We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Rochester
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Henrietta
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Not up to DoubleTree standard. HVAC smelled very strongly of mold and never fully cooled room. Broken toilet took a very long time to get fixed while trying to get ready for family wedding (taking place at hotel!) 1 of 2 elevators out of service at arrival and was still broken at checkout 2 days later. Staff outnumbered and overwhelmed by a large group of juvenile hockey teams and their parents. The children ran the halls screaming all hours and throwing ice they got from the ice makers while the parents leaned over the atrium halls, drank beer, and threw their empty cans onto the ledge below. While you can't blame the hotel for their patrons, if you're aware you're taking large crowds of children and parents like that, you have to prepare for it. Clearly someone needed to account for the additional staffing they'd need given how full - and rowdy - the hotel was. But they didn't. The staff members we ran into were all very nice and professional, especially maintenance, and were trying their best to handle the chaos, but they were completely outnumbered. Unpleasant stay. Would not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    225
    123
    72
    43
See reviews for
275
78
35
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Horrible..I am sorry, but it is true. Two elevators, one broken. A group of teen hockey players/families staying at hotel. Kids unsupervised, groups of adults hanging out drinking beer, loud noise, messy/dirty hallways, very loud even at midnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Rochester, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Leonard,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and sincerely apologize for the noise issues and inconvenience you experienced from other guests and out elevator situation. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing efforts to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was my third visit to the Doubletree. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, and you're always greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The location can't be beat, right on Jefferson Road, 10 minutes from RIT. Lots of retail shopping and chain restaurants near by, Starbucks across the street. My only complaint is that they charge for wifi. Why can I get free wifi at a cheaper hotel (e.g. Hampton Inn), but have to pay $9.99 per day at the Doubletree? There's a bar in the atrium and a pool as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneJetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you don't mind a little noise, ask for a room that faces the atrium. It's beautifully landscaped, but may be a bit noisier than a room on the back-side of the hotel. Street traffic can be noisy, but the fan can drown it out. The hotel seems recently renovated, if you ignore the 1950's door trim (did someone forget to replace this?). This hotel is close to everything you need especially if you're in town for a hockey tournament at the Monroe County Community College. Pillows and beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Nicely done. Staff to be commended. Room clean and neat; likewise bathroom. Lobby area and hallways clear and uncluttered. Staff neat and professional. I would revisit the locale during subsequent visits.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The overall decor of the hotel was a refreshing change from most I've been to. My only complaint is that the room seemed dim even with all of the lamps turned on and I'm not a fan of the cool-white fluorescent bulbs in the lamps.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The staff was absolutely amazing and the hotel was beautiful. The pillows are feather and the beds are so comfortable. We asked for additional coffee, and they gladly gave it to us. The staff is extremely friendly and the rooms are very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sherri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henrietta hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Rochester Henrietta
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Henrietta
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Henrietta
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester / Henrietta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Rochester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Rochester
Address: 1111 Jefferson Rd, Henrietta, NY 14623-3155
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Henrietta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Henrietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Rochester
Rochester Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing