We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, homey reasonably-priced inn in Hudson River Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely, homey reasonably-priced inn in Hudson River Valley”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stopped to visit friends near Poughkeepsie and were lucky to find the Stonegate Inn. The charming old home was well-equipped (Wi-Fi throughout the house, tvs and dvd player in every room) and the hosts were gracious. Our bathroom was a bit small, but very serviceable and the bed was really comfy. Breakfast was delicious, and the hosts made accommodations for dietary needs. The location in Highland is minutes from the Walkway across the Hudson and not far from New Paltz and Mohunk. Only a half hour drive to Beacon. We would go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and found it very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shippinofftoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
74
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were surprised by the cold welcome we received from the owners, especially Jane. My family has a few dietary restriction and we were told by a previous guest that the food contained mostly gluten and dairy which we are accustomed to. I brought food for us to not inconvenience them. When we got there, Jane seemed almost insulted and irritated when we told her. It seems like she prides herself on being accommodating, which is fine. I apologized for not calling and told them we had brought perishable food that we would be consuming. The next morning while putting our food in the communal fridge she made a little scene (in front of another guest) showing me the gluten-free pancakes, muffins and eggs she made! She was behaving like tempremental teenager, which was surprising and confusing. She also made a flustered expression when my wife asked for a blanket for our toddler. When I shared this behavior with other guests who had been there before, they said, "oh that's just Jane" I thought, why is this acceptable for someone in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane T, Owner at Stonegate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I am sorry that we were unable to provide a good experience for you here at Stonegate.

It was also confusing for both my husband and I. I think that the conversations between us had reflected that mutual confusion and most likely was the result on our part, of not knowing until a few hours before you arrived that there was going to be a third person (a two year old) in the room that is not prepared or furnished for a third person. We responded to the late notification of the third person by removing some furniture in the room and setting up a pack and play crib in the room to accommodate the child. We were also not informed of any dietary restrictions or requirements before your arrival.

After your arrival, when I was informed that your family had some dietary requirements, I responded that I gladly accommodate all dietary requests. I do not remember you saying that all three of you would not come to the breakfast that I prepared for you the next morning or for the two following days that you stayed here.

As for the blanket request, we were first notified that one of the adults would be sleeping on the floor, Later we were told that the two year old would be sleeping on the floor on a blow up mattress that you brought with you, and that is where the child usually sleeps. The Pack and Play that was not used was made up with a crib sheet and blankets were supplied. I responded to the request for a blanket that there are extra blankets in the room in the dresser drawer.

Information regarding the maximum number of persons that we accept for reservation in at room.is supplied on our web site when making on-line reservations. If reservations requests are made by phone we ask how many guests to ensure that we are meeting fire and safety regulations.. Request to have anyone sleep on the floor even with a blow up mattress are not accepted..

If I would have known that you were going to bring your own food and that you would not be having the breakfast served, I would have gladly accepted your wishes, as I have done for other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second weekend stay at this Bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Fireside Room both times and enjoyed the comfortable bed, day bed and chairs. The breakfasts are phenomenal each morning with plenty to eat and a wide selection. We will be coming back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColetteOberlin_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 lovely nights at the Bed and Breakfast. Neil and Jane make you feel as if you are family and it is so comfortable there. The rooms and common areas are lovely, with antiques in each room. The bathrooms are modern and the beds were welcoming. Jane is unbelievable when it comes to breakfast. Each day brought wonderful new dishes and plenty of them. It is impossible to go away hungry. We have stayed here before and loved it as much as this time. On our last trip this B&B was completely booked and we had to go elsewhere. Although it was pretty it was not Stonegate and we know that we had to book earlier. Our advice is to book early and enjoy this lovely inn, you will not be disappointed!!
PS Ladies Jane has put magnifying mirrors in the bathrooms, just what us seniors need to help us apply make-up!! Thank you Jane

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dplavazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My beau and I had a wonderful time at Stonegate! We stayed in the Southside Room, which was roomy, comfortable, and perfectly clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, with both savory and sweet choices. The location was a great jumping off point to major sites in the Hudson Valley. The rate was also a great value. Lastly, our hosts Jane and Neil were lovely and were happy to spend time to answer our questions and provide tips on what to see in the area. Stonegate is a real gem and highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Southside room had the lowest rate but that says nothing about the quality of the room. It was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently spent a night at the Stonegate on a trip up the Hudson River Valley. It as a beautiful home with great hosts and an over the top breakfast. Our room was very large and comfortable. It was very convenient for seeing sites in the Hydepark area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A group of friends utilized this home as a base for celebrating a birthday. It was a perfect situation as we utilized all the bedrooms and could use the common areas to relax together. The hosts were wonderfully accommodating and provided tea and muffins in the afternoon and a spectacular, relaxed breakfast the next morning. The house is lovely, clean and well maintained. Convenient to nearby sites. Plenty to do in the area. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
111 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
332 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
11.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 34 North Rd, Highland, NY 12528-1024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonegate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th Century Victorian in a village setting centrally located near New Paltz, Hyde Park, Poughkeepsie and Hudson Valley Parks, Rail Trails, Wineries, Mansions and Colleges. Four guest rooms with private baths, TV/DVDs, A/C, king/queen beds, tastefully decorated and restored, one room with fireplace. Full breakfast served in dining room. Rates $110 to $160 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stonegate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegate Bed And Breakfast Highland, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing