We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast

Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herkimer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Herkimer B&B and Inns
Herkimer, New York
1 review
“Enjoyable Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Upon arrival we had some concerns about the exterior of the historic buildings. But, once inside we found it to be clean, comfortable and friendly. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and the conversation with the two other couples was interesting. We had a front bedroom and the view of the trees and mountains was beautiful. We wanted a homey place we could "hang our hat" while we visited Herkimer and would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
25
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
E. Northport
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The accommodations were charming, clean, and comfy.
Our host, Roland, prepared a delicious breakfast that was enjoyed by all.
We appreciated being so close to Little Falls and the Mohawk River Valley region.
We didn't mind the occasional train that rumbled through the valley during the night, but our friends were less tolerant and saw it as a disturbance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherrill, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We decided to stay in a b&b on the spur of the moment and were able to make a reservation at Portobello for the same evening. After a lovely dinner at the Canalside Inn in Little Falls, we returned to Portobello and sat for a while in the adirondack chairs in the back yard enjoying the moonlit night. Roland very attentively brought out a citronella candle to ward off the mosquitos. Very thoughtful! The room was quaint, clean and comfortable. The next morning, breakfast was ready at exactly the time we requested. It was a sumptuous feast of thick french toast, bacon, fresh fruit salad, orange muffins and peach crisp - all delicious. We asked about the history of the house and Roland told us all about it. He was very gracious and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I am surprised at the the reviews by others about this property. While the reality was not as bad as our first impression, the overall experience was a little unnerving.
On arrival, seeing the front of the house in serious need of paint and repair and the asphalt driveway a broken narrow remnant of what once was, I had concern about the inside of the house. The back gardens and yard did not make me feel any better.
The best I can say about the main level of the inn is that I hope it is in transition. It truly seemed that we, nor any other guests were expected. As we had reserved, and they had our credit card number, we followed through with check in. We viewed our room, then left for the evening. Something was "off" and we just didn't feel comfortable being in the house, so we drove to Cooperstown. If we didn't have their keys in our pocket, we would not have returned and forgone the lost cost of the accommodations.
We did, however, go back and brought the minimum into the house for the overnight stay. The upstairs was better than the main floor. A grand staircase, good carpeting and a long hall led us to our room, which was modest, but comfortable. A coffeemaker was available in the upper hall as a courtesy to guests who are early risers.
A lovely breakfast was served to the two of us, the only guests that night. We were seated at a banquet style folding table covered in a white tablecloth. Odd. No permanent table. The chairs? They were folding chairs. Again, the feeling of them not being ready for business.
We did sleep well, and breakfast was good, but we both were relieved to be on our way in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank packingandunpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We arrived to find a beautiful well appointed home, with a delightful brown barn that was like artwork - we even photographed the barn/shed it was so inspiring. The innkeeper was warm and helpful, the rooms comfortable ,clean and tastefuly decorated. We particuarly enjoyed the breakfast, which was delicious - including homemade bakegoods. Our seven year old daughter especially loved the pancakes that spelled out her name. We definetely plan on returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Y.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Needed to pick up son from a weekend retreat in Salisbury . From long island , and needed a place to stay for return trip. I searched the sites for EVERY 5 star hotel or b&b around!! Pics of 5 stars made we wince! Portobello was the nicest, so called and spoke to Roland . I must share I am a snob when it comes to accommodations . Although Herkimer for me was passable , this beautiful richly restored inn surpassed my expectations. From the moment you are greeted by Roland you realize how passionate he is to assure your comfort. The rooms were so restful and beautiful, and waking to a table elegantly set for breakfast was brilliant!! Our breakfast was 5 stars, as well as our encounter with this #1 b&b in Herkimer !!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W.O.H.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

After our fourth visit here, we have come to realize that this is a house to be lived in. Two very comfortable seating areas with plenty of interesting reading material are begging you to spend some time and soak in the atmosphere. Perfect home base for day trips but don't overdo it-spend some time at "home".

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
3.4 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
16.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
16.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5989 State Route 5, PO Box 169, Herkimer, NY 13350-3522
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Herkimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1840s Italianate Country Inn with 5 comfortable bedrooms each with private bathroom, A/C, cable TV/HBO, plush robes & CD radio alarm & Internet access. We offer a Full Country Breakfast daily. Use of Mohawk Valley Country Club facilities "In Season." We're close to Cooperstown, Adirondacks Mountains, Erie Canal, Central NY attractions and historic sites. We accept most major credit cards. Open All Year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portobello Inn Bed And Breakfast Herkimer, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing