We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RHR NEVER DISAPPOINTS!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocking Horse Ranch Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Certificate of Excellence
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“RHR NEVER DISAPPOINTS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been to RHR about 9 times in the last 3 years and it never disappoints! This time we brought a new family with us (kids 16,13,10) and they absolutely loved it. The cleanliness, the attentiveness, the activities, and the food are just fantastic! We have never come across one employee that was not friendly or helpful. The grounds are just beautiful and so welcoming. Maria, one of the photographers, is one of the friendliest people so make sure you stop by the gift shop and check out the photos she has taken of you!! The daycare/day camp is wonderful and Claudia works so hard to keep it running smoothly. We never worried about our daughter while she was there and she couldn't wait to go back!! She especially can't wait to "hang" with Stephanie and has met some wonderful new counselors such as Meghan and Taylor. My husband and I hung by the pool while the kids were out and about! The wranglers are so knowledgeable and caring about the horses. They always make sure that you have a great and safe ride. Guests need to keep in mind that these are live animals and that it is a huge responsibility these wranglers have. Tim, once again, got my daughter to try something I never thought she would, water skiing. She did not get up but was proud that she even tried. The kids and adults alike loved the banana boat ride!!! The kids caught several fish which is always a thrill for them. DJ Mike and DJ Dre were great at kareoke and the dance parties! Kyle always has an open ear and is open to suggestions (washers and dryers would be awesome). Molly Mishap and Annie Oakley make activities so fun, especially our favorite BINGO! The only thing we missed dearly was the character Squirrel which was so disappointing because he was so fun!! I already rebooked for next summer and will probably go back before then. Thanks again for another awesome stay!!!!

Room Tip: The Oklahoma AA room is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    260
    66
    17
    23
See reviews for
904
14
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great experience! This place has it all, and then some. The staff also was beyond expectations, very courteous and eager to help. One example: the first night at dinner our 18 month old daughter threw a really bad fit, she was screaming and crying and didn't want to sit down. The waiters and managers came to our rescue and rapidly arranged for all our food to be wrapped up and carried by a waiter who walked back to our room with us. Those guys are pros.

We liked it so much we already booked our next stay. The one thing I would change is the Zebra. I think that animal would be happier at a place where it can run freely in some wide open space, rather than in the petting zoo corral.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCC181811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staff is attentive, friendly and helpful. Food is very good and there are many kid friendly, as well as, more interesting adult choices to be found. VERY loud dining hall. can't imagine a child with sensory issues would do well there. Grounds, pools, activity areas, and rooms are pristine/immaculate and very comfortable. So much to do that even my fifteen year old (who was definitely one of the oldest kids there) was content- although our four day stay was long enough for him. Unless you own horses or have an experienced younger rider, 7 years old seems WAY too young for even the beginner trail ride. My twelve year old became separated from us and had a difficult time controlling his horse (to stop eating along trail and from following too closely), became very scared and quit before we got very far. Saw younger kids struggling too with both issues. They don't possess the weight and strength to control the horse and even the most easy going of horses will test their rider to see what they can get away with.

I didn't want that to be his first and last experience riding so I spoke to TJ, the stable manager, who selected a very sweet and docile horse (Cody) for him and let us go last in line so that my son was able to conquer his fear and enjoy a non- eventful second ride. Wranglers Jen and Sean were very encouraging to us both. They couldn't have been more understanding and accommodating at the stables. Strongly suggest first time riders go to the riding demo ahead of time, however, because very little instruction is given before trail rides. Horses are in fantastic condition and are just beautiful, and obviously well taken care of. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Thank you So much for what has been the most amazing vacation of my life. A group of seven ladies came out for a fun weekend and we left in absolute awe of your customer service, the accommodations, the FOOD!!! The Professional manner in which all the wranglers worked with the horses and riders and made every trip out just incredible... Thank you to T.J, Scott, Alvaro, Jo, Juan, Abbey, shannon, Leann and Lucille. We are already booking two trips back next year one with the kids and one without..... you had so much to offer on the facility, we just couldn't fit it all in See you soon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Deborah2Lyons3Greer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our two families went to RHR for the first time. Great customer service, someone there to greet you when you pull into the drive. We were allowed to check in early because the rooms were ready. The two queens and bunk beds in our adjoining rooms were ideal for our families. Lots of activities to do: banana boats, water skiing, mini golf, paddle boats, kayaking, wall climbing, pools with water slides (with plenty of lifeguards) and of course horse back riding, or a horse drawn trailer or tractor pull if you don't like horses. Lots of planned activities during the day- bingo, blackjack tournaments, relay races, kickball, and other game shows that require audience participation. In the evening there is entertainment. This is why I compare RHR to a cruise ship. A different itinerary each day loaded with activities, you select your dinner times, but breakfast and lunch are served between noon and 2 pm. Breakfast and lunch are ok- buffet style, but dinner is the best. If you don't like what you ordered you can get something else and if you loved what you ordered you can get seconds. A great place for families with young children. Only draw back is the price we paid, would love to go back if it we could make it more economical. Smaller room? Different time of year? Don't miss the 4:30 horse crossing! And don't forget to ask for a horseshoe souvenir!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank YankeeFan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff greets you as soon as you pull in! The kids loved the bunk beds and the rooms were very nice (although we didn't spend much time in them). My husband became quite the water-skier and my children (8, 10, 13) absolutely loved the banana boat! The horses were amazing, our favorites were Casino, Bear, Steamboat, and Butch. The first time attempting the ride, my son (8) was crying to get off; however, Becca comforted him and was a great wrangler that helped him throughout the entire ride. My son rode every day with us and will not stop talking about how "Becca and Rob know everything about every horse!" We were all so impressed with the wranglers and how extremely helpful they are. There are so many activities to do at RHR and it truly is a great place to go with family of all ages!!! We will be coming back every summer and hopefully bringing even more family!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Set4Lifee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great for kids 5-12! Enjoyable for the parents.
The most generous and friendly stuff.

Free activities
-----------------------
So many great FREE activities: Horse ridding, water ski, paddles, kayaks, banana, wall climbing, Trampoline, outside water slid and pool, inside water slid and pool, wii games, archery and riffles shooting, and playground.
The activities are scattered so it doesn't feel crowded.
The illusion show was nice and short enough for the kids to enjoy it.

Tip: Pre-Registration to the horse riding and water ski is needed, otherwise you will have to stand a very long line. They allow one pre-registration for person for each day.

Horse riding - the beginners group was too big and we hardly moved - a stop every couple of minutes. The intermediates group was great (4 routes, fast walking, small group).

All activities start after 10 except for water ski (starts at 9) so if you are an early bird you might want to schedule early water ski.


Food - more than we expected!
-------------------------------------------
3 great meals are included for every nigh at the resort. The meals were reach testy and generous with lots of great vegetables and deserts.
In addition, they served all day for free: hot chocolate, cold water, popcorn, corousons, cake, coffee, tea.

Rooms
-----------------
We had very basic room (we took the cheapest). 1 double bed (extremely small) and a bank bed for the girls.
There is a TV, a safe, a mini fridge and a bathtub.
The room was clean.

Tip: our room was in front of the playground and archery. We loved the location, the girls played in the playground before and after the activities / breakfast.

More tips:
------------------------
You can come as early as you want to enjoy the activities, even before your room is ready.And leave as late as you want (after check out).

We called on Friday and they let us order for 1 night instead of the minimum of 2 nights and also offered us a discount.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nav71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
16.8 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
9.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
19.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
12.9 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Ranch Resort

Property: Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Address: 600 State Route 44/55, Highland, NY 12528-2259
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Rocking Horse Ranch Hotel Highland
Rocking Horse Hotel
Rocking Horse Resort
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort Highland, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing