We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellllll......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2008

The hotel is being renovated a bit and was really clean. The price was ok. The train is REALLY close and VERY active. All considering I would stay there again with the exception of this one issue. We booked an adjoining room. It was vital that we stay in connecting rooms. I booked directly with the hotel. We confirmed twice and both times were assured we were all set. When we arrived we did not have adjoining rooms. I was told there was nothing that could be done and that I actually hadn't required the connecting room only requested it (this is untrue). The woman was very snippy and told me if I was not satisfied with my room she would refund me and I could look for a room someplace else.....this was not possible or I'd have done it on the spot. At check out I spoke with the woman who made the reservation for me. She tried to deny that I had required a certain room but when I showed proof she said "Oh look they whited out your room assignment and gave it to someone else....they shouldn't have done that." Hotel workers need to understand how important these issues are, especially when you are bringing young children with you.

Most everyone else at the hotel was great. This was a big sore spot.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank irishmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2008

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I decided to book 3 nights at this hotel and I am glad I did.

The hotel does have a heated swimming pool. The pool was out of commission for 1 day but what really impressed me was the fact that I received a phone call from the hotel a few days before I left to tell me that the pool was going to be closed for one day for repairs. How many places would do this. Very impressive.

I found that staff very helpful with directions and advice on places to eat (you really need to try Vinny's)

I would definitely stay here again (despite the double beds) and recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mtebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

The Herkimer Motel is an independently owned motel with very clean and updated rooms. (bug free) We have stayed here on two occasions and will be staying here whenever we are in the Herkimer area. The staff is friendly and the continental breakfast is well presented. This place makes an effort to deliver high quality accommodations. It is AAA rated and offers a 10% discount. Also, there is a Denny's restaurant next to the parking lot.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vinsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I am always a bit leery of staying in non "name brand" hotels/motels, especially in small towns. This was a thouroughly enjoyable experience though. We chose to stay here mostly because of other reviews on this site. They were accurate. The counter staff was freindly and informative, especially about local eateries. I requested a room away from the railroad tracks and was accommodated. Our room was very clean. Bathroom was spotless. There was some interstate traffcic noise but not enough to bother us, even at night. The nearby train was noticeable when it went by but not enough to disturb our sleep. The heated pool was comfortably warm and clean and crystal clear. Pool towels were a bit thin and small but that is really a very minor, nit-picky complaint. The motel was well booked during our stay but I never heard another room's shower or toilet. Either we had noone on either side of us (unlikely) or these rooms have very well insulated walls. I would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank netandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Herkimer Motel is conveniently located off the NY State Thruway. I stayed there for 3 nights and found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and welcoming. The rooms have microwaves, mini-fridges, and clean comfortable beds. Other nice commodities are a clean laundry room, an outdoor pool, and an exercise room with treadmills.

There is a Denny's restaurant within walking distance, but the hotel offers a free Continental Breakfast that includes cereals, juices, yogurt, bagels, and coffee. Herkimer has other restaurants (Applebees, pizza places) but they are more of a short driving distance away.

Some nearby attractions within driving distance are Herkimer Diamond Mines, the Erie Canal tours, and the beautiful Adirondack Mountains.

If you are a light sleeper or not use to traffic noises, you may find the sounds of Interstate traffic a little distracting, but there are rooms that face away from the Interstate to alleviate that problem. I highly recommend this motel to anyone who wants a good night's rest in a clean room while traveling or visiting in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MissGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Was originally booked at another Motel. that one turned out to be a dump.
I walked into Herkimer Motel, asked for a room and was greeted with smiles. they were gracious enough to accomodate me with the 2 nights I needed.
Room was very clean and spacious. Staff was very friendly. and Continential Breakfast was a bonus.
did not get to use weight room or pool but both also clean.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank tlp330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

We stayed here recently while driving across NY state. We checked in late, around midnight with no reservations and had no problems. This hotel looked better than the other two at this exit. It was a bit old and definitely not fancy, but the sheets were clean and the room was warm with hot water. The folks at the counter were friendly too.

There was a light complimentary breakfast, but we opted to get a heartier breakfast at Denny's, which is close by.

This place is a good for a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthEndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
0.7 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
72 reviews
13.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
532 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
748 reviews
13.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer

Address: 100 Marginal Rd, I-90 at Mohawk St, Herkimer, NY 13350-2306 (Formerly Herkimer Motel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Price Range: £59 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites is our new partner effective November 2104. The same ownership and staff will continue to offer the finest accommodations in the Mohawk Valley area of Upstate New York. Featuring free continental breakfast & our onsite 24 hour Denny's Restaurant, in-ground heated pool, fitness room, all smoke free rooms, handicap-accessible rooms available, remote-controlled Flat screen TVs with HBO, direct line phones with voicemail, free wireless high-speed internet, and coin-op laundry. We consistently provide "clean, comfortable, accommodations" to travelers in the friendly and historic Mohawk Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herkimer Motel And Suites
Herkimer Hotel Herkimer
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing