We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barb and Gary are great hosts”
Review of Aspinwall Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Henderson Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspinwall Motel
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is our 3rd year staying here and everything has been amazing. Barb and Gary treat you like family. If your goal is place thats family oriented close to the harbor and with caring hosts this is the best place.

Thanks
Josh and Rachel Tipton

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jriverratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay this last weekend. Owners are very warm and caring. Clean rooms, smelled clean, a/c, cable - could park right in front of your room door. Ground level. great restaurant to walk to next door for lunch and breakfast [best home fries ever!]. Aspinwall office is charming and lots of flower beds all over. Children friendly.

Room Tip: The area is quiet, even though Rt 3 is right there. There is a front row and a back row - we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the Aspinwall for three nights in July 2012 with our Motorcycle Group. We couldn't have been treated better - Gary and Barb (The owners) went out of their way to treat us like family and friends. The home baked cookies and brownies on our arrival and the personal attention made our arrival so special. The nights sitting out back were great for our group as we remembered the day's adventures. The accommodated our needs and made the group feel like we were appreciated. The rooms were excellent and the price most affordable for the area - a great home base for our motorcycling trips.

Skip & Peggy Beijen
Oneonta NY

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here as part of a big group event, and the owners were friendly and helpful to all. They were also very accommodating, even when we called them after midnight, because we could not get a group of people socializing just outside our door, to quiet down.

The room was sizeable, the bed was ok, but you could feel the springs. The morning "breakfast" were small packaged cinnabuns and coffee...a sweet gesture, but definitely plan to eat a full breakfast elsewhere.

Overall, a decent stay, and would recommend if you are visiting the area.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank NEAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motelgary, Owner at Aspinwall Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2015

Thanks for the review! Our seasonal operation can't compete on the same levels as the big chains with deeper pockets and higher occupancy rates but we try to make up for it with cleanliness and attention to the needs of our guests. Your shortage of hot water was due to the early departure of our fisherman and their early showers. Sorry about that, but you're timing was off and the new 50 gallon water heater got caught short. As for our bedding, it's all recent and maintained. Have to admit they're not $1500 sets but the realities of the business season can't justify that luxury. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The rooms are very clean and plenty of space, the owners are great people and will help you with anything you need. I have stayed in the area before and this is one of the nicest places I have stayed at. Even the towels are soft and big. There is allot of room if you are trailering a boat. Great history to the office, just ask and I'm sure they will tell you all about it. Thank You for a great stay and I'm sure I will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kweller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Checking out the area for a group tour next year. This motel is great. Very clean. Rooms are updated and spacious. Owners very helpful for area attractions and eateries. They are always on the premises. A LOT of fishermen come here regularly. Ice cream shop just 2 blocks away. You can eat a great reasonable breakfast and lunch at the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tank_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We loved this place - the rooms were clean - they smelled great - the owners Barb and Gary were SOOOO very attentive -we even received complimentary fruit and cheese while we were sitting outside one afternoon and Gary brought us cherry tomatoes from his garden to compliment our meal, which we grilled on their Weber grill. We can't say enough about this great place. If you are planning on fishing out of Henderson Harbor, Sacketts Harbor, or the surrounding vicinity, you have to check this place out. The rooms were inexpensive, had a small fridge, and there was a coffee room with microwave, complimentary pastries, etc. for everyone to use. We'll be back. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue27025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson Harbor
8.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#1 of 2 in Sackets Harbor
151 reviews
15.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
350 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#2 of 14 in Watertown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
16.8 mi away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
15.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspinwall Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspinwall Motel

Address: 8544 County Route 178, Or 8544 Military Highway at NYS Route 3, Henderson Harbor, NY 13651-5135
Region: United States > New York > Henderson Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Henderson Harbor
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 24 modern rooms (1988) with heat,A/C,cable and ample parking for boaters and vacationers. Located on the historic Aspinwall Homestead (est. 1806) where the Aspinwall family participated in the Underground Railway. Relax after a day on Lake Ontario or a long trip. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspinwall Hotel Henderson Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing