We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of West Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Point Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Not too much choice in the area at a reasonable price so this was ok since we wanted to visit West Point Academy and Museum. Location was handy for driving to West Point: but not really a safe walking distance to stores. Room was clean and big enough but could use some updating. The office and the 'breakfast' corner definitely need improvement. Next time, I would try to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    62
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
67
22
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed on a Friday night and then on Sunday night. First night we had the handicapped equipped room. It is very outdated and smelled musty. I'm not sure how often it is used. The sheets and towels were clean. The heating registers were rusty and dirty. TV did not work. I told the reception and she just said, "oh, well, sometimes they just stop working". Definitely needs to be redone! Second night we had an updated room. Much better. Too overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. They have older ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legalsec_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickett, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

This is not the most "posh" hotel ever, but it was clean and the staff was wonderful. The room was REALLY big, too. We were in the room in the corner, so maybe that's why it was so big. You can tell the hotel is a bit older, but they take very good care of it. If there is a problem, the owners/managers take care of it right away, as best they can. I like that.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

If you are touring West Point, this hotel gets you as close as possible to the U.S. Military Academy. The owners work the front desk, and I appreciate their efforts to keep this motel in shape and in business. My family stayed in the two-queen-beds room for a football weekend. We'd been assured that rooms were renovated, but I found it interesting that only parts were renovated. For example, the tile in the bathroom was brand new. The wallpaper was ancient. The toilet was brand new. The fiberglass tub/shower still had cigarette burns from the 1970s. The sink and counter were brand new. The carpet was ancient--and the entire room had that musty old smell of a room that was once a smoking room back in the day. The mattresses were firm and fresh. The TV was old and the most-needed buttons on the remote control were broken. There was a nice in-room coffee pot, but there were only ten hangars for four adults to share in a four-day, three-night stay. (We asked for more hangars and were told there weren't any more on the property. Okay.) I guess it is all a work in progress.
A bonus: my teenagers liked the fact that they could help themselves to hot chocolate in the office at any time of day--there is coffee for adults, too.
A big negative: when the heat turns on at night, which it does at least hourly in the freezing Hudson River area, the pipes in the wall make banging noises for several minutes. We stayed for three nights, and for three nights our entire family never slept more than a few hours without being awakened by this noise. We mentioned it upon check-out, and the owners were aware of this and knew which rooms have the loudest pipes. I'm unhappy that we were put in a room that they knew would disturb our sleep! I made the reservations four months in advance, and was promised their nicest room, so this is disappointing. Even more than replacing the carpets, the heating system needs updated for the sake of a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that does not have loud, banging pipes when the heat turns on. The owners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We rented room 125 which is a nice large room on the second floor. The beds were so comfortable, the room was clean, comes with a small refrigerator. The heater/ac unit was not obnoxiously loud like some motels. The TV is older and the remote wasn't working too well but we could use the buttons on the tv. The only other thing to note is you do not get a front facing window with this room. The only window looks out the back, but was not a big deal to us. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast but it looked like it was muffins, donuts, bagels in a small corner in the front office. We needed to do some laundry but their machines weren't working so we had to go into town. The location to West Point is excellent.

Room Tip: Room 125 is large and great if you expect company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrapitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I had to stay recently for a business trip. The staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful. It was refreshing after staying in hotel after hotel staffed with uncaring apathetic people. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
We greatly appreciate your recent review of our staff and accommodations during your stay at the West Point Motel in the greater Hudson River Valley, and to our neighbor to the north, the United States Military Academy at West Point. We take pride in our staff's dedication regarding our valued customers needs and concerns. We will continue to stride to make your stay with us an enjoyable one. We realize that there are many choices out there but our attention to our customers and their needs, I believe, set us apart from the other hotels in the area. Once again, we thank you and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

The room is very spacious.
Very friendly staff.
They also have fast wifi and cable.
Continental breakfast is also good.
The Mexican restaurant across from the hotel is pretty good too.
I would definitely come back.
One tip: There aren't any stores around. They have refrigerators and microwave (Shared) so bring stuff before you come.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland Falls
1.0 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Point Motel

Property: West Point Motel
Address: 156 Main St, P.O. Box 301, Highland Falls, NY 10928-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Point Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Point Motel in Highland Falls, NY has been family owned and operated since 1923, ideally located near West Point and Hudson Valley's largest attractions. For 90 years, we've provided affordable hotel accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers for short or extended stays. We are a quick eight miles from Woodbury Commons, the largest outlet mall in the country, the Appalachian Trail, and many wineries. Enjoy a relaxing vacation in the lush and historic Hudson Valley Region with us in one of our 51 spacious and non-smoking rooms fully equipped with refrigerators, air conditioning, Cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, and free wireless. Our remodeled motel offers a small continental breakfast of easy grab and go choices like bagels, muffins, juices and coffee to prepare you for the day. At West Point Motel, it's our mission to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay no matter the reason. Our staff is dedicated to your comfort and the ease of your trip. Book your stay and come cozy up in the greenery the Hudson Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your West Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Point Hotel Highland Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing