We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to believe that wi-fi not included!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Henrietta
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were generally pleased with the hotel amenities this past weekend. We knew that there was a hockey tournament so we were prepared for a little more noise and rambunctious children. We were however disappointed with the long wait at the elevators (didn't realize that one of the two was broken until I read the reviews). One of my two main complaints is that we had the breakfast buffet one morning and not one wait staff came over to us to ask us if we wanted coffee, juice, etc. or to take away our empty dishes. I guess my error was in telling them before we sat down that we had 2 free vouchers, so they probably thought we wouldn't be leaving a tip? Of course, that would not have been the case because I always tip on the full value of the meal whether or not I'm using a coupon, etc. So I gave them the vouchers at the front of the restaurant, complained about it and of course, left no tip. And it wasn't even that busy. But my biggest complaint is that you have to pay $10 per day for wi-fi in your room. It's not that I can't afford that, but all the hotels I've stayed in this year (at least 6 that I can remember) had free wi-fi in the rooms. It's become a common and expected amenity everywhere and I find it hard to believe that this one hotel cannot offer this service. It's almost to the point that you don't even have to ask if this service is offered when you book. But now I definitely will have to ask every time, even though I still believe that this is one of very few that don't have it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We appreciate your feedback regarding the cost of our wireless internet service at our hotel. While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet, we try to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Flying bugs in room and elevator, broken elevator:one of two, and no bottled water in vending machine on my floor for the duaration of my stay. check-out receipt not under my door in morning of check-out, despite advanced request for same.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Brita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Brita,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel had an excessive amount of young children, about 8-12 years old there for a hockey tournament (for all of our three day stay) which ran through the hotel's halls and stairwells yelling. Nothing was done from their parents or hotel security to quiet them down. On Saturday evening, a late night fight broke out after a wedding, awakened many, which was reported. One person in our group of 60 complained and was given a reduction in his bills. I complained and an apology was offered to me. The hotel only had two elevators, several kids were jumping in one of them, which they finally broke. That elevator was out of service for the entire weekend. If that wasn't bad enough, the kids jammed the control panel of the other elevator so it then stopped at every floor! Nothing was done to correct these elevator problems so taking the stairs to our 4th floor rooms was then the best way of getting to our rooms! After our room was cleaned one day of our stay, NO towels or washcloths were left in our room; this was reported to the front desk and they were delivered shortly thereafter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Chuck48324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hello Chuck-

I’m so sorry for the noise issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. We work diligently with our staff to ensure each of our guests is respectful of others, while still enjoying their stay and special event. We regret you experienced a noise level that made your stay unpleasant. We hope you will give us another shot the next time you are in our area. We are eager to make your stay with us the best hotel experience possible and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Not up to DoubleTree standard. HVAC smelled very strongly of mold and never fully cooled room. Broken toilet took a very long time to get fixed while trying to get ready for family wedding (taking place at hotel!) 1 of 2 elevators out of service at arrival and was still broken at checkout 2 days later. Staff outnumbered and overwhelmed by a large group of juvenile hockey teams and their parents. The children ran the halls screaming all hours and throwing ice they got from the ice makers while the parents leaned over the atrium halls, drank beer, and threw their empty cans onto the ledge below. While you can't blame the hotel for their patrons, if you're aware you're taking large crowds of children and parents like that, you have to prepare for it. Clearly someone needed to account for the additional staffing they'd need given how full - and rowdy - the hotel was. But they didn't. The staff members we ran into were all very nice and professional, especially maintenance, and were trying their best to handle the chaos, but they were completely outnumbered. Unpleasant stay. Would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Horrible..I am sorry, but it is true. Two elevators, one broken. A group of teen hockey players/families staying at hotel. Kids unsupervised, groups of adults hanging out drinking beer, loud noise, messy/dirty hallways, very loud even at midnight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Leonard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Leonard,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and sincerely apologize for the noise issues and inconvenience you experienced from other guests and out elevator situation. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing efforts to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was my third visit to the Doubletree. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, and you're always greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The location can't be beat, right on Jefferson Road, 10 minutes from RIT. Lots of retail shopping and chain restaurants near by, Starbucks across the street. My only complaint is that they charge for wifi. Why can I get free wifi at a cheaper hotel (e.g. Hampton Inn), but have to pay $9.99 per day at the Doubletree? There's a bar in the atrium and a pool as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneJetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you don't mind a little noise, ask for a room that faces the atrium. It's beautifully landscaped, but may be a bit noisier than a room on the back-side of the hotel. Street traffic can be noisy, but the fan can drown it out. The hotel seems recently renovated, if you ignore the 1950's door trim (did someone forget to replace this?). This hotel is close to everything you need especially if you're in town for a hockey tournament at the Monroe County Community College. Pillows and beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henrietta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Rochester Henrietta
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Henrietta
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester

Address: 1111 Jefferson Rd, Henrietta, NY 14623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Henrietta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Henrietta
Price Range: £95 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-390 and north of the New York State Thruway, experience newly renovated guest rooms and convenient access to downtown Rochester at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester. Settle into a comfortable and spacious guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Rochester
Rochester Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing