We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to get dirty!!!”

Ace Of Diamonds Mine
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Herkimer
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Westport, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Time to get dirty!!!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Was talked into going mining with a friend and my husband and what and adventure... We were recommended to go to Ace of Diamond Mine's because you have a better chance of finding crystals. We did find them but it was tough. Using a sledge hammer to break open the stones was a challenge so bring lots of tools.... It was a fun adventure and we were told to really find the big ones you needs more than one day so go and enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    33
    8
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Have fun getting dirty!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I've been to this mine and by far it is the better of the three main mines in the area. The staff are friendly and helpful, the shop is full of nice, although not completely related items. I would suggest going in the spring, you can find quite a few diamonds with little hammering due to spring rains. I found a cherry tomato-sized diamond in a mud puddle after such a spring rain.
It's the most fun you could have getting dirty. Deffinatly must do when in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JessicaZibura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for finding Herkimer Diamonds”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Where the pros go because they bring in new rocks with "diamonds" more often. Warning - this is what it is - hammering rocks in the hot son. Not easy work to find diamonds, but they are there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank cavu0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2013 Labor Day Weekend”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a great time here over the Labor Day Weekend. We camped at the Herkimer Diamond KOA (definitely recommend their campground) and went to their mine on the first day. Found some decent gems, but had much better luck on our second day at the Ace of Diamonds. The one across the street from the KOA was picked through and it seemed like they didn't put much effort into turning over their rocks. It's also a hike from the parking lot. The Ace of Diamonds was a whole different story. They offer a much better chance of finding treasures and it's right next to the parking lot. We will definitely be back to Ace!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Better of the two mines. Hear many complaints of the other mine. Many friendly people plus you'll find the crystals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ARP1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ace Of Diamonds Mine also viewed

 

Been to Ace Of Diamonds Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing