We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice place to bring your family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herkimer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herkimer KOA Campground
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty nice place to bring your family”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My son came here for the day-camp on rocks and minerals and since we live over 3 hrs away, we needed a place nearby to stay. The place is very family friendly, clean, and super green as pointed out by other reviews. We stayed in one of the rustic cabins that have a double bed and bunk beds which was perfect for a family of 4. The Kabins we stayed at were tucked to the north against the river and it's very nice to have the sound of running water out your front door step (except for Rt 28 behind the campground, but I suspect there is no place you could escape the road here). Bring a tube for tubing on the river as that is a great activity with the kids or just a nice way to escape the heat. The pool is much colder but sweet for kids (don't expect to be doing morning laps in it).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_F_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    30
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here for six days in a motorhome. As previous reviews have pointed out there is a lot to do for a family and there are many nice touches like Kamp - K9, Organic Garden and a large variety of accommodations. The staff is very friendly.

The only negative that I noticed was that if you are arriving after dark the entrance can be very hard to find.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm_Nice_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in one of the solar cabins, and it was fabulous. The only thing missing was a microwave. We barbecued and cooked on the stove instead, but it was very clean, nicely furnished, and there were great little touches like fresh organic herbs growing in the window boxes, huge areas for the kids to play, easy access to the river. Pool area was nice (but it was too cold when we were there to go swimming) frisbee golf, dog play area, playground. We went across the street to the Herkimer mine and came home with some great finds. It didn't feel at all like camping. I would even prefer this place to many of the hotels I've stayed at.

Forgot to mention that the staff was incredibly polite and helpful.

Room Tip: solar cabins are the best and the roomiest, but the camper cottages are nice and they are right on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had 4 days here. The kids had a fabulous time. The campground staff were excellent. There were activities for the kids every day and night. The freedom the kids experienced was such a rewarding experience for all involved. Bathrooms were regularly cleaned, the swimming area was lovely with new garden furniture and nicely finished. The campground needed a very little maintenance, but it is a campground after all.

I would highly recommend this campground.

If you do visit the mine and happen to get lucky - the Ace of Diamonds store has a great selection of jewelery cages at very reasonable prices - I was thrilled to have found this.

Room Tip: We were in a tent - hence the 'average' rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Surprisingly they even had tent sites on the river. They have a large variety of cabins, lodges and sites to accommodate everyone. The prices were not really that bad for such a nice campground. The bathrooms were not the newest but not too bad. The outdoor kitchen were a nice touches for people who wanted to bbq but didn't have a grill. If all KOA's had tent sites this nice we'd give more a try.

Room Tip: go for a river site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerWithFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
6.9 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
66 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
726 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
519 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herkimer KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herkimer KOA Campground

Property: Herkimer KOA Campground
Address: 4626 State Route 28, Herkimer, NY
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Herkimer
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Herkimer KOA Campground New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing