We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place to stay for miles and miles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We ended up staying here for 5 nights of our 7 day vacation. It was the best place that we found with an hour an a half radius to stay. There were a lot of little things that made this a pleasant stay - when you see someone cleaning up the outside grounds every morning I think it's a good sign for the overall cleanliness of the whole motel.

Adam and Rebekah made the stay extra special with VERY friendly service and going that extra mile to make our stay perfect. A perfect place to come back to after a day of Mining for Herkimer Diamonds!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family, consisting of my two brothers my Mother and Father and me and my wife stayed at the hotel for 3 days. The rooms were nice but my parents are in there 90's and we were placed on the second floor with no elevator. When I asked about moving my parents to the ground floor due to there age I was told nothing could be done. Even if the hotel was full we were there before it filled up and something could have been done. The saving grace was the breakfast staff. They were very cheerful and diligent in there jobs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul b, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

I am very sorry we were not able to accommodate your request at check in. This is our busy time of year and we try our best to adjust guest needs as we can. Your request during the reservation was to keep all three rooms together and there was no request for the first floor requirement. Upon further review, we did not have 4 rooms together for the 3 days you requested on the first floor, so we did what we thought was best with what we knew. I do apologise for the situation, please contact me directly. 315 866 0490 Thank you Paul Brown, GMgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What a most pleasant experience we had when we stayed at the Herkimer Motel this week. After seeing the outside of what we thought was a small town motel, we opened the door to our room and was thoroughly impressed. Probably the cleanest, most well appointed motel room we have ever been in. The staff was extremely helpful and engaging. We will definitely stay there again when in that part of NYS. Congratulations to the owners and staff for providing one of the most pleasant experiences we've had while travelling.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for 2 night.hotel sits between interstate and railroad tracks. Located about 35 minutes from Glimmerglass opera and 45 min from Cooperstown. Paid $143/night.
Pros
Clean rooms and friendly staff. Beds reasonably comfortable with plenty of pillows.
Cons
You felt like there was a lot of corner cutting here. Shampoo was tiny, with soaps smaller than a half dollar. No body lotion. Breakfast was assorted cereals with instant oatmeal, bagels, some pretty decent muffins, and yogurt. No fruit of any kind. No milk cartons either. Milk was in a pitcher for all to share. There was a mini kitchen in the room, but no glasses or dishes. Bathroom sink was located inside room with toilet and sink, so only one person could use bathroom facilities at a time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank notravelsurprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to this room. when we drove up it looked like a small neighborhood motel. we arrived very early and expected to have to wait a few hours to get our room. Stephany said there was one room available that we could have. it was a great room! large enough for two double or maybe queen beds, a desk and chair, a leather club chair, dresser, flat screen tv, table with 2 chairs, a microwave and frig and coffeemaker. too bad we were only staying one night. if it hadn't been for the really long trains passing by, the herkimer motel and suites would be a perfect little treasure.

Room Tip: no elevator, and rooms on the side away from the office are probably quietest - farthsst from the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhyllisK392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I grew up in the Mohawk Valley so had "inside information" that this was the best motel in the valley and my sources proved to be very reliable. I did my reservations on line and the web site was easy to maneuver. the room was booked without consequence. On arrival , our room was ready and perfect. The rooms are well-appointed , clean with pleasant decor. the bathroom was pristine and the beds very comfortable. The motel was very quiet and we slept well without issue. The motel has been newly renovated and has a fresh , inviting quality. the rooms are equivalent to a high level chain but with a delightful , home town vibe. The pool was exquisite and well maintained. the breakfast was plentiful,with several choices . the location is , of course, wonderful with easy access to route 90 and close to town. the staff are helpful and professional. if you are planning a trip to the Mohawk Valley and have reservations about staying in an independent hotel, don't. this has all of the amenities of a high end chain, with the warmth of a charming inn. you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tammi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It's right off the interstate and next to a railroad. Needed earplugs for sleeping. The bathroom in our suite was extremely small, the refrigerator was extremely loud. It was clean, had plenty of electrical outlets, beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PFATMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herkimer
0.7 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#2 of 4 in Herkimer
72 reviews
13.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
532 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Little Falls
Travelodge Little Falls
#1 of 1 in Little Falls
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
748 reviews
13.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer

Address: 100 Marginal Rd, I-90 at Mohawk St, Herkimer, NY 13350-2306 (Formerly Herkimer Motel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Herkimer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Price Range: £59 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites is our new partner effective November 2104. The same ownership and staff will continue to offer the finest accommodations in the Mohawk Valley area of Upstate New York. Featuring free continental breakfast & our onsite 24 hour Denny's Restaurant, in-ground heated pool, fitness room, all smoke free rooms, handicap-accessible rooms available, remote-controlled Flat screen TVs with HBO, direct line phones with voicemail, free wireless high-speed internet, and coin-op laundry. We consistently provide "clean, comfortable, accommodations" to travelers in the friendly and historic Mohawk Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herkimer Hotel Herkimer
Herkimer Motel And Suites
Red Roof Inn & Suites Herkimer New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing