We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the Hudson Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Longs, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of the Hudson Valley”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 lovely nights at the Bed and Breakfast. Neil and Jane make you feel as if you are family and it is so comfortable there. The rooms and common areas are lovely, with antiques in each room. The bathrooms are modern and the beds were welcoming. Jane is unbelievable when it comes to breakfast. Each day brought wonderful new dishes and plenty of them. It is impossible to go away hungry. We have stayed here before and loved it as much as this time. On our last trip this B&B was completely booked and we had to go elsewhere. Although it was pretty it was not Stonegate and we know that we had to book earlier. Our advice is to book early and enjoy this lovely inn, you will not be disappointed!!
PS Ladies Jane has put magnifying mirrors in the bathrooms, just what us seniors need to help us apply make-up!! Thank you Jane

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dplavazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My beau and I had a wonderful time at Stonegate! We stayed in the Southside Room, which was roomy, comfortable, and perfectly clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, with both savory and sweet choices. The location was a great jumping off point to major sites in the Hudson Valley. The rate was also a great value. Lastly, our hosts Jane and Neil were lovely and were happy to spend time to answer our questions and provide tips on what to see in the area. Stonegate is a real gem and highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Southside room had the lowest rate but that says nothing about the quality of the room. It was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently spent a night at the Stonegate on a trip up the Hudson River Valley. It as a beautiful home with great hosts and an over the top breakfast. Our room was very large and comfortable. It was very convenient for seeing sites in the Hydepark area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A group of friends utilized this home as a base for celebrating a birthday. It was a perfect situation as we utilized all the bedrooms and could use the common areas to relax together. The hosts were wonderfully accommodating and provided tea and muffins in the afternoon and a spectacular, relaxed breakfast the next morning. The house is lovely, clean and well maintained. Convenient to nearby sites. Plenty to do in the area. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had dinner reservations at the Culinary Institute so we stayed for one night in the room with the fireplace. The room was very large, yet cozy. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. Jane and Neil are gracious hosts and we truly felt welcome during our brief stay. Jane put some tea and baked goods out for us in the early afternoon on the day we checked in. Breakfast the next morning was delicious! Don't hesitate - just a few minutes from Hyde park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish1nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

the house was beautifully decorated and well located. there is a full living room, game room and dining room for guests' use. the room was a good size for 2 and there were thoughtful touches everywhere like a makeup mirror in the bathroom, and hooks/plenty of storage. the breakfast was tasty - my only gripe is i didn't find the hosts to be overly welcoming. perhaps i am spoiled by superb hosts at recent b&bs, but i didn't receive the warmth that i've come to expect and want to in a cozy b&b.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank supertearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, New York
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Lovely house and welcoming owners. Quiet location, near New Paltz. Varied and delicious breakfast, with hot and cold offerings, at a congenial communal table. We stayed in the Blue Room, which is roomy with an extra sitting/dressing area. A restful, wrinkle-free stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room, which is roomy with an extra sitting/dressing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZsaZsaGabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
149 reviews
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
429 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
346 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 34 North Rd, Highland, NY 12528-1024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonegate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th Century Victorian in a village setting centrally located near New Paltz, Hyde Park, Poughkeepsie and Hudson Valley Parks, Rail Trails, Wineries, Mansions and Colleges. Four guest rooms with private baths, TV/DVDs, A/C, king/queen beds, tastefully decorated and restored, one room with fireplace. Full breakfast served in dining room. Rates $130 to $190 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stonegate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegate Bed And Breakfast Highland, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing