We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Henrietta
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful Experience”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The carpeting was filthy. We kept our shoes/socks on as much as possible. The bathroom appeared clean but an odor of urine prevailed nonetheless. However, the final straw came as on the morning of our departure, I went to the kitchen/dining area to get a 'coffee to go'. There in the food lineup was a large dog with it's owner. The owner was not visually impaired. As the dog exited with it's owner, it squatted and urinated on the dining area floor! I immediately went to the front desk and the person on duty said that she would "see that the floor was wiped up". Cleanliness and good hygiene is not costly to maintain and should be of the highest concern in the hospitality industry.
We will not be staying at a Super 8 motel again and will naturally alert friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Is the room non-smoking? Are pets allowed in common areas? Have pets stayed in our alloted room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnieMae260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Cleanliness and good hygiene are very important to us. On behalf our staff here at Super 8, I want to apologize. Our goal is to make every stay a pleasant one. Clearly we did not make this happen for you. Thank you for the feedback, I will take this opportunity to personally inspect every carpet in every room to ensure that shampooing is done wherever needed. We are also appalled at the behavior of this guest and their pet. It is against our policy to allow pets into the breakfast room. Unfortunately, someone broke the rules and we are very sorry for that.
Thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback.
Do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss this further.
Jason Maloney, Assistant Manager
585-359-1630
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    310
    184
    65
    34
See reviews for
336
151
69
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We arrived on a Sunday evening with no reservation but with the hotel coupons.com coupon for a very good rate. We were told upon arrival that the non-smoking rooms at that rate were gone, but we could have a smoking room or pay $10 more for a larger non-smoking room. Also, since we had our small dog with us, we could pay another $10 for him in a non-smoking room or he would be free in a smoking room. (But he doesn't smoke... ) Anyway, for $20 less we decided to try the smoking room. The friendly desk clerk found us a smoking room that she knew non-smokers had stayed in the night before, when they also ran out of non-smoking rooms.

There was a faint smoky smell in the room but nothing we couldn't handle. The room itself seemed clean. Bathroom was clean and well stocked, though our toilet clogged the next morning before we left. TV, micro, and fridge were all good.

Two things of concern: first of all there was no chain on the door. Just the deadbolt. That made us feel a bit uncomfortable. We didn't choose to let the front desk know about that, perhaps we should have. Also, the breakfast left a bit to be desired. Know it's not made to order omelets or anything fancy like that, but just saw some pastries, bread, premade waffles, two kinds of cereal, juice, and a bowl of fruit which was on the other side of the room. The juice machine didn't work when I first tried to use it, desk clerk came in and checked and it hadn't been turned on. I'm not a coffee drinker so couldn't tell you about that. Nice touch to have a USA Today available to read.

Overall I would stay here again, especially due to the very friendly and helpful desk clerk, especially the Sunday evening clerk.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here during our recent shopping trip to Rochester. Location is good - we were a few minutes from everything we needed to do and close to hwy. Carpets were slightly worn - that is the ONLY negative I could say about this place! We stayed many times at the hotels worth twice what we paid here - getting pretty much the same thing. No pool here - that is partially why this place is cheaper. Well run - you could see how much the owner/staff care about the service. Very well managed. Breakfast - the usual stuff - fruits, instant oatmeal, milk, cereals, bread, we brought our instant starbucks packets - priceless! The only thing that bothered us was the noise in the middle of the night - we were facing the rear parking lot and someone was fixing the refrigeration unit on one of the truck-trailer units. The repair-truck engine was running and the refrigeration unit was running - making all sorts of noises. But we still fell asleep - no issue here. The place was very kind to us - holding all our parcels - we shipped some stuff from Amazon in advance of our arrival here. All packets were received in good order, kept in the mail-room for almost a week and delivered to our room. Fantastic service, considering this is a budget hotel. Beds were super comfortable, shower was super hot and the bathroom and the room was clean and smelled fresh. Overall, we were very impressed and would stay here again, if we ever come to Rochester again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
3 Thank krutoi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a nice-looking hotel with a firendly staff. It is quite popular with truck drivers, who I assume get a better discount than my (reasonable) AAA rate. It would have rated 4 stars but for a few annoyances. First among them are security concerns- the outside entrance door at the end of the building didn't lock, and our first floor room had no lock on the window.

The room was more spacious than other Super 8s and the hallways much wider. The hotel was certainly rebranded from its original identity. The furniture was in good conditionand the room clean, but there was no shampoo provided (I didn't ask) and the sink drain was slow. The mattress was pretty new.

Breakfast was our next real disappointment. The room seemed so big when I saw it the night before, and it was sad to see only the minimum Super 8 assortment offered. Bread was still in the plastic wrapper and there was only a single 2-slice toaster for all guests to share.

The review form asks about a swimming pool, but there is none.

A few small improvements and I would been pleased with this hotel even at $5 or $10 more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorpsofDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Feedback like yours is very valuable in determining how we can improve and better serve you. Our goal is to make everyone feel safe, secure, and comfortable during their stay with us. Our maintenance department has resolved the issue with the door, and Super 8 is currently in the process or upgrading our brand standards for the complimentary breakfast offering. We hear you loud and clear, and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Thank You
Jason Maloney
Assistant Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Region
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I was hoping to prove the other negative reviews wrong. Unfortunately, I didn't. There was hair on the blankets, tub, counter and toilet. The mirror had water spots all over it. The tub didn't have a plug. The back of the counter was dirty. The room smelled musty. And the breakfast was truly continental.
The staff were great, and these complaint is consistent with many others. This makes me wonder if the management is not allotting enough time for cleaning the rooms???

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinder89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonSuper8, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
First and foremost, thank you for the compliments to our staff, and for taking some time to provide valuable feedback. Secondly, we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We strive for a clean friendly hotel, and a great experience for every guest. Clearly we did not make this happen for you. I will pass your remarks on to the housekeeping staff and the General Manager. We will also take this opportunity to retrain housekeepers and notify the executive housekeeping manager. Thank you,
Jason Maloney
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed one night it is average. Clean quiet but needs some updates. They need to have some fruit for breakfast. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I and my sister and brother-in-law just returned from a few days in Rochester and stayed at the Super 8 in Henrietta.

I would definitely recommend this motel to stay in. It was clean, the staff were helpful. There was a small breakfast offering, but right next door was a Tim Horton's as well. The prices were very good, housekeeping even replaced our Kleenex when we ran out! My experience has been that's one thing overlooked many times. We also had a fridge & microwave in our rooms.

I will say that it does have it's challenges.when trying to get ready. The light in the bathroom isn't very good for applying makeup and the mirror is quite high.

That aside, it's a good, reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henrietta hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Rochester Henrietta
0.9 mi away
RIT Inn & Conference Center
RIT Inn & Conference Center
#14 of 17 in Henrietta
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Rochester
Comfort Suites Rochester
#11 of 17 in Henrietta
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area

Property: Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area
Address: 1000 Lehigh Station Rd, Henrietta, NY 14467-9239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Henrietta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Henrietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Hotel Henrietta
Henrietta Super Eight
Henrietta Super 8
Super Eight Henrietta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing