We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round experience!”

Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herkimer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Herkimer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our family group stayed at the Portobello Inn for a family reunion. The innkeeper, Roland, accommodated us at short notice after another local B and B let us down. We were very happy we ended up at the Portobello. Roland was a kind and generous host, and an excellent chef - our breakfasts were wonderful. Our rooms were comfortable and clean, with everything we needed. Three generations of our family, including a two-year-old, had a very pleasant stay. We would certainly stay here again on a return trip to this beautiful area.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

The Inn is a gem well kept by Roland Randall the Innkeeper. The antiques and furnishings throughout the house will delight you on your visit. Our room was spacious and bathroom was clean. The WiFi worked well. The breakfasts were delicious and we were pleased with our stay.
Roland went out of his way to make our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Choose your room from the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We arrived 22 Sept and were met by Roland, one of the hosts. The room was immaculate and cozy. Roland was extremely helpful giving us tips on the local lore. The Breakfasts on 23 & 24 Sept were fantastic. Roland is a gourmet chef. The food and presentation were 1st class. everything is prepared from scratch. We loved the Portobello and staff so much, we plan a second trip in June 2013. This is a classic place with great service, superb staff, and great ambiance

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at the Portobello Inn in Herkimer, New York. Our room was beautifully decorated. Roland and his fellow innkeepers made our stay wonderful. There was every comfort you could want, including afternoon ice tea, homemade cookies and fruit. The breakfast was simply fabulous - baked egg casserole with a side of bacon, orange muffins, individual apple crisps topped with vanilla yogurt and an extensive selection of fruit juice. Thank you Roland for making our 35th anniversary memorable. Pam & John

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

It is ont of the most charming places I've stayed in. I travel a lot, and I couldn't be more appreciative of truly clean bed and bathroom and fantastic home made breakfast. It's a beautiful charming villa, the innkeeper Roland will make sure you feel comfortable, and have everything you need.
Will recommend to anyone. Bed&Breakfast does not sound fancy, but I wouldn't trade it for any pumped up hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrisonRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We are unabashed fans of this fine, welcoming innkeeper. The property offers an eclectic feel - very soothing in a unique way. Breakfast is outstanding (quiche, bacon, fresh fruit salad, homemade muffins, apple crisp , orange juice, v8 juice, delicious coffee...was this morning's feast) If you are a light sleeper fuss budget, do not stay here. The trains come by often and rt 5 is right out front. That did not disturb our slumber as we nestled into our clean linens and comfy bed. Late night cookies and coffee/teas in the hall are a nice touch. The friendliness of this establishment will make you want to stay more than one night!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Upon arrival we had some concerns about the exterior of the historic buildings. But, once inside we found it to be clean, comfortable and friendly. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and the conversation with the two other couples was interesting. We had a front bedroom and the view of the trees and mountains was beautiful. We wanted a homey place we could "hang our hat" while we visited Herkimer and would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Herkimer hotels
3.8 mi away
Bellinger Rose Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
3.4 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5989 State Route 5, PO Box 169, Herkimer, NY 13350-3522
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Herkimer
Price Range: £78 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1840s Italianate Country Inn with 5 comfortable bedrooms each with private bathroom, A/C, cable TV/HBO, plush robes & CD radio alarm & Internet access. We offer a Full Country Breakfast daily. Use of Mohawk Valley Country Club facilities "In Season." We're close to Cooperstown, Adirondacks Mountains, Erie Canal, Central NY attractions and historic sites. We accept most major credit cards. Open All Year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portobello Inn Bed And Breakfast Herkimer, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing