We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice for Woman Traveling Alone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Certificate of Excellence
New York Hudson Valley Region
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Woman Traveling Alone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

On the phone, I was pleased that Karen was able to give me a very reasonable rate with my AARP card and then, when I arrived, I was delighted to see that my room was only steps away from the lobby. As an older woman traveling alone, I felt very secure parking right outside my door and having the 24/7 staff just a few doors away. And right in that lobby was fresh coffee all day and night as well. The Euro room was certainly big enough for one - Wi-Fi was excellent and the lobby had magazines and books for reading either in your room or in their comfortable chairs and couches. Up a few steps was the breakfast room and the fitness center - again clean and inviting. A delightful stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    149
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
223
124
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Check-in was quick and efficient. The hotel room was clean and nice. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful. The train going by all night long is noisy, but with the room fan on, it helped block out the noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohawk, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This has been a pleasure staying here for past week.the The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean and well designed..as the other reviews state..Well run motel.. and the maid service is one of the best ...very friendly and I want to thank Gladys for making my stay so pleasant..

Room Tip: back rooms r best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had a great experience, hotel was clean friendly employees especially Maggie who was my housekeeper she did a great job keeping the room neat and clean. Went for a family gathering and she let me know of things to do and see with the family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Nyack, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here recently and I was very pleased with the entire motel as a whole. Just walking into the lobby I could tell this was a well cared for and well run establishment. Clean, spacious, comfortable. That is just the lobby but I will say the exact same things about the room I had as well. I wasn't expecting to have such an up to date, well appointed room. First let me say the room was immaculate. It was bright with lots of natural light and it looked and smelled clean and fresh. The decor is modern as well as the bedding. I didn't feel like I was going to be sleeping in bed sheets that were in use since the 1970's. The bed was very comfortable for sleeping. Nice flat screen TV with a decent selection of channels, and FREE wifi. The wifi connection was strong too, not some weak signal from across the parking lot. I used both the refrigerator and the microwave and both were very clean. My biggest impression of the place is that cleanliness is taken very seriously here. I like that. Especially at this price point, cleanliness is something that can be overlooked sometimes. That is definitely not the case here. Right off the Thruway and a Denny's you can walk to made this a really pleasant find. I make it up to central NY every few months and I will stay here again on my next trip. I have already recommended it to a friend of mine and I would recommend this place to friends and family members.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhbfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Once inside this motel, you know it is a very special place. The décor is very tastefully done and is to be found in the lobby as well as the rooms. The photos on their website are nice, but you really have to see it firsthand to appreciate the beauty of the place. Rebekah efficiently checked me in and was very professional, friendly and helpful. We were here only one night and chose this place because of its location. If this is the area you need to stay, you won't find a better place, especially at this value!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, RI
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Pulled in here late at night and was a little nervous about the motel at first glance. It is located right off the highway and in back of a Denny's restaurant and the layout is typical of an older style motel but they have done something here that should serve as a business model to motels everywhere. As soon as you walk in your room you feel like you are in a hotel. Rooms are clean and have that hotel feel. Felt like I was walking into the twilight zone and was pleasantly surprised. A fantastic value at less than $100 too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
0.7 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
13.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
13.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Address: 100 Marginal Road, I-90 at Mohawk St, Herkimer, NY 13350 (Formerly Herkimer Motel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites is our new partner effective November 2104. The same ownership and staff will continue to offer the finest accommodations in the Mohawk Valley area of Upstate New York. Featuring free continental breakfast & our onsite 24 hour Denny's Restaurant, in-ground heated pool, fitness room, all smoke free rooms, handicap-accessible rooms available, remote-controlled Flat screen TVs with HBO, direct line phones with voicemail, free wireless high-speed internet, and coin-op laundry. We consistently provide "clean, comfortable, accommodations" to travelers in the friendly and historic Mohawk Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herkimer Motel And Suites
Herkimer Hotel Herkimer
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing