We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Camping Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herkimer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herkimer KOA Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Although our family has camped many times, this was our first stay at a KOA campground. The campground was well maintained and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We camped in a tent in one of the creekside sites. It was a very nice setting. Our children enjoyed tubing down the creek. The site we camped in was grassy and equipped with a fire ring and picnic table. Some of the sites had grills as well. The campground had a pleasant common area including a pool with attractive furnishings, camp store and playground. The only drawbacks for were the close proximity of adjacent sites which we have found to be common at many campgrounds and the distance from our campsite to the nearest bathroom was a little further than we would have liked. Overall, this stay was very positive and we plan to make a return trip in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pogo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Herkimer KOA Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent 2 days/nights tent camping with a Cub Scout den. The boys are 10 years old and there were siblings who wer 8 and 12. All of the kids had a great time! The Herkamer Diamond Mines are across the street. The campground itself has a pool, a river you can tube in and a lot of organized activities. The staff was friendly and the place was clean. I would go again and I would recommend this KOA Kampground. They even have a fenced in dog playground! And there is wifi, though it didn't work everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

We had an awesome time "camping" in the lodge which was perfect to give us the experience of the outdoors without bringing all the gear and sleeping on the ground. Kids loved tubbing in the creek! We plan to visit next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This KOA is well deserved of all their awards!! Our family of four has the most amazing time at this place (kids 4 & 8). This is our second year and it was a great long weekend. The smallest cabin seems rustic enough to call it "camping", but cozy enough to enjoy a bed with porch swing, fire pit and picnic table. Our kids have given this place their highest rating (including over Great Wolf Lodge which was their previous favorite). The staff and owners are amazing and eager to please. The activities are kitschy, but fun. The kids love to tye-dye their t-shirts and socks. The flashlight candy hunt and cray fishing are also big hits. We love the beautiful river and rafting is lots of fun. Bring tubes and a pump to make life easier. We also bring life jackets for safety. There are a long list of amenities from the pool, shuffleboard, giant chess and checkers, organic gardens, dog playground, kids playground, outdoor movies, etc. The rock mining is hot and hard work with hammers, but we love the idea of finding "treasure". (There is the easier alternative for sluicing for gems.) There is a restaurant just across the road and a small snack bar by the mines. The Erie Canal trip through the locks is interesting and educational.
I'm absolutely sure we will be back next year and there is no better recommendation than that.

Room Tip: Sites by the river are especially beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomDadandBlueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Beautiful creek. Lovely grassy sites. Suggest you ask for a site right on the water. We were in a pull through but should have requested one of the water view sites - the unserviced sites right at the end were especially nice and quiet. The 'diamond mining' is fun, hot, and rather pricey for the luzury of sweating in a rock field - we lasted about 40 mins and were done (2 adults and 2 kids ages 11 and 14 about $38). Nice pool. Overall a great stay and would go again - would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: sites 90-100 are unserviced but beautiful
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BFLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just got back from the Herkimer KOA, we can't say enough about this place. Spotless for starters. This camp ground is such a family friendly place, we had 4 kids and ages range from 7 - 14, not once did we hear "I'm bored". From the cray fish races to the running the rapids our kids went none stop for 2 days. Will definately go again.

We did the diamond mines and found a few nice sized stones and really enjoyed the experience.

The staff was amazing, we requested a late check out time and the did everything in their power to make this happen.

Thanks for an amazing experience.

Tracey

Room Tip: Be sure to bring water shoes and inner tubes!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beef2198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My son came here for the day-camp on rocks and minerals and since we live over 3 hrs away, we needed a place nearby to stay. The place is very family friendly, clean, and super green as pointed out by other reviews. We stayed in one of the rustic cabins that have a double bed and bunk beds which was perfect for a family of 4. The Kabins we stayed at were tucked to the north against the river and it's very nice to have the sound of running water out your front door step (except for Rt 28 behind the campground, but I suspect there is no place you could escape the road here). Bring a tube for tubing on the river as that is a great activity with the kids or just a nice way to escape the heat. The pool is much colder but sweet for kids (don't expect to be doing morning laps in it).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_F_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
6.9 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
70 reviews
13.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
241 reviews
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herkimer KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herkimer KOA Campground

Address: 4626 State Route 28, Herkimer, NY
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Herkimer
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Herkimer KOA Campground New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing