We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 High Falls B&B and Inns
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 13 August 2006

We stayed in the Cherry Wood room for a long weekend. It had beautiful hardwood floors and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge with an oversized jacuzzi and stained glass window. Our host was very helpful in helping us plan our day trips and evenings out; he was available without being intrusive. The common room had comfy leather couches under a vaulted ceiling with skylights. There were pamphlets and books on a table, which we used several times to find our way around and make the most of our time. We plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elspith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    1
    0
    7
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Our stay at the Whispering Pines was a truly awful experience. We stayed in the Forest Room, an extremely depressing, clausterphobic room with extremely cheap furniture (the knobs were broken in our wardrobe), unvacuumed cheap carpet, dingy curtain, and absolutely NO sense of decor at all - all for a rip-off price of $110 per night. When my friend was opening the window, the hatch fell off and broke on his head. When another guest was opening the sliding door to the back, the door almost fell out and fell on him. When we told the owner, he just said "OK" and that was the end of that. The owners leave EVERYTHING to the guests and put it all under the guise of "We respect your privacy so we won't intrude on you". As a matter of fact, they're just being "lazy" or carrying on with their lives with no concern for their guests. You enter the guest house with a "note" (the owners are nowhere to be found) welcoming you and telling you "We're going to be in and out all day, but please make yourselves at home" and tell you where your room is. Once in, we did not know where the closest restaurant was, and we looked around for the owners for some advise, and they were nowhere to be found. They welcome you to "make your own fire" (another do-it-yourself because they can't be bothered...)if you want to enjoy the ambiance of the living room, which was nothing more than a messy room with breakfast tables scattered around and brochures for us to look through, and CD's stacked along the stairs. The owners basically do nothing for you. All over the rooms, they have notices and instructions printed in plain paper, and posted with scotch tape - so you feel like you're in a public government office with notices everywhere - unbelievably cheap!!! The owners had the audacity to leave their vacuum and mop in our "private" bathroom. And the garbage baskets were lined with plastic bags that you get in grocery stores (the bags even had writing on it!!) On top of this, we stayed there for two days and they did not bother even to make the beds for us the next day. We came back to dishevelled beds and dirty towels on our second day. And finally, on our last day, the lady owner was walking around in her dressing gown, telling us she's not feeling well but don't forget to give her our credit cards. I couldn't believe that she would walk around like that while she has paying guests. These people should not be in the hospitality business, they give B&B's a bad name. Our experience there is one that we would sooner forget. DON'T GO TO THIS B&B; it's a nightmare, it's cheap, and a rip-off!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2006

The Whipsering Pines was exactly what we were looking for in a Catskills B&B. The grounds are secluded and astonishingly quiet, and the home is clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. We stayed in the Forest Room, which, though the smallest of the rooms, was lovely and incredibly cozy, and we would definitely choose that room again. We loved the bathrobes and slippers, and of course, the outdoor hot tub. The food was also delicious, and we appreciated that we could sleep late and still be served a fresh breakfast. Thanks, Celia and HD!

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2006

One of the highlights of our recent vacation in the US was our overnight stay at the Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast. We experienced exactly what we viewed in their website: beautifully appointed rooms in a very quaint cottage out in the serenity of the woods.

Chatting in front of the fireplace, listening to beautiful music, dipping in the hot tub under the freezing evening weather, sleeping so comfortably in the Cherry room which my wife and I chose and in the Forest room where our 3 children in their 20's stayed, enjoying a hearty continental breakfast, strolling in the woods and playing with the two friendly dogs were really envigorating.

This is such a wonderful place to spend quality family time in a very relaxing tranquil atmosphere whose innkeepers are so helpful.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 January 2006

If you are truly looking for a quiet, secluded getaway in the woods, this is your place. We had a wonderful time relaxing in front of the fireplace or lounging in our room watching a movie. The hot tub in our room under the skylight was therapeutic. Our hotess kept everything running smoothly but at the same time provided us with the privacy we desired.We hated to leave.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 December 2005

We travel a lot, and have never seen such a depressing place to stay. There are great bnb's in the area (Sparrow Hawk is lovely, among others) to choose nearby. Our rate included breakfast. When I asked the proprietor what they'd have, she said mostly cereal during the week. I told her I was lactose intolerant and asked if they had soy or rice milk. She suggested I bring my own. Also, shared bathroom upstairs has a toilet that runs and runs and the TV's have no reception AT ALL. Room was tiny and claustrophobic with FOREST GREEN wall to wall carpet with a sliver of a window with dingy curtain. This place is run-down and depressing and the owners of Whispering Pines leave much to be desired. They should not be in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owners at Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 December 2005
We are very sorry that these guests were unhappy with their accommodations at Whispering Pines. We work very hard to create a beautiful, comfortable getaway, and feel that the comments are not only unjust but also untrue. These guests came and left in the middle of the night, so they never saw our B&B in the day. Whispering Pines is kept very clean and is specifically landscaped with our front porch, yard & gardens, and our huge back deck, to enhance the natural beauty of the surrounding forest. This guest asked extensive questions about our rooms and chose our lowest rate room ($110 a night on weekends); and she was specifically told that the Forest Room has one window, because she asked about it before she made her reservation! In addition, our web site displays an accurate picture of this forest green, 13 foot by 14 foot bedroom with sloping, knotty pine ceiling and white designer bedding -- we think it's beautiful! Our website also explains that we don't have TV reception here and that we supply an extensive movie collection instead. When asked if I could supply a specific kind of rice milk, with which I was not familiar, I suggested that she bring some and I would serve it to her at breakfast. We do not serve "mostly cereal" at breakfast; a typical breakfast, for example, includes omelets or cinnamon-glazed Challah bread French toast with hot fruit compote, fresh fruit, melons and pineapple, homemade coffee cake, fresh bakery breads, gourmet cheeses, and yes, a choice of 6 or 7 cereals. These guests would not know this, however, because they came and left without telling us or even leaving a note, and were not there to eat the breakfast I prepared for them the next morning -- before I realized they were gone! This guest refused to pay her cancellation fee and was very angry when I suggested that it would be appropriate for her to do so. We are sorry that these guests were disappointed, but it seems to us that they were treated well and were given every opportunity to see exactly what Whispering Pines was like before they came.
Sincerely,
Celia & HD Seupel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2005

This four room bed and breakfast in the woods provided the lovely getaway we needed. First, the rooms - we stayed in the Starlight Room and enjoyed it, but should we return, we would stay in the bigger Cherry Room. Though the Cherry Room is off the dining and common area, it is spacious and has a separate shower and large Jacuzzi bath. The Starlight Room is more cozy with a private Jacuzzi tub right in the room that has a handheld shower head (so you'd better be intimate with who you're staying with, as the tub is not enclosed!). The Starlight Room also has a private bath. The Pine Room, off the front door on the 1st floor, seems nice and has a private bathroom, but the Forest Room's (2nd floor) bathroom is down the hall. There's a Jacuzzi out back which we didn't check out. The innkeepers, Celia and HD are helpful yet unintrusive - they stock the main room with brochures, newspapers, menus, helpful hints, etc. and are available, but leave you to your independence. Their 2 outdoor dogs are friendly, well-behaved and also not intrusive - in fact, we looked forward to coming back and having them greet us! The breakfasts were delicious, homemade and plentiful - incorporating fresh foods and produce. Note that they discourage eating in your rooms, we had brought a cooler of snacks and drinks and anytime we ate, we came downstairs, no big deal. Also, you get no TV reception here, but each room comes equipped with a TV/vcr and there's a big video library; having no TV was a nice escape. The location is nicely situated within 2 miles of High Falls and a few miles of New Paltz. Be sure to follow the directions (esp when they say to track mileage) on their website exactly - it is easy to miss turns and get lost in the woods. We hiked at both Mohonk Preserve and Lake Minnewaska, ate at good restaurants in the neighboring towns (check out Egg's Nest!), shopped at Crafts People in Hurley (easier than going to miscellaneous pottery studios on the Pottery Trail) and (since we were on the Shawangunk Wine Trail) visited a winery (Rivendell). Overall, a pleasant retreat (much more harmonious to us than the nearby overpriced, jacket-requiring Mohonk Mountain House!)

Helpful?
2 Thank sharopooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Falls
6.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.6 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Stone Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast

Property: Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast
Address: 60 Cedar Hill Rd, High Falls, NY 12440-5200
Region: United States > New York > High Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in High Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous modern airy home in the quiet woods is available to rent by the week or for weekends. Only 2 hrs from NYC, 3 miles from Mohonk Mountain House and 15 min. to downtown New Paltz. 4 bdrms, 3 baths, fully equipped kitchen, + deck. Next to Whispering Pines B&B if more rooms are needed. Near Mohonk Preserve, Minnewaska State Park, golf, restaurants, shopping, lakes, mountains. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing