We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation!”
Review of Clove Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clove Cottages
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Noah and Michelle, thank you so much for a wonderful time we had at your cottage. It was the perfect, serene, pet friendly vacation for my husband, Oreo and I. We enjoyed the hiking, swimming, the farmer's market and cooking the fresh vegetables on the outdoor grill. We enjoyed your Llamas and chickens too. Most importantly I learned how easy it is to compost. I plan to do some composting back home once I figure out how to organize the containers. I hope to be back. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbarbosa462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you are heading to enjoy the Monhonk preserve area for its rock claiming, biking, swimming, hiking, and good food - Clove Cottages will put you at the center of it all for a fair price.
The cottages are small, and spartan. The AC tiny and TV even tinier. - But you came for the great outdoors NOT to watch a movie.
The kitchen is equipped so that all you bring is the perishables and use the toaster, BBQ or cook top to cook your own meals or drive to a neat restaurants in the area (20 to 30 minutes drive)

The owners are very environmentally conscious and would expect you to follow the recycling, reducing and reusing sensibilities they follow. If you are a die hard city sleeker and like to leave a trail of plastic trash behind you skip this place. If you are into composting, taking quick showers and reducing your carbon footprint than this is your place.

Go hike, or bike or go have dinner at New Paltz or go to the co-op market and buy some fresh bacon it tastes so much better when you eat it on your porch gazing at the starts, hearing the owl and watching fire flies lights flicker like Paparazzi - and kick back and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Michelle is a great host. The cottages are very clean, environment friendly and quaint. Highly recommend to anyone looking to spend a few nights around New Paltz. I recommend dinner at the Northern Spy Cafe and checking out Lake Minnewaska.

Room Tip: Breakfast is not included with the reservation but Michelle has some very good home made granola in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhupesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Was delighted with my stay at Clove Cottages. Situated on a quiet country road close to Minnewaska and Mohunk, the setting is quintessentially peaceful. Hosts Michelle and Noah are obviously dedicated to living a green, compassionate lifestyle: caring for their immediate environment(mostly solar powered, off the grid, composting, recycling), their traditional companion animals(who are rescues)and less traditional companion animals:the charming llamas and contented chickens. I loved the way Michelle moved some spiders from inside the welcome room to out of doors rather than harming them.The well water was the best I've had since the glacier in the Wrangells.The cottage was clean, comfortable and cozy. Homemade granola was delicious. Coffee so good I switched from morning tea. Nice porch for sitting in warmer weather. Great tin roof for rainy times. If you bring your dog, as I did, Rock Hill Road is great for for your morning walk.

Room Tip: All cottages appear to be lovely. I stayed in blue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

An amazing place to stay! Clean, comfortable, and quiet. The location is perfectly nested in a beautiful neighborhood next to Minnewaska lake, Mohonk preserve, lots of farms for fresh veggies and fruits, and cute towns to visit such as Newpaltz or Woodstock. The cottage grounds are beautiful and with a nice deck and chairs outside your cottage, a great place to sit and relax and just enjoy the natural surroundings. Michelle and Noah are great hosts. They provide a great handbook that tells all about the area and gives directions, have a multitude of travel books and maps, and DVDs to watch in the evening. The cottage grounds are eco-friendly, running on mostly solar power, recycling and composting, and using well water. They provide hot delicious scones delivered to your door on Saturday (or Sunday) morning, home made soaps, cleaners, and granola. I will definitely go back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I am another of the Central Park Pack with Savoy BL below. BL captured the details of Clove Cottages so well that all I have to say is ditto to all the lovely homemade touches such as the soap, the granola,the delicious coffee, and the perfect scones on Sunday morning. We could not get over the friendliness and patience of Michelle and Noah. The joy of being in such a beautiful and pet friendly environment with dear friends and dogs never ceased to amaze us. The early morning walks in the woods before breakfast were an especially happy way to start the day. We were constantly grateful for the opportunity. We will definitely be back next summer...or...maybe the fall for the changing of the leaves...or...maybe the spring for the new leaves...or maybe all. It was a treat, and we thank you. And yes, it was the best peach pie ever from Saunderskill Farm Market.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChloeJustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Six friends, with our six dogs visited Clove Cottages together. The grounds are gorgeous, and the hosts are absolutely lovely people who went out of their way to make our stay great. I love Michelle's soap, and, as a coffee snob who grinds my own beans and so on, was delighted with the excellent coffee that was in the cabins.

I love that they have solar energy, that Michelle makes the most amazing soap I ever used (and sells it so I could take a bunch home), and that they made and delivered hot scones on Sunday morning. The resident llamas and chickens were a great touch too.

Most of the cottages were charming and in good shape. However, there is no air-conditioning in the bedrooms. The AC in the living area is expected to cool the bedrooms, and mine certainly was not adequate during the heat of July. There were fans provided, so it was ok, but they really need AC in the bedrooms.

We used the white house as our central gathering place, cooked and ate our meals there and enjoyed the big porch with its glorious views.

The hiking trail on the grounds is great, and leads to swimming hole. But the real treat was nearby Spring Farms Trailhead at Mohonk Preserve where the trails were wide and the views amazing.

Local shopping was terrific, especially the food coop and the local farm stand that made the best peach pie on the planet.

We came home feeling relaxed, refreshed, and happy. Our dogs had the time of their lives. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavoyBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Falls
3.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
5.5 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
14.0 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Cottages

Property: Clove Cottages
Address: 200 Rock Hill Rd, High Falls, NY 12440-5442
Region: United States > New York > High Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in High Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cottages were built in the 1930's. Renovations have retained their charm and history. They are peaceful & private with a comfortable distance between each of them and our home on nine acres. Mature trees shade each cottage with meadows and mountains in every direction. Each cottage has its own kitchen, bathroom, heater, A/C, TV/VCR, DVD, CD player (sorry, no T.V. Service). WIFI onsite. Sheets, bath towels and our homemade soap are provided, as well as our homemade granola, teas, fresh ground organic coffee. On Sunday morning we deliver fresh baked scones to your cottage. You'll find the cottage clean and the beds made, ready for you to settle in and enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clove Cottages Hotel High Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing