday. We sat and ordered our dinner. After about 15 minutes of sitting there, the heat became unbearable and the sweat was pouring off both of us. We asked the waiter if they could lower the air conditioner and he said he is broken. I feel that they should have informed us of this as we entered the restaurant. This is an upscale restaurant and it is not what you expect. We couldn't even eat out dinner it was so hot. It was actually cooler outside! We were offered no apology or anything and left in disgust. There is no excuse for an expensive restuarant not to have the air fixed during August. There are emergency companies that work round the clock. It is clear the new female owner does not take pride in the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shaney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our favorite last minute go to place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Have been going here for years! The staff is friendly and the food is delish! Try the Chicken Ala Rosa! Prices you can't beat!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hampton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe La Strada also viewed

Hauppauge, Long Island
 
Hauppauge, Long Island
Hauppauge, Long Island
 
Hauppauge, Long Island
Hauppauge, Long Island
 

Been to Cafe La Strada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing