We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“O.k. Food But Not Worth The Service Wait” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antoine McGuire's - CLOSED

Antoine McGuire's
Cuisines: American, French, Irish
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
182 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“O.k. Food But Not Worth The Service Wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Went on a Saturday night and the service was slow, the kitchen was slow and the food was only O.K. The prices re comparable to NYC but the crowded tables and noise level make it less of a value. When asked where our over due meal were, were told they being plated, and still had to wait 10 more minutes for our dinners.,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank psr707070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grafenwoehr
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eat at McGuire's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Worth the drive down from West Point for a birthday dinner. More than what I had envisioned as simply an oyster/ale house, this was cozy yet bustling. The menu was varied and refined, with nice seasonal specials. The beer selection was unique and tasty. The raw bar app selection was what we came for, but the entrees were filling and tasty. Above all, the service here is what we have come to hope for...always anticipating needs, versed, patient, well uniformed and cordial. And as with better establishments, there were many "compliments of the chef" offerings that encouraged our return. We looked at many places before betting on this one...we're happy we did - Eat at McGuire's!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chachycpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchess County, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Entrees are excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Dined here with friends on a Friday night in March 2013. Parking is a nightmare. You get stuck with Valet because thats all you can do. It was crowded and loud and we were really squeezed in tight. Not very comfortable. Service was EXTREMELY slow. Had to ask for the waitress twice. She just disappeared to often. Getting bar refills was painstakingly slow. We waited 20 minutes for 4 drinks (one was ice tea) and then 25 minutes for the next round of 2. Appetizers came out one at a time so everyone who ordered hot plates had to wait until the cold plates arrived, and it arrived last. Their hot wasn't so hot once we were all served. I had shrimp which was small and tasteless. I did expect more than 7 for the price or at least larger shrimp. Everyone else LOVED their choices: hot dogs, oysters and fried brie.
My husband was the only one who didn't care for his entree. He ordered the pasta with lobster. He ate what he could and left the rest. Even though they put it into a doggie bag, he left it.
Two if us had the short ribs which weren't at all short but one large rib and it was so delicious! And filling. Potatoes could use some help but the rib was scrumptious. The 4th plate was ravioli which was also very good.
Two had the sorbet for dessert but didn't finish it. They said it was bland. I had the flourless chocolate cake which wasn't that good either and I also ordered Irish Coffee which left me wondering what it really was.
Overall the entrees were excellent but nothing else fared so well. I'd go back but only for dinner and later in the evening. We had 7 PM reservations and when we left, around 9, it had cleared out a bit. So later is better than earlier. Maybe the service picks up then also.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaudilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“awesome gem in the village!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Dined here during Restaurant Week. Always heard great things about it, so glad I tried it! Food was delicious, service very good. Will definitely go back!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYMertzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

My friends treated me to dinner at McGuire's. I had the Beer Battered Cod with French Fries and Remoulade Sauce which was delicious. I got a sample of the light beer to try which was very good. It was a great experience. I will definitely go back again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing