We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Ridge Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Herkimer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Ridge Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

When we got there, the people were not even there to check us in. So we came back, and we said that we didnt want to stay there, but they said there is no refunds. So we took the room, but the curtins were falling off of the window, there was holes in the door, and on top of that there was not a phone. We will never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sean4995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
5
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Lousy, smelly, smoky rooms. We made a reservation over the phone, but they didn't have rooms for us when we got there. We had to settle for something less. One room didn't have a dead-bolt lock, and the bathroom had a leaking sink and toilet. Bugs in the room (everything from spiders to earwigs, the A/C was loud, the beds were uncomfortable. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bnaviles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County , NY
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Things must have changed with the new ownership. My husband and son stayed here while on a visit to the mines back in June and found their stay to be very good. My husband said the room was comfortable and bathroom clean. Above all, the management went out of their way to make SURE that all was ok ( as I had many questions for the manager when I booked the room, having read the past reviews on this website). My husband said their stay was so good, that they will definately go back in the near future. The management could not have been any nicer.. THANK YOU

  • Liked — the price..excellent service
  • Disliked — noisy guests ( not the fault of the motel)
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOfFour121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

I was unable to force myself to stay a night there, in fact I was
there for 15 minutes.
Everything was depressing to me: the hole in the upholstery, TV set from the 50th, the non-working coffee making device (true antique - combines a shelf and hot plate), non-working window treatment on the small window, the only a source of light in the room, the size of the room itself.
I understand that there are newer rooms on the side of the
hotel, but I was told that they were occupied. Well, I trust people.
Bathroom was clean, room had a little stale smell.
Herkimer Motel would be a better choice, but it will cost twice more. If you are used to less than a minimum comfort and don't suffer claustrophobia, you may be able to enjoy this accommodation.
(I have some photos, if you are interested).

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Room and grounds
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tavribruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

We booked this motel based on recent recommendation from Tripadviser.com. The motel is the closest accomendation to the Herkimer and Ace of Diamond Mines. You are about 5 miles from the mines and close to many restaurants and fast food joint. The rooms are older but clean. For $39.95 you more than average rooms. We have one of the two effiency room with nice, clean updated bath/shower, kitchenette with small portable stove, refrigarator, double queen beds, TV and storage. The owners are nice and they let you check-in and put your stuff in the room before heading out to the mines.

The Herkimer and Ace of Diamond Mines are just like the Show on Travel Channel. It is great for family fun!

  • Liked — Location to the Herkimer Mines and price
  • Disliked — Older funitures
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hadley, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

I stayed in the motel over spring break. It was very fun and very well maintained. Under the new ownership, so many things are being attended to. In a bit, it will really become more than just a motel... they're working so hard, the new owners that is. The people were very friendly and made you feel at home. It's especially very nice because of the location, view and convenience. It's on a quiet highway and overlooks the moutains on the far end. It also has a children's playground at the back. The rooms have a great color theme and the kitchenette is very cute. I have worked for a very expensive hotel on my campus before and that motel was no less! You should definitely give it a try! It's near k-mart, hannaford, walmart, dollar tree and you can easily catch a bus to or from Union Station in Utica. I miss that place.

  • Liked — Friendly, homey, great service and location
  • Disliked — It was still snowing lol.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsubiemeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

Glen Ridge is a very clean & cosy motel. Friendly staffs giving very efficient service. Peaceful atmosphere and comfortable beds. I am going to stay there again.

  • Liked — Friendly staffs
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
1.8 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
14.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
14.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Ridge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Ridge Motel

Property: Glen Ridge Motel
Address: 5571 State Route 5, Herkimer, NY 13350-3511
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Glen Ridge Hotel
Glen Ridge Motel Herkimer, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing