We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much Noise; Unclean Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Rochester
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Henrietta
Rochester, United States
2 reviews
“Too Much Noise; Unclean Room”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Unattended children run and scream through the halls at all hours; staff cannot seem to stop this. Room had dirty linens and dirty shower walls. Good price but you get what you pay for. Only stay here if you can sleep through anything and just want a base from which to head out. Any other purpose--like relaxing and enjoying the room for which you are paying--cannot be guaranteed and is likely to be spoiled.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bobbi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Rochester, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered with noise and guestroom appointment. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience, and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate the quality hospitality you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    231
    125
    72
    43
See reviews for
279
80
35
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was the location of a family party we attended. There were over 80 children at this event. I was impressed by the layout of the party area. It accommodated both adults and children. My only comment was that the staff had some difficulty getting 200 meals served.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stay at this hotel once every 4-6 weeks when I visit my Daughter who lives in Pittsford, NY. I think the hotel is excellent but I dropped it to very good on this trip due to an inconvenient fire alarm that went off early on Sunday morning and caused me to go out in the cold with my 3 year old grand son and another 8 year old. I'm not sure what the problem was but it was an inconvenience. The hotel can't prevent what the guests do and I assume it was something a guest did. Just passing along a note.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cameron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great hotel. The staff is very nice and theyfeel at home. The atrium make that you are outside when you the bar. The fitness room is simple but nice, airy and all the equipement is all new and in working order. The breakfeast was outstading

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Francois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cicero, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were in Rochester for one night. We booked the Doubletree due to its proximity to the Thruway. The hotel is very conveniently located and easy to get to. The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. We were given a room that overlooked the atrium. We thought it was a bid odd that the room had glass sliding doors that opened to the hallway overlooking the atrium, but oh well.

We decided to have dinner at their atrium restaurant. Our server was very good! Unfortunately, the indoor pool is located next to the restaurant. The screaming was unbelievable!!! We could barely communicate with our server, and all of us were yelling. Twice, children from the pool ran through the restaurant and actually ran directly into our server. Once, they almost knocked a tray of food out of her hands.

We were extremely surprised that the manager allowed this sort of behavior. We could see, as did everyone else in the restaurant, that there was no adult supervision at the pool.

Outside of the noise, our dinner was very good. My wife had a shrimp dish and I had the chicken picatta, Both were very tasty!

After dinner we went back to our room. We had to turn the TV up to maximum volume so we could hear it. We were on the top floor (6), and we could still hear the screaming coming from the pool! While the pool is to close at 10:00 P.M., the screaming continued until at least 11:30. Again, we were disappointed in the manager not taking control of this situation.

Promptly at 8:00 A.M., we were awoken by more screaming coming from the pool area. Again, we were disappointed in the manager not doing anything.

The hotel claims to offer a buffet breakfast. We think they should re-name it a cafeteria breakfast. There was one poor guy attempting to make eggs for everyone. The line stretched through the sitting area. It was not his fault, it takes time to cook omelets, etc. Usually on buffets, they have scrambled eggs (or some other egg option) already set up.

We MIGHT stay here again. If we do, we will only stay if we get a room on the outside, not overlooking the atrium. If no outside rooms are available, we will go to another hotel.

This hotel might want to re-think its use of an indoor pool. From our experience it seems that they would prefer to appease children rather than adults. I think they forget it is the adults that pay their bills and keep them in business.

Room Tip: Only stay in an outside room. Never accept a room that overlooks the atrium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The front staff is very courteous and accommodating even though we arrived a little bit early before check-in time. Great location to the mall, restaurants and everywhere else in Rochester. The only complaint I have is that there is no free wi-fi access in the room since I am a Hilton Honor silver member. You need to be a gold member. I spoke to the front desk about this and she was nice enough to give me free access for 24 hours.

Also, the I think place needs some renovations: 1.) Outlet does not work in lamp fixture. 2.) Flushing is slow in the toilet 3.) Shower is noisy when water is turned on.

Overall, I would go back again for the reasonable hotel price.

Room Tip: If you're a Hilton Honors member, there is a floor for the members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great staff!! Highly recommend this hotel. Everyone of the staff is extremly friendly. They must have a friendly pill they take in the morning. Great location, right off Rt 390. So many restaurant choices near the hotel.....every chain restaurant you can think of is within 1 mile of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henrietta
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Rochester Henrietta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Henrietta
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester / Henrietta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Rochester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Rochester
Address: 1111 Jefferson Rd, Henrietta, NY 14623-3155
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Henrietta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Henrietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Rochester
Rochester Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing