We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Here”
Review of Inn at Twaalfskill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Twaalfskill
Ranked #2 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was a return trip to the Inn at Twaalfskill for us, and if anything, it was even more relaxing this time around, if that is at all possible. We stayed in Room 2 this time, which is a large room situated at the back corner of the home. Beautiful views and very tranquil. We wanted to take the bed home with us...LOL. It was THAT comfortable. Nancy once again was the perfect hostess, making sure we were comfortable and had suggestions for places to dine and for entertainment. We've recommended this inn to others and plan on another return trip. There is plenty to do in the area and the accommodations are first rate.

Room Tip: Both room 1 and 2 have great features, I can't decide which one I like better!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backtothe2ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Twaalfskill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn and it was wonderful. Nancy is welcoming and makes sure that your every need is met! All the rooms were beautiful and there was a number of places to sit and enjoy the outdoors. Breakfasts were amazing! We asked Nancy about places to see and eat in the area and all of her suggestions were great - you cannot go wrong here!

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful, spacious, and clean! Room #1 has a separate shower and jacuzzi which s...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This B & B is quite lovely and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast is scheduled on YOUR time, which I really liked! The food was delicious. This house is conveniently located to the Rail Trail and the Walk Over the Hudson, as well as to Poughkeepsie and the beautiful surrounding mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you are headed to the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park or have a reason to be in Poughkeepsie, NY, this is a hidden gem of a place and well worth the ride. Room was well appointed, spacious and held all the sleep amenities of the heavenly bed hotels. The folks at the Inn were warm, friendly and inviting. Will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our only dissapointment was that we could only stay one night because we called at the last minute and they were booked. The inn and property is lovely and our room was so nice, large and immaculate. The breakfast was delcious and Nancy even sent us on our way home with some muffins. We were so happy to see we could reach the bike trail right from the inn and loved biking on the Hudson Walkway over the river. We have finally found a great B&B to stay in that breaks up the long drive up to New England. Can't wait to stay at the inn and bike the area again!

Room Tip: They are all lovely!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I spent a three-day getaway celebrating our anniversary at the Inn from July 21-24. I decided on the Inn at Twaalfskill based on excellent reviews from other Tripadvisor users. I was looking for a place that was about mid-way up the Hudson River Valley with good access to cultural activities and dining. We were certainly not disappointed.

Nancy, the owner, met us at the door when we arrived at the Inn around 4 pm. She showed us the area where we’d be eating breakfast, an area where coffee and espresso can be prepared at our leisure, and a small refrigerator bottled water, seltzer, juice, etc, available to us at any time. She then showed us to our room, explained the amenities, and gave us several wonderful suggestions for dinner.

My initial reaction to the Inn was surprise over just how CLEAN everything was. I am a bit of a stickler when it comes to cleanliness in hotels, and I can tell you that everything was absolutely spotless. There was not a piece of dust or a single stray hair ANYWHERE in our room or the common areas of the Inn.

We woke to breakfast the next morning, which was another delightful surprise. Upon arriving downstairs for breakfast, we found yogurt and fresh berry parfaits, coffee, and orange juice already waiting for us on the table. Nancy then brought out some freshly made zucchini bread(moist and delicious), and took our breakfast order. We had a choice of a breakfast quesadilla (eggs, cheese, red and green peppers in a folded tortilla served with a side of sour cream and salsa) or challah French toast with toasted almonds. There were also several types of bread and cereal available near a toaster on a small table in the breakfast room, as well as a table with a tea pot and many types of teas to choose from. All of the food was absolutely wonderful, and there was more than enough to satisfy even my husband, who has a rather large appetite.

We left the Inn after breakfast and took a drive across the Mid-Hudson Bridge (about five minutes from the Inn) to walk around Marist College. We left Marist and drove about 30 minutes to the Millbrook winery for a wine tasting and a walk around the vineyard. We then headed to the Rhinebeck (about 30 minutes from the winery) for lunch. After leaving there, we drove back toward the Inn and stopped at the Vanderbuilt Mansion in Hyde Park. Also on the way back to the Inn was the Culinary Institute of America (regrettably closed during the month of July). We went back to Poughkeepsie for dinner that night.

The next morning we awoke to an equally impressive breakfast. Fresh berries and warm blueberry orange corn muffins were waiting on the table when we came down to eat. We had a choice of a frittata with fresh vegetables and goat cheese, or a “tropical” Belgian waffle. Both entrees were fantastic. Following breakfast we took a 40 minute drive to the United States Military Academy at West Point for a tour. We stopped in Cold Springs for lunch at the Hudson House followed by ice cream at Moo Moo creamery. The view from this area is nothing short of spectacular. That night, we drove about 25 minutes and had dinner(barbeque at BBQRED) and attended a single A baseball game in Wappingers Falls.

Breakfast on our last morning was again, wonderful. Waiting on the table were plates of cantaloupe and prosciutto, and freshly made mini chocolate croissants. The entrée choices were blueberry pancakes or eggs Benedict, both phenomenal.

As you can tell from my descriptions, this Inn is close to a bevy of options for things to do and great dining options. Nancy is serving fabulous, high quality food in an impeccably kept bed and breakfast. We will CERTAINLY return. It was a wonderful, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here the weekend of June 21-23rd. This is a perfect location to pivot to many Hudson valley attractions. The B&B is right in front of the rail trail which will lead you to the Walkway over the Hudson. This alone is a wonderful attraction. This was my sister' and husband's first time at a B&B, and let me tell you, Nancy has them hooked! Nancy is a wonderful hostess and is sure to advise you very well on great restaurants and things to do. The breakfasts were delicious and a wonderful way to start the day. There is so much to do in the area. Had a great time and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heartirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
435 reviews
5.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Twaalfskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Twaalfskill

Address: 144 Vineyard Ave, Highland, NY 12528-1717
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range: £107 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Twaalfskill, an elegant yet intimate retreat tucked into the peaceful Hudson Valley countryside. The four-room Inn combines modern conveniences with Victorian charm, providing a serene escape from the everyday. Decorated in period antiques and evoking the themes of European influence and French Country decor, the inn is luxurious getaway. Located in Highland, New York, The Inn at Twaalfskill is an 90-minute drive from New York City and Major New York Airports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Twaalfskill Highland, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing