We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My family and I had to come to the area for a funeral and stayed at the motel. The staff were courteous, the room exceptionally clean and comfortable, and a nice breakfast in the morning. A great place to stay! I look forward to making a point to come back in the summer that way we can use their nice pool too!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_Rich123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    153
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
230
125
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greene, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed at the Herkimer Motel & Suites last February and again this January for a mandatory 4 week training at the Empire State Highway Association. I had a great experience last year and knew that my stay this year would be just as good. It is comforting knowing that when away from home you will be treated very well and do not have to worry about where you are staying. The staff was very welcoming this year and remembered not only me, but my dog as well. It's nice to know that they make the effort to get to know their travelers. My dog gets frequent treats from the front desk and the cleaning staff. She gets so excited every time we pull into the parking lot. The rooms are very clean and have everything that you need. I have never had a problem with noise level and it is very convenient to stop and get a quick bite to eat before going to training. And for you coffee drinkers there is always an ample supply of keurig k cups. I have to come for training one more year and have no qualms about staying at Herkimer Motel & Suites.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Yan, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We recently stayed at the herkimer Motel and Suites. The stay we had was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was remarkable, clean, and very roomy. I would suggest the Herkimer Motel to anyone that is staying in the upstate Ny area. The staff really makes you feel comfortable just like family. They know you by your name just not by the room number. Thanks for such good hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I wish I didn't have to give the motel any stars as it was that bad of a trip. The one good thing I can say about the motel is that it is clean -- now on with the bad. We stayed during January 2-3, 2014 (which temps were below zero) and we get back from dinner to fire alarms ringing and no heat. My husband and I went to the desk to inform the agent and she said "what do you want me to do about it". Finally, after many other rooms calling and coming to the desk -- she called the maintenance tech. While on the phone with him she said that the power company had to cut half of the power to the hotel but she made sure the credit card machine was still working in the office, heat in the office, and the tv. They gave us extra blankets and sent us on our way. Luckily-- we are in town for a family celebration so we had another room we could stay in (with family) that was a little more heated than our own. Over time that room got bitterly cold as well. We called down at 2 a.m. to see when the power would be on... since we were told by the front desk that it would be no later than 12 a.m. that it would now be possibly after 4 a.m. before the power came back on (with heat). I will be getting a full refund from this trip and reporting this horrible motel to the BBB and possibly the health department. The ignorance of the staff completely blows my mind. I would not recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Unfortunately, we did have extreme weather and cold on January 3, 2014. This caused our area to loose power at 8:30pm. We were fortunate that we still had 50% power. However, not enough power to operate our room heat pumps at 100% capacity.When I was notified, i contacted the power company and they said "hope to restore power by 10pm." While at the Motel, we relocated several guests to rooms that had most power. I did offer these guests, from South Carolina, the option of a full refund since their stay began on Thursday, but they declined. I also offered them to relocate for the evening, at my expense, to The Knights Inn with their other family members, they also declined and said they will just stay in the other room. I did find out that the power company was having difficulty getting work crews to our area because of the wide spread outages. Unfortunately, now it was estimated by 2am. This was passed on to the guests and that my offer still stands, but again they refused. Power was restored at 2:30am, and we did reimburse our guests the Friday night charges for both rooms. Of course, I wish it didn't happen, but did our best. We are very proud of our great reputation we have gained over the 50+ years of being here in Herkimer. Thank you, Paul Brown --General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed there on a roadtrip. Nice and simple. Good for the price we paid. Breakfast was ok. Walls are paper thin which was a problem because of the neighbors we had. Very clean though. Location was very convenient off the highway.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank walter_sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Va.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My goodness what a gem of a lodging! The Herkimer Motel has been remodeled and they did a spectacular job. We stayed there for four (4) nights over Christmas time. The place was beautifully decorated, both, outside and in. The desk person, Stephanie, was very friendly and cheerful and I immediately felt welcomed. Paul, the manager, was equally pleasant and friendly. The room was warm and clean. There was a coffee maker,microwave and refrigerator. The beds were firm and comfortable and the lighting was ambient and not, in your face. Bathroom was small, but, fully functional with more than enough towels. The new air system has both heat and cool in one unit and was not loud or intrusive. Mornings were greeted with free continental breakfast. The lobby has a reading nook and off the lobby was a workout room with TV. I could not have been happier!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeArida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Had another great stay at the Herkimer. I forgot to add one item the last time I rated the motel. The entire staff is great. One in particular, Gladys warned me in June about the road closures from the floods in the area. I was able to reach my destination with her directions instead of living for home. This last stay, a few of us had a suite. We were all digging at the Ace of Diamonds and were very dirty at the end of the day. In spite of that, our room was spotless each of the 6 days that we were there. This is a very clean and well maintained facility and I recommend the Herkimer to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARP1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
0.7 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
13.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
13.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
13.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Address: 100 Marginal Rd, I-90 at Mohawk St, Herkimer, NY 13350-2306 (Formerly Herkimer Motel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites is our new partner effective November 2104. The same ownership and staff will continue to offer the finest accommodations in the Mohawk Valley area of Upstate New York. Featuring free continental breakfast & our onsite 24 hour Denny's Restaurant, in-ground heated pool, fitness room, all smoke free rooms, handicap-accessible rooms available, remote-controlled Flat screen TVs with HBO, direct line phones with voicemail, free wireless high-speed internet, and coin-op laundry. We consistently provide "clean, comfortable, accommodations" to travelers in the friendly and historic Mohawk Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herkimer Hotel Herkimer
Herkimer Motel And Suites
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing