We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Family Vacation Every Time”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A Great Family Vacation Every Time”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our third trip to RRR, and it never fails to impress. If you are looking for a place where you will never hear "I'm bored", here it is. It is a true all inclusive where kids will be exhausted at the end of the day, and you will have spent nothing additional. Great staff, clean, and they feed you all day long. The horse riding is great, on trails through 100s of acres of forest, with streams, deer, foxes and more to see on the ride. You can ride every day all day long if that is what you like, or while some of the family goes riding, you can relax in the lodge near the fire with a book or fish bass in the lake. Dinners are excellent with time to sit and catch up on the days stories before the live entertainment of the evening. As a rule we never go to the same place twice, we have been here three times and booked again as we left. Proof enough. Have a great stay!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the maine lodge- where the dining room, pool and all the activities are -or in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    267
    68
    18
    23
See reviews for
984
14
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I just called to make reservation for myself & 2 kids AFTER telling them we were going. Because I'm a single parent, I was going to be charged a 50% HIGHER rate than if I had another adult in the room. They wanted to charge me $1000 for 2 nights (Sun-Tues), kids are free?!?!?! I asked to speak to a manager & she stated this is their reservation policy. So disappointed & disgusted.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
17 Thank adriene81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockinghorseranch, General Manager at Rocking Horse Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Adriene,

I’m very sorry you did not have a pleasant experience with our reservation process. Our rates are based off having 2-adults in every room. When only one adult is in the room, instead of charging for the two adults, we discount the price to one and a half adults. I can understand how you might think this is a “penalty”, but I can assure you this is a standard amongst family all-inclusive resorts. Please give us a call again so we may find a better time suited for your budget.

Thank you,
Kyle, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Returning back to the ranch for the second time, I found it even cleaner and more friendlier then our first visit. The staff was excellent from the restaurant to the people who ran every activity. The life guards at the water park were more attentive then any I have ever seen.
The stable attendance made everyone from beginner to an expert feel comfortable and safe. I was amazed how clean the entire facility is kept considering all the children and all the activities that were constantly going on. What a great family vacation, everyone was pleasant, both guests and operators. You will definitely enjoy your time at the Rocking Horse Ranch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weinstocktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our first time at RHR; I brought my grandmother and three children. Extremely friendly staff, immaculately clean, and loved the fact that the kids can do "active" activities vs. spending money in an arcade like at Great Wolf Lodge. The horse adventures were fantastic, and love how the resort is all inclusive! Felt like I was on a cruise with all the food available! The water park is just the right size where kids can make friends and play together, and you can keep an easy watchful eye on them! Bonfire and shows were great, especially Jeff the Juggler, I haven't laughed that hard in years! Will definitely be returning yearly, and maybe even more!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building closer to the lobby are a bit noisier, as you're closer to the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommyof3luvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I took my two children (10 & 13) to RHR for first time this week. We had an amazing time!! The western themed resort is kept meticulously clean, the food was wonderful (the menu changes daily) my daughter is gluten free and Kathy Combs, the fabulous manager went out of her way at each meal to be sure she had something delicious to eat. Even bringing her a special chocolate "fountain" of her very own. Everyone who works here is kind, genuine and friendly. Annie runs many of the games/activities...she truly loves her job and it shows. We never waited more than a few minutes at any activity and there is plenty to do. I requested a quiet corner room on second floor and my wish was granted...who could ask for more! The night time entertainment was terrific too. Jeff the Juggler was impressive and his act is hilarious even to an adult. My children were truly disappointed we had to leave...we'll be back this summer though!!

Room Tip: There are only two floors..the second is quieter as no one above you. I requested a corner and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayMorris517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a really nice resort with many activities to do from horseback riding to scavenger hunts to nightly entertainment. The resort is immaculate, the people are very friendly and the food plentiful. Yes it's a little pricey, but I feel it's worth it. You will not want for anything to eat or do. I had my two children 12 &11 and they were always busy. They did not want to leave! We will be back

Room Tip: Stayed in main lodge on 1st floor. While it did not bother me, there is some noise overhead. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 253Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We love RHR. Really just perfect for a family!!!! Horses, good food, awesome staff. The night time activities are kid friendly and fun. Really not much more to say. Thanks for a great vacation.

See you next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2kils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
16.8 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
112 reviews
9.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
400 reviews
4.7 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Ranch Resort

Property: Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Address: 600 State Route 44/55, Highland, NY 12528-2259
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Rocking Horse Ranch Hotel Highland
Rocking Horse Hotel
Rocking Horse Resort
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort Highland, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing