We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you could wish for in a bed and breakfast inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester Hills, MI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for in a bed and breakfast inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We just returned from a 5-night stay at Stonegate. Our room and breakfasts exceeded our expectations. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished and always clean. Our bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was surprisingly huge. Breakfasts were eagerly anticipated each day which included quiches, frittatas, baked muffins and breads and fresh fruit. Neil and Jane were very helpful in recommending places to visit and/or dine. We were so comfortable, it was kind of sad to leave. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay on April 30, 2011. The suite was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Jane and Neil were very hospitable as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed four nights and absolutely loved it. It's quiet, clean, charming, our bed was very comfortable, and the owners were very helpful & friendly. The best part of all was the wonderful, full breakfast provided each morning with a slightly different menu each day. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

the room we stayed in had a nice mcro and a iceboox the only thing it didn't have was a coffee pot but we could just walk down to the office to get some coffee .. i love the room so much ..and don't want to leave but we have to go to hot spring's ark to see my mother inlaw or we would stay the whole week in we had to go back to oklahoma we will come back again some day soon this place is awesome and so is the people that own it

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetmeat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We looked at the last minute for a place to stay for one night while passing through this area of NY State. We found Stonegate online, and they were able to accommodate us at the wonderful price of $95 in the Southside room. For that price, we were expecting a very tiny room. But we were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of the room and the comfort of the bed. Plus it had free and fast Wi-Fi. The bathroom wasn't enormous but it was more than enough for what we needed. The downstairs common area is very cute and furnished with Victorian pieces.

The owners, Neil and Jane, were absolutely wonderful and provided great advice about area restaurants. The included breakfast in the morning was amazing. From casseroles (kindly made to fit in with a food restriction) to french toast to freshly baked muffins and more, we loved it.

The Stonegate is an easy, five-mile drive from Route 87 and is an short drive to New Paltz and other cute towns. The price can't be beat (especially with breakfast included and Wi-Fi!), and the comfort of this inn makes it a great and relaxing stop.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allicatBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We just got back from a wonderful weekend getaway at the Stonegate. This was the first time in five years that we have been away just the two of us (sans kids!), and the Stonegate was a WONDERFUL experience. It's tucked just off the man road, in a beautiful restored victorian home. We were greeted by Neil and Jane, and quickly shown to our beautiful room, The Fireside Suite. It was decorated with great taste, and the bed was awesome! We enjoyed the large shower and great hot water and pressure. We also appreciated the free wi-fi right in the room...great to plan our day out with locations, directions, etc. The breakfasts were incredible, and every morning we had OJ, water, coffee, along with at least 6 different items to eat, including quiches, casseroles, coffee cakes, muffins, and fresh fruit. I even teased my husband that he better not get too used to this, since he doesn't get food that good at home! haha.... Neil and Jane were kind, and great to chat with. The helped us with directions, and based on their suggestion, had one of the best German meals we ever had at a local restaurant. The entire house was super clean, updated, and we really appreciated the nice quiet AC in our room. We would definately recommend this BnB to anyone, and have even talked about going back with friends next year to enjoy the area and house again. Thanks, Neil and Jane, for a fun, relaxing, great place to stay while we enjoyed our weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatDon206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here with a couple of friends and thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend. We've had some bad B&B experiences, but Stonegate is wonderful. The rooms (we had Southside, and our friends had Fireside) were extremely clean and had small but perfectly functional private baths. There are in-room air conditioners controlled by remote and small TVs with DVD players for unwinding at night. We enjoyed touring the wineries and relaxing with a bottle in the evenings. The B&B puts out glasses and a corkscrew in the hallway--very cute. Breakfasts were wonderful, very filling and with delicious breads and scones. The hosts were pleasant but respected our space. I'm sure they would have been happy to chat, but as we were with friends, we kept more to ourselves. This isn't luxury accommodation, but it's hands down the best value in the Hudson. We couldn't believe how much cheaper it was than other options in the area, and we still can't figure out why. It was lovely, and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
11.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.2 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 34 North Rd, Highland, NY 12528-1024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonegate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th Century Victorian in a village setting centrally located near New Paltz, Hyde Park, Poughkeepsie and Hudson Valley Parks, Rail Trails, Wineries, Mansions and Colleges. Four guest rooms with private baths, TV/DVDs, A/C, king/queen beds, tastefully decorated and restored, one room with fireplace. Full breakfast served in dining room. Rates $110 to $160 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Stonegate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegate Bed And Breakfast Highland, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing