We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Would Restaurant

Would Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Would Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Highland
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Would Restaurant has two unique dining rooms, our front room has a working fireplace, for romantic fireside dining during those cold winter nights. Enjoy our full service bar,relax with a Specialty Martini/Cocktail, Beer on Tap or your favorite glass of wine. Our back dining room is perfect for private parties & with windows to let the sun shine in during the summer. Our Dinner Menu offers a wide variety of appetizers, salads, pasta, beef, lamb, fish, poultry, & vegetarian. Tuesday-Thursday try the Prix Fix Menu for $21, feel like a burger or sandwich with fries ? ask your server for our Bistro menu. December is we have a special Winter Wonderland display through out, great for Holiday Celebrations. Let's head outdoors where during the warm summer month you can enjoy Patio dining. Our Garden Pavilion is like a chameleon, it changes to fit your Special Event, Wedding Ceremony, Family or Class Reunion, Sweet Sixteen, any Celebration you can create.We hope to see you soon at THE WOULD
Rye, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

What a disappointment. We had read good reviews about The Would and were expecting a good meal. That didn't happen. The bread only sweet, one with cinnamon and the other a soft sweet bread. We usually expect a nice baguette or Italian style in a good restaurant. The arrugula salad was nice but that was it. We also had the beef barley soup. The soup and barley were ok but the chewy pieces of beef tasted like they were from a can. We ordered duck breast, which was supposed to be medium rare but came out medium well. The duck meat was tough, although the sauce was nice. The other entree we ordered was the skirt steak, again ordered medium rare, but this time was almost raw. Wouldn't ask for more fire on it, because it came pre-sliced and any attempt to cook it more would make it over-done. However, that wouldn't be worth it anyway, the meat was as tough as shoe-leather. The vegetables on the side, don't ask. A few string-beans were tough, but at least probably fresh. The other vegetable was corn kernels that must have come from a can, possibly frozen, but certainly not fresh. I was hoping being located in farm country fresh vegetables would be expected. One positive, the wine list contained fairly priced selections.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W, Owner at Would Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We are very sorry for your experience. We work very hard to serve the freshest ingredints and we certainly do not use frozen vegetables. Please feel free to contact us or stop in so we can try to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in the Highland/Poughkeepsie area”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had an excellent dinner at The Would recently and were impressed by the quality of the food and the thoughtful service. The atmosphere was relaxed and a bit retro, with white tableclothes and a busy bar area. Our party of four enjoyed pasta, pork and fish entrees. The appetizers of shrimp rolls and salads were also delicious. We concluded our meal with yummy desserts. Though a bit off the beaten track, The Would is easily accessible from the Poughkeepsie area. It's just over the Mid-Hudson bridge and well worth the short drive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank betty485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Falls, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A great Place for our after Christmas Christmas party.”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Would is always a destination place for me personally!
Claire, Deb,Lisa and Thomas and all the Would staff made our post Christmas Christmas party such an event! There were 18 of us very happy people.The wine selections were amazing. The food is fresh creative and delicious.
The Christmas decorations were so festive and beautiful which just added to the magic we always experience at The Would. Thank you so much for always taking such good care of us!!
I keep thinking about that desert....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“New Year's celebration”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We went with friends on New Year's Eve because we always love the Would. Thought service would be slow for such a busy night but our meal was paced just right. The food was great - prime ribs, talapia and short ribs. Large portions and well prepared. We didn't expect to stay until midnight but we were enjoying ourselves so much that we rang in the New Year there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, New York
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I am so glad that The Would exists; It brings an element of class to Highland that would not be there without it. The food is always amazing, the atmosphere is great and relaxing, and the staff is very welcoming! What would Highland do without The Would?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Would Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing