We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bellinger Rose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Herkimer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our wonderful stay began with the owner, Chris, "talking" us there with her directions over the phone. She could not have done more to make our short one night stay perfect. She delivered our luggage to the Tiffany Rose room herself after I mentioned that my husband may have difficulty with the stairs. (He did not.) The room was fabulously comfortable with a Jacuzzi tub that I enjoyed. The Victorian parlor with the player grand piano was the perfect spot for some late night reading.
Both Leon and Chris were personable in the morning over a very delicious breakfast and we felt very much "at home" the entire time. They hit the right note of being available and friendly but not overbearing.
If we are ever in the Herkimer area again, I would not hesitate to return, and I highly recommend the Bellinger Rose to anyone travelling there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We really did enjoy our stay at this B&B. The home is lovely and very interesting with oodles of Victorian charm. The Innkeepers are kind, accepting people willing to make you comfortable and happy. Something NOT found at all B&Bs these days.
The Crimson room is the one we had, and was beautifully decorated but was rather small if one were to stay more than a few days. The en-suite bath was quite large and has the most splendid big claw foot tub. Everything was perfectly clean and well maintained.
Breakfast was bountiful and served up WITHOUT a long wait, and that is very appreciated. The food may have been a bit "healthier" than I prefer while traveling, but was excellent and well cooked.
To get to the sauna and hot tub area guests must go through the dining area, so a bit awkward potentially. But really surprising that we found a Inn offering such amenities at this price point.
We would absolutely choose to stay here again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: We had a peek at the "suite" and that looked lovely and very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a great time here. The place is bedecked and awash in intriguing Victorian era artifacts. Our room was quite comfortable and our breakfast was very good. The couple who run the place try very hard to be accommodating and helpful. The cats, there are two, are persistent but not a pain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterToronto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This place is exactly what you would think for a NY B&B. Beautiful, old home with character galore and wonderful hosts. The place is very well maintained, wonderfully decorated, and the hosts make you feel so welcome. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the bathroom in the Crimson room was incredible. I felt like royalty! Breakfast was make to order and was delicious. You can not go wrong with this quaint B&B. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

A Rose by any other name probably wouldn't be as nice and comfortable as the Bellinger Rose B&B. Let me say first of all that Leon and Chris were very cordial and accommodating hosts. Our room had everything you could need (the refrigerator is a nice touch), bathroom facilities and amenities were excellent. We stayed one night (in Herkimer for a wedding) and this B&B totally suited our needs. We didn't have time to use the hot tub or the new Sauna, or to get a massage from Chris who's a licensed massage therapist, but if visiting again I would certainly make use of those options. The cooked to order breakfast was excellent with, in addition to what you ordered, assortments of fresh fruits, muffins, breads. 10+ on cleanliness. We would absolutely choose this location for another stay if in the Herkimer-Utica area. Thanks to Leon & Chris for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kickerAuburnNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We called Leon at the last minute and he was able to accommodate us at this wonderful B & B. They are the perfect hosts, putting us right at ease after a tiring day of bicycling the Canal Trail. The room was spotless and very comfortable, breakfast was the best. Leon even sat with us and we enjoyed a beverage over small talk. These folks would make great neighbors! Leon was good enough to drive us to dinner and come back later to bring us back. You can't go wrong with Bellinger Rose.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcgreathouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed with Chris and Leon Frost (owners/operators) in late April 2013. The Bellinger Rose is a wonderful step back in time to the Victorian Age. Our room was spacious and bright, with windows on two sides (we had the Tiffany Rose Suite), and the breakfasts served-up by Chris were both tasty and generous. Bellinger Rose serves breakfasts chosen by the guests from a menu, so it is different from other B&Bs we have experienced where everyone staying has the same meal each morning. We found this to be an unexpected delight. Our trip to the Mohawk Valley was a personal "trip down memory lane" as I had spent many boyhood Summers in Mohawk staying with my grandparents. Visiting many of the spots I remembered from better than a half-century ago was great, and the Bellinger Rose made it especially nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greybeard2257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bellinger Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellinger Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 611 W German St, Herkimer, NY 13350-2106
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Herkimer
Price Range: £111 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bellinger Rose Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in this 1865 Victorian B&B in upstate NY. 4 unique antique-filled guest rooms, all with queen beds and private baths, some with jacuzzi tubs and in-room working fireplaces. Sauna, hottub and treadmill. Full breakfast by candlelight daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bellinger Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellinger Rose Bed & Breakfast Herkimer, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing