We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Weekend Getaway Spot”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Arbor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 High Falls B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2009

My boyfriend and I just spent the weekend with Nancy and Bootsey at The Arbor - what a relaxing and cute little place. Nancy is the most gracious hostess, the rooms are clean and inviting (we stayed in the Green Room) and the breakfast was the best I've had in a long time (her rosemary shortbread cookies are addictive). Just a short walk (literally two blocks to "downtown") to the heart of town, you can check in, enjoy a cup of tea and the paper on the porch, then walk down for lunch at one of the cute cafes and then shop! Gregory at the Blue Cashew is an inviting and chatty proprietor and will most definitely ask you to say hi to Nancy for him. We planned our next visit even before we left!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samenatalierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2008

This is such a great place to stay, I almost hate to let the word out -- but Nancy (the owner) is so great, I'd love for her to get lots and lots of business. So here goes. The Arbor B&B is a lovely house right in the middle of everything you could ever want to do in High Falls, but feels like you're way out in the country, removed from everything. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated and you immediately get that thank-god-I'm-out-of-NYC feeling. We've not only enjoyed our stay there, but we've met some wonderful people while we've been there -- cookbook writers and eco-sensitive engineers, artists and musicians, to name a few. Nancy, the owner, is so easy-going and pleasant, we've spent lots of time just hanging out catching up with her, and we always feel that seeing her again is like reconnecting with an old friend. Plus, the breakfasts are amazing -- Nancy's a wonderful cook and every morning is a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GlobeWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

I first visited this wonderful old house (with every modern convenience) while a guest at Mohonk Mountain House, and next time we'll skip staying at Mohonk and stay here for the chance to visit with the delightful, artistic and very cool innkeeper Nancy, enjoy the peace and simple but beautiful vintage decor, and get to experience real true personal service.

High Falls is kind of a magical little town, just a handful of eclectic stores and restarants and a potter's gallery not to be missed. I visited with my 6-year old daughter who was accommodated at the Arbor with kind attention, art supplies and encouragement, some very fine children's books, flashlights, etc. We hung out for hours at Vaughn the potter's gallery, got to feed his chickens and love his cats, and help make a vase, after a fashion.

Arbor house has sunny rooms, very comfortable beds, immaculately clean, kimonos, great homemade breakfast... even wireless internet. My favorite B&B, ever.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank momandaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2008

We stayed two nights at the Arbor B&B, traveling up from Manhattan. It was just what we were looking for: quiet, romantic and personal. We were looking for a private getaway and this fit the bill perfectly.

Bed:
The room was comfortable and subtly decorated. The bed was comfy with six pillows. We chose one without an attached bath as it was more affordable.

Breakfast:
Nancy is an amazing cook. Both mornings we had home-baked cranberry bread with butter and two types of preserve, fresh coffee, orange juice, and toast. Skillfully prepared omelets the first morning and an out-of-this-world baked egg dish the second morning.

Dining:
There are five restaurants within easy walking distance that range from upscale, to quaint to quirky.

Overally, Nancy was really sweet and helpful. She gave us great directions to get to Lake Minnewaska State Park and filled us in on some of the history of High Falls.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

Winter, Spring, Summer, or Fall--a charming place in every season. My family stayed there every weekend for 8 months while building our house. The lady of the house is a great host and great cook (and an amazing landscape designer). Very friendly atmosphere, elegantly furnished rooms with crisp white linens and extra pillows (this is key!). You won't need an alarm clock here as the delicious aroma of freshly baked breads and cookies permeates the air, calling you down as if to say "breakfast is ready!" Oatmeal pancakes, baked eggs, omelets, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea etc...So call up, reserve, and get pampered!

Stayed: January 2007
Thank cocomcdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

I have stayed at the arbor about 4-5 times, and every experience has been perfect. A great weekend escape from NYC. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is delicious. I will continue to visit each year....

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

LOVE THE ARBOR! I can't say enough! Nancy is the best. From an organic breakfast (she even accommodated my boyfriend's sleeping in until noon... at least!) to great clean rooms with awesome sheets - we had a great time to say the least!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KatieDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Arbor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arbor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 44 Mohonk Rd, High Falls, NY 12440-5206
Region: United States > New York > High Falls
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in High Falls
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing