We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Weekend Getaway!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocking Horse Ranch Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular Weekend Getaway!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Absolutely loved this vacation!!! The resort has so much to do & at the same time is relaxing. The property is so picturesque and immaculately clean. My 2 boys loved going in the indoor water park, outside pool, paddle boating, fishing, miniature golf, bungee jumping, tennis, playing in the fun barn, walking by the lake, and of course, enjoying the horses. A wonderful highlight of our trip was enjoying the fireworks at the lake. The staff is so helpful & kind, and the food was delicious. The staff in the dining room, especially Jaqueline, Cindy, Steven & Victor were so accommodating. Cannot say enough nice things about this resort & cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Our rooms that each had 2 double beds & bunk beds were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    261
    66
    18
    23
See reviews for
906
14
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tabibit
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Our annual family reunion (total 17) often poses a challenge for making dinner reservations and organizing activities. Here at RHR, large muliti-generational groups are the norm, and we fit right in. All of us enjoyed a total of 5 nights, never feeling bored.

What we liked about
1. spacious resort but contained - feel secure and safe.

2. So many activities offered - at the end of June, there was no long queue.

3. Engaging nightly shows and entertainment - we specially enjoyed a juggling performance and a game show. Great teen center and activities (thank you Counselor Harry!)

4. Horseback riding needs reservations, but hassle-free; the reservation time is good for every day during one's stay. If unused, stand-by guests can take your spot.

5. Delicious meals - great salad! I was dreading meals heavy on meat but pleasantly surprised by quality of fish as part of main dish choice. Also good vegetarian dishes.

6. Room with a bunk bed spacious enough for a family of 5. Entrance to the room has ample space to leave luggage, hang clothes, leave shoes, etc.

What we would like to see on the future:
1. More space for archery.

2. Sanitizer station near the sports hut. Also more fishing rods, please!







Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tabibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Horseback riding, boating, water skiing, bungee jumping on trampolines...all types of fun activities available for people of all ages. The staff was amazing. When I lost my knee brace and we were unable to locate it, a staff member went to Rite Aid to buy one for me! It was immaculate and nuanced. Every aspect was wonderful, even the food.I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Y_Mom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went as a family group of 9, 6 adults and 3 kids, ages 5-8. The children who were 7 and over could go on the trail rides, and the younger child could enjoy as many escorted pony rides as she wanted to, based on the times offered.

We had a wonderful time. We were in the main lodge, which I would recommend from a convenience standpoint. The breakfast buffet had many selections, but you could also order an omelette to your specs if you wish. Lunch also had selections from either indoor or outdoor buffet setup (with music outside) based on the day, and dinner was from a menu, with multiple selections. Also note that if you want a special item they will try to provide it if possible.

The pools were nice and warm, and everyone enjoyed the outdoor and indoor pool slides.
We also went on the banana boat, which I would recommend for older kids and adults.

The tennis courts were nice, and ping pong etc was also available. Golf ranges and courses were close by as well.

They had shows every evening which were nice family entertainment. Outdoor campfires on a couple of the nights (with marshmallows) were a hit too.

Note: small refrigerators were included no charge

Room Tip: We were in 220-224, which gave easy access to the stables, playground, and pool. A little longer wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our family found this little gem @ 5 yrs ago and have been lucky enough to have made it to see how they celebrate every major holiday except 4th of july since then. (I hope to put that on the calendar next year or the year after.)

Left 2 days ago after celebrating our now 5 yo twins' birthday(s?). "we want to go to Rocking Horse ranch!!!" AND IT IS GOING STRONGER THAN EVER!!! Every time we go back they have either things that have been renovated or at least new plans in process.

Activities vary by season, weather and age, but if you can't find something to do there, you must be trying not to do anything. ( also a great past time, with beautiful trees and lawn chairs just right for curling up with a book outside or big couches by the fireplace inside if one of the other group activities is not going on in the main lodge inside.- in which case there are other rooms one can explore.

I especially want to praise the barn staff and child care staff.- The Wrangler's have done a very good job over the years with matching the older family members with horses that suit and build our riding skills. While our younger kids love going to the children's activity area so much that we sometimes have a hard time getting them to leave it -to go do other things around the facility.

This trip, the front desk, and restaurant staff also were key in helping us pull off a birthday party that hopefully the twins and other family members who were there will remember. ( and if not ,the photography staff helped me get a few of those pics I never seem to be able to get myself -so they will have to :)

Thanks again RHR!!!

Can't wait to see y'all again !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRIMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We went to Rocking Horse Ranch in April of 2013 and vowed to come again. This year we went in mid June and it was even better! Place is still spotless, with some of the nicest, kindest and most warm staff you will find anywhere. Everyone from horse wranglers to housekeeping is just really nice. Going in the summer the outdoor pool is open, and heated, and there is fishing and banana boat rides that are not running in April. My 8 yr old daughter and I went during Senior week and there were a few loads of senior citizens and I really appreciated how the staff took such good care of the older folks, never loosing patience or being short with them. Instead they all went out of their way to speak to them and make them smile. Once again the horses are clean, well cared for, treated with respect. My daughter loved day camp so much she begged to stay. This year we were in the new rooms in the main lodge. They are SUPER CLEAN, brand new bathrooms, comfy beds that smell nicely of clean laundry. I feel safe being here alone with my daughter and I just can't recommend this place more highly. Food is abundant, and there is always something to do. Clean, well lit, garden like setting, surrounded by nice folks. What more can you ask for.

Room Tip: If you can afford the price difference, stay in the main lodge for convenience and upgraded rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Addileesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Three generations of our family recently had the wonderful pleasure of vacationing at the RHR. We range in age from 4 up to 70 ... & an amazing time was had by all. In fact, the grandchildren [who have all been to Disney] said that they much preferred the fun they had at the RHR. There was so much to do ... & we already are planning our return trip to this vacation-land where the staff goes out of their way to make sure that everyone is having a good time. The food was healthy & delicious ... & the ice cream alone worth a return trip in & of itself. Our family has traveled a lot ... & it's wonderful to have the RHR right in our backyard. No airfare. No trip to the airport. No hassles ... just a really terrific time for children/adults of all ages.

Room Tip: Might want to ask for the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
16.8 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
9.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
19.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Ranch Resort

Property: Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Address: 600 State Route 44/55, Highland, NY 12528-2259
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Rocking Horse Ranch Hotel Highland
Rocking Horse Hotel
Rocking Horse Resort
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort Highland, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing