We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right off the Thruway. Best place in town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Certificate of Excellence
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Right off the Thruway. Best place in town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stay here for our annual business trip (every year since 2000). At least 3 nights per trip. Always a good night's rest! Even better since updating rooms. Friendly desk staff. They recommend great restaurants and fun activities. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    149
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
223
123
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I was in Herkimer visiting family and friends & stayed at the Herkimer Motel. From the moment I entered the inviting lobby, I was warmly greeted. When I entered my room, I was pleasantly surprised, was I in Herkimer? If I didn't know better I would have thought I was in a high end Hotel in NYC or San Francisco. The decor was impressive, the bed comfy & everything was clean and fresh. This is the only place you should stay and you won't regret it. The Herkimer Motel is a true
"Gem".

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyB_Vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spent two nights & I had made a mistake -reserving the wrong nights!- but the front desk clerks were very accomodating and took care of everything, very professional staff. I had read other reviews, some bad, but I think they referred to the smaller motel right on the highway. This place is set back from the road somewhat. Breakfast was good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Hotel was clean, staff was good, beds comfortable, shower good. I felt like I was in the movie "My Cousin Vinny"! The train that runs by the hotel is a real pain and will wake you up. However, there are not many options in this town. Denny's is right next door (if you are a Denny's fan). If you have to stay in Herkimer, bring your earplugs and you will be fine stayng here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpl0028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dansville, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stay here each time we are in the area and the motel is very clean and comfortable. The rooms have been updated and they offer a breakfast. The breakfast room is quite small so we usually meet local family members at the Denny's Restaurant. Their service is good and prices fair.

Room Tip: No elevator so you may want to request a first floor room if you are a senior citizen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

On what should have been a 11 hour haul back home we got caught in a snowstorm and had to stay the night somewhere just east of Utica, NY. We found the Herkimer Motel on TripAdvisor and also noticed it listed in a coupon book while at a rest stop and decided to give them a call (plus they are dog-friendly, which we needed). It was probably the best decision we could have made for a rate south of $70 for two adults and a dog. Very clean, some modern touches in the furniture and decor, and spacious. Front desk is polite and professional. Free continental breakfast and wi-fi seems pretty standard these days but still nice to see it provided. Small fitness center that we didn't use but that's available as well. I don't plan on stopping here anytime soon but if in the future I find myself needing to, I'll definitely stay at the Herkimer! Ask for a room closer to the front desk to help shield from the road noise. I-90 is probably about 60-70 yards from our room and we could hear the trucks zooming by in the early morning. It's not horrible but could bother the light sleeper...

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the front desk to help shield from the road noise. I-90 is probably about 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walls2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed here numerous times now on our trips between Maine and Michigan. We first stopped here simply because it was our halfway point and they allowed pets, but the rooms were clean, recently updated, and the service was great. We now stop every time we travel through and recommend it to anyone traveling out to Maine to visit us. We love the modern feel to the decor (no mauve floral bed spreads!), and the large mini fridge and microwave in the room. There's free breakfast, and they allow dogs for a small fee. It's conveniently close to the highway, but most importantly it's clean. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altenritterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
0.7 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
13.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
13.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Address: 100 Marginal Road, I-90 at Mohawk St, Herkimer, NY 13350 (Formerly Herkimer Motel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites is our new partner effective November 2104. The same ownership and staff will continue to offer the finest accommodations in the Mohawk Valley area of Upstate New York. Featuring free continental breakfast & our onsite 24 hour Denny's Restaurant, in-ground heated pool, fitness room, all smoke free rooms, handicap-accessible rooms available, remote-controlled Flat screen TVs with HBO, direct line phones with voicemail, free wireless high-speed internet, and coin-op laundry. We consistently provide "clean, comfortable, accommodations" to travelers in the friendly and historic Mohawk Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herkimer Motel And Suites
Herkimer Hotel Herkimer
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing