We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!”
Review of Inn at Twaalfskill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Twaalfskill
Ranked #2 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We already knew what a great area the Hudson Valley is, but we like it even more after two nights here. The attention Nancy has paid to every detail in refurbishing this beautiful home is amazing. Combine that with great breakfasts, her good travel advice and an uncanny ability to make people feel welcome, and we'll be returning as soon as we can get our family to watch the kids again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchieppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2008

Thanks to the helpful reviews here on Trip Advisor I was able to narrow my search down to a few inns in the New Paltz area. Based on the glowing reviews of Inn at Twallfskill I decided to have our little getaway there. So glad I did! Nancy, the innkepper, is a perfectly gracious and super-accomodating host. The inn is beautifully decorated and just as comfortable and cozy. They seem to have thought of everything when it comes to the details and class abounds at this wonderful gem! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ilovehbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

The Inn was fresh, and tastefully decorated. The room was very nice and the bathroom was fabulous. We felt this Inn had been well thought out by people that had themselves travelled and stayed in B&B / Inns, and we were correct in this assumption. I wish the driveway was a bit better marked,. A very attractive shrub concealed it as we approached at night. (See, Nancy, that is the only thing we could critisize) If staying here, you might take the train to NYC for a visit, but by all means make advanced reservations for dinner or lunch at the Culinary Institute of America! It's Disneyland for Foodies. We will definately return to this Inn.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank sosousme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

We stayed at the Inn at Twaalfskill in the beginning of March 2008, for one night just to get away from the city. The house is beautifully decorated and the pictures on the website are what convinced me this is the place I wanted to stay.
Nancy the Inn keeper was very helpful in providing places to go for dinner. We ate at a place fairly close called Would. It was delicious and a great recommendation.
I would recommend this place to anyone needing a quiet get away... Beds are SO comfortable I acutally wrote down the info off of the mattress!!
Centrally located to so many historic sites there isnt a shortage of things to do!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank smarti25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

What a fantastic yearend get away treat. The house was beautifully decorated, nothing forgotten to bring in the Christmas spirit thoughout.

We spent evenings by the fire, slept like babies and awoke to a wonderful breakfast.

A rare opportunity to experience a beautifully restored, spacious and comfortable victorian home with an authentic European touch.

The home is in a central location and we were warmly welcomed and well cared for. We will definitely return.

Thanks Nancy!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Babikramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

We stayed at the Twaalfskill Inn in Highland, NY for a weekend in October. Overall, our stay was really nice. The owner was gracious and helpful with recommendations and directions to attractions. When we arrived, we were a little surprised to see that the driveway is shared with the house next door and it's not as private as it appears from the website. It is set back from the street so there is no drive by noise though which is more important to us. The building itself is beautiful, our room was lovely, and our bed was extremely comfortable! Not to mention the gorgeous bathroom. The complimentary wet bar is an added bonus and there are always snacks and little treats out to nibble on. Breakfast each day was delicious. The location is perfect for wine tasting and central to most of the area's attractions. In addition to wine tasting, we went to the Vanderbilt Estate (which we loved) and to Rhinebeck for shopping and lunch. If you're looking for somewhere with night life, this is not the place for you. If you're looking to relax and wine taste, bike, antique, eat good food (the Culinary Institute of America is about 15 minutes away), and take long pretty drives, I recommend this Inn without reservation. If you go, be sure to check out the sink in the first floor bathroom...it's fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JMR5122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

We stayed for only one night to see the fall foliage, but it was a memorable stay. The interior of the house is charming with a lot of nice homey touches. Our room was tastefully furnished and the red bathroom was roomy and fabulous. The porch is great with comfy chairs and the blankets were a nice touch. Nancy, the innkeeper, was as hospitable as possible. She helped us with dinner reservations and the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was beautifully served. I can't say enough nice things about this B&B. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYTraveler525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
359 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
444 reviews
5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Twaalfskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Twaalfskill

Address: 144 Vineyard Ave, Highland, NY 12528-1717
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range: £108 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Twaalfskill, an elegant yet intimate retreat tucked into the peaceful Hudson Valley countryside. The four-room Inn combines modern conveniences with Victorian charm, providing a serene escape from the everyday. Decorated in period antiques and evoking the themes of European influence and French Country decor, the inn is luxurious getaway. Located in Highland, New York, The Inn at Twaalfskill is an 90-minute drive from New York City and Major New York Airports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Twaalfskill Highland, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing