We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun bike ride! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Twaalfskill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Twaalfskill
Ranked #1 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun bike ride! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I arrived with my daughter in the afternoon. We were planning a culinary weekend, with dinner at the CIA and a CIA course the next day. Nancy suggested a great bike/pedestrian trail and supplied the bikes! The B&B is directly on the trail. The trail is flat and shaded by trees. The best part is that approximately 1 mile down the trail is the Hudson River Passage, a 1 mile bike/pedestrian trail over the Hudson. The view was wonderful, and it was the perfect activity before dinnet. We also relaxed at the B&B with snacks and beverages, which were provided. The B&B was charming, clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished. The only downside was that if you go to a B&B for the breakfast, this is not the place for you. The breakfast was fine, good even, with fresh fruit, juice, bluberry bread and coffee. The options for the hot part of breakfast were croissant french toast or quiche. I chose the french toast, which was OK, just not great. But overall for my purposes, our stay was very nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pittsburghmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innladyHighlandNy, Owner at Inn at Twaalfskill, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review and we truly appreciate all the feedback both negative and positive. We were disheartened to hear your feedback of our breakfast. All of our breakfasts inclusive of the amazing baked goods you described and handmade on the premises. In addition i understand that while we do offer two creative main course selections each day the choices may not suit your particular taste. I know the majority of our guests would agree that a big part of our experience at the Inn is our thoughtful selection of breakfast choices each day and return for Nancy's many famous pastry delights! We will of course continue to strive for new creative options and will also maintain some of the more famous staples such as the strawberry or raspberry croissant french toast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
102
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a spectacular weekend for college graduation - and mini-family reunion! The Inn is a lovely, convenient spot for any activity in the Poughkeepsie area, and only 1 1/2 hrs. from the City for a short getaway. Nancy is a wonderful chef - breakfast was a fantastic treat each day: omelets, frittata, etc, plus, delicious baked treats! The Inn is comfortable, well-designed, relaxing and well located. Nancy has done a fantastic job of modernizing a gracious old home just enough to make it comfortable without taking away any character. Nor does one worry about destroying rickety antiques that aren't meant to hold luggage. Every amenity you can imagine is available - and if it isn't visible, Nancy will provide - she's a gracious, intelligent, thoughtful host.
Next time we go to NYC, we plan to take a couple of days to breathe an the Inn at Twaalfskill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meenkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shippenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family reserved the entire inn for my son's graduation from Vassar. Nancy was extremely helpful from reservation booking to weekend stay. Wonderful food and hospitality. The physical space is spectacular and only minutes walk to the Hudson. An incredible Inn and find - a must stay.

Room Tip: All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innladyHighlandNy, Owner at Inn at Twaalfskill, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for the amazing review and we always so appreciate being a part of such important family events!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Let me begin by saying that this review is very long overdue.
My fiance and I stayed at this beautiful inn back in August of 2013! We are still thinking about our stay six months later, what does that say? I surprised my fiance with a birthday weekend getaway. Nancy was absolutely fabulous, she helped me by picking up a few cupcakes for us to have in the room, gave me recommendations on spa (we went to Buttermilk Spa which was fantastic) and even gave suggestions for dining.

We stayed in room 1 with the jacuzzi and everything was perfect! The inn itself is very comfy and cozy and so well decorated. The bed was comfy and room was so spacious. I could've spent a few more days, and I probably will next time :).

I highly reccommend that you stay here. Breakfast was so good, and you get a choice! There is always coffee available (which is great for coffee connoisseurs like us. Overall great place to stay, sleep, visit and go again.

Room Tip: Room 1 with the Jacuzzi!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hatrack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our group of 4 spent 4 nights in Highland at the Inn at Twaalfskill. Highland is situated centrally for Valley exploring, and is one mile away from the walking bridge over the Hudson. Our proprietor,, Nancy, was helpful when we wanted ideas for restaurants and sightseeing, and served terrific breakfasts at times we chose. The rooms were very comfortable, and the public areas of the house and around the house very inviting. We would highly recommend

Room Tip: Room 1 had a very nice Jacuzzi tub. All are upstairs, away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square,
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn for 3 nights and we plan to return. This was our first experience at a B&B and it greatly exceeded our expectations. We stayed in Room 2 which was beautifully appointed with a lovely modern bathroom. We were looking for a mid-Hudson River Valley B&B and thanks to wonderful responses on Trip Advisor, we chose Twaalfskill. The property is beautiful and Nancy prepared superb breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods, in addition to the warm and friendly ambiance. Nancy was very helpful with her suggestions regarding visits to neighboring towns and restaurants and she goes out of her way to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

An ultra comfortable B & B situated in a woodsy setting steps from a rail-trail that leads to the magnificent Walkway Over the Hudson (Poughkeepsie bridge). The Inn at Twaalfskill, in the quiet village of Highland, NY, is an ideal base for a night or two of romance and exploration of the natural, cultural, and historical treasures of the Hudson Valley. The grounds are beautiful, the house spotless clean, and a good restaurant and the famous bridge within walking distance. Innkeeper Nancy is attentive to your needs and serves a gourmet breakfast. The inn is certainly pricier than nearby motels along Route 9W, but the experience overall is still a bargain.

Room Tip: Upstairs, back of house, Room 2 is larger, quieter, and comes with modern bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coachlobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
5.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
11.6 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Twaalfskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Twaalfskill

Property: Inn at Twaalfskill
Address: 144 Vineyard Ave, Highland, NY 12528-1717
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Twaalfskill, an elegant yet intimate retreat tucked into the peaceful Hudson Valley countryside. The four-room Inn combines modern conveniences with Victorian charm, providing a serene escape from the everyday. Decorated in period antiques and evoking the themes of European influence and French Country decor, the inn is luxurious getaway. Located in Highland, New York, The Inn at Twaalfskill is an 90-minute drive from New York City and Major New York Airports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Twaalfskill Highland, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing