We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Adagio house is fabulous - perfect for friends on a weekend getaway.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 High Falls B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed Whispering Pines this past weekend - renting the Adagio house which is a separate house on the property. It is exquisite - fabulous finishings, fireplace, deck with bbq. The kitchen is stylish and well appointed. HD and Celia made us right at home.
It is also a quick 2 1/2 drive from Manhattan to blissfully quiet place that seems constructed to exude relaxation. We are definitely planning to head back up there soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbgb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2009

Celia and HD run a wonderful small inn. The outdoor environment surrounding the inn lush and peaceful. There is a huge outdoor deck with a hot tub, dinning tables and lounge chairs to just put your feet up after a day of hiking, golf or just puttering around Highfalls or New Paltz.

Our room was nicely appointed without being stuffy. We even had a jacuzzi in the bedroom. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious with lots of fresh fruit, muffins, eggs, french toast etc. We went to Woodstock within a 40 minute drive for a play. We look forward to escaping NY City again this summer to Whispering Pines.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyhotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I just spent the weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed myself with my girlfriend. Not only are the rooms great for a romantic getaway, but the area is gorgeous and the breakfast was second to none. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank aharonhabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

This was a wonderful stay. We went for our one year aniversary and it couldn'thave been nicer. The breakfast was great and always plenty to go around. The location was beautiful, set off in the woods with plenty of little glens and streams to go exploring. Close to many walking/hiking trails, and some great restaurants. Very friendly and comfortable. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rx_eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

This was our second stay at Whispering Pines. We came back after having thoroughly enjoyed our previous visit. The grounds are beatiful--easy walking on long driveway, through woods, lightly traveled local road; large hot tub on deck. Our room was beautiful and comfortable in every aspect. Breakfast was extremely generous with gorgeous fresh fruit, home baked breads and cakes, delicious eggs one day, french toast the next ; very good coffee; many other choices. The shared living room with fire place is inviting and comfortable, with books, videos, dvds, information about local attractions. Bedrooms and living room have many beautiful touches, art and artifacts. We remember wonderful landscaping from our first visit, in summer. Celia and H.D. are kind, friendly, helpful hosts. We look forward to going back again and again. What we liked best: everything. What we liked least: we have absolutely no criticisms or complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

As we enter the doorway there were boxes of movies on the chair. A binder that was falling apart that had menus of local places to eat. I booked for the starlight room and was disappointed in the size and how run down the place looked. The furniture in the room wasn't rustic...it was downright trash! The VCR/DVD player balanced on the edge of a low table; with a note saying to be careful not to knock it over. Paint pealing off the wall in the bathroom which only consisted of a toilet and sink. Bathroom had a note to be careful not to let the toilet run...to jingle the handle to stop it if it does. A jacuzzi in the bedroom but no shower. You have to use the hand shower inside the jacuzzi. The jacuzzi on the deck was broken. There is no TV reception and no radio in the room. I was alright with all this...after all my boyfriend and I just wanted to get a away from it all. HOWEVER....the mouse trap in the room did it for me! We asked for our money back; Celia threw our money onto the table as we were leaving and walked away! I felt as if I was intruding or an unwelcome guest in this house. I've been to a lot of B&B's and this was the worst experience ever! We left and got a hotel room in New Paltz for half the price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NyKrazydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seupel, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2009

We LOVE our wonderful guests, but occasionally someone just plain silly visits us. "Krazy Daisy" and her boyfriend left with a Full Refund after a 10 minute stay (in which they managed to use both the bed and the bathroom) because Ms. "KrazyDaisy" was disturbed by an overlooked, empty mousetrap in their second floor room. I tried to explain to Ms. "KrazyDaisy" that there has NEVER been a mouse in the room, but she didn’t seem to care. There had been a mouse in our basement, which we caught. (What part of a B&B “in the woods” did Ms. "KrazyDaisy" not understand? There are deer and raccoon and wild turtles around here, too!) My husband put traps in all the guest rooms at the time, just in case, even though it turned out to be unnecessary, and I just did not see the empty trap when I cleaned the room. For that, I am deeply sorry. Ms. KrazyDaisy’s hysterical departure was, I felt, rather over the top. The menu binder? It's not falling apart, it's a folder with loose menus in it! I am sorry Ms. KrazyDaisy didn't like us, but she is reaching for things to criticize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

We have stayed in many B@B's all over the country from rustic to posh. We booked for a week ,however, we were so uncomfortable from the depressing vibe by the Innkeepers....it made us homesick! The breakfast was good the first morning ,however, it became a selection of leftovers for the rest of our stay! We feared for our safety too....the smoke alarms were not working! When we asked the Innkeepers about the alarms, they just laughed it off like it was no big deal....they never replaced the batteries or repaired the alarm! Beware, they might advertise it as rustic.....but not unsafe,depressing, and run down. It might be good for one night ,but be careful the (Innkeepers) disfunction will creep up on you!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank 1artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seupel, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2009

This room (the Forest Room) is no longer for rent because, although many people liked it, several people called it "gloomy." We are surprised and sorry these folks didn't enjoy their stay; they never mentioned anything was wrong. Note their room cost them only $60 per night for four of their nights, and their weekday Continental breakfast included a big bowl of fresh fruit, a choice of five cereals, English muffins w/butter & gourmet jellies, fresh coffee cake, coffee, tea, juice, & milk, just as advertised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Falls
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
185 reviews
6.7 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
332 reviews
3.0 mi away
ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 6 in Stone Ridge
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
1.8 mi away
Captain Schoonmakers
Captain Schoonmakers
#3 of 6 in High Falls
106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hasbrouck House
Hasbrouck House
#3 of 6 in Stone Ridge
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast

Address: 60 Cedar Hill Rd, High Falls, NY 12440-5200
Region: United States > New York > High Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in High Falls
Price Range: £167 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous modern airy home in the quiet woods is available to rent by the week or for weekends. Only 2 hrs from NYC, 3 miles from Mohonk Mountain House and 15 min. to downtown New Paltz. 4 bdrms, 3 baths, fully equipped kitchen, + deck. Next to Whispering Pines B&B if more rooms are needed. Near Mohonk Preserve, Minnewaska State Park, golf, restaurants, shopping, lakes, mountains. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing